We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here at the end of April for my birthday with my boyfriend. We stayed for 2 nights and was surprised at how new the hotel looked. Very clean and well presented rooms and all staff were friendly. Only downside is parking is limited and we had to park just down the road. We then had to be up at 7.45am the next morning to move the car into the jury inns own car park in order to avoid high parking costs. The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of derby and is very close to all bars and restaurants. We ate at the hotel one night and found the food just ok. There are many lovely pubs serving home cooked food near by to choose from. We would defiantly stay here again as we got a good service and a good price for our 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    654
    209
    77
    37
See reviews for
316
517
88
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. The room itself was more than adequate, though the shampoo/conditioner was horrendous! Both myself and my friend found our scalps went dry, so beware! The beds were comfortable and the room was quite large.

I think I was lucky to get a space in the car park below the hotel, and it cost £6 per 24hrs. It was a shame there was no direct route from the car park to the hotel, you had to go outside and walk round, not so great if it's raining.

I went as part of a group, and some of the others commented that the breakfast wasn't that great for the price, we didn't have breakfast included so we went to the Wetherspoons, only 3 minute walk, and got better food at a better deal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x1x1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in April for two nights and overall it still retains it new feel, although it is 4 years old now.
Reception was good and the rooms were clean. Pillows were hard and not very comfortable.
Breakfast was as you would expect with normal fare of help your self buffet and cereals.
On my first night I decided to eat in the hotel, so I could watch the football which started at 7.45 - big mistake! Ordered the 2 course meal and chose soup to start. Time was 6.15 and soup arrived at 7.20! There was only 8 other people in restaurant at the start! Main course of a stew arrived at 8.20. The staff did apologise for the delay, but gave no reasons and offered me a complimentary drink which I declined. Food was OK when it arrived, but was fed up by then. Needless to say, I ate out on my second night. There are a lot of good eating establishments only a few minutes away, so that would be my big tip to anyone thinking of staying here. Shame really!
Not much car parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I selected Jury's Inn Derby as it was within walking distance of Lime's Bar where I was to attend a private party in the restaurant there. On arrival we managed to secure a parking space under the hotel, there are not many spaces for the amount of rooms they have. There is no lift or staircase to take you directly into the hotel, you need to walk up a sloped pathway to reach Reception, not so good if you have restricted mobility or the weather is bad.Parking costs £6.00 for 24 hours.On check in we were greeted by a friendly Receptionist & were given a room on the 7th Floor, pleased to note there are lifts in the hotel ! Room, light, bright & spotlessly clean with a view over the front of the hotel. Paid a bargain price of £39.10 for a Friday night stay. Only negative which was no fault of the hotel, was created by the guests in the adjoining room who seemed to think it was acceptable to start shrieking & "Dive Bombing" (their words) on the beds at 06:00 a,m this racket continued for about an hour and a half, so no leisurely lie in for us. We decided to get up & leave. Unbelievably as we passed the door of the noisy guests they had a "Do not Disturb" sign on their door !! I wouldn't be put off by this though & would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without an interconnecting door to the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyB485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Prime location, (though we did have a bit of difficulty negotiating the one way system),within about 20 feet of the shops.
friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and resonably sized rooms, most of the family were in family sized rooms which were very spacious.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, the restaurant was very good too, but was unable to cater for the whole family in one go, though that was our fault, we should have booked it. and there were 21 of us.
Though the staff did help us by sending us to Jimmy's where we could be seated at short notice.

Room Tip: Be Careful, the water is exceptionally hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Usual Jurys Inn quality in very tall building dominating city. Good breakfast. Very comfortable mattress. No biscuits with tea in room but the best ginger biscuit I have ever had from bar! Nothing to fault. Got very good price from Booking.com.

Room Tip: All the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay with a group of 10 ladies aged 18-70 . The reception staff were friendly & helpful the rooms were clean spacious & beds were really comfy. We heard no noise at night from any other guests. We parked at the hotel carpark 24hrs for £6 the only problem was the spaces were small & only a few of them ! 10/10 for our stay we would all come again & would recommend to friends .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing