We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #10 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Excellent service. Right from the start I received prompt & helpful e-mail responses to my inquiries.
There was no problem booking for three single guests. Our rooms were excellent- fresh & clean. The beds were comfortable. The lounge was pleasant to sit in in the evening. Breakfast was delicious - cooked individually to our tastes. Overall I think the service was excellent and good value for money.
Also the pub down the road did super food (for a chain) so no worries about having to drive out again to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe M, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Many thanks Fiona for the great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your reunion and hope to see you again soon

Zoe and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
10
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very good BB. I loved my stay. Carol and Zoe, thak you for your hospitality. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Depends on requirements. My single room was just what the doctor ordered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naboth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our short stay in the Coach House. Clean, comfortable room with a really good bed. Our 11 year old son could stay in our room on a extra bed. Nice bathroom that had everything we needed. We had a good night followed by a superb breakfast. Too bad we could only stay one night before driving back to Belgium!

Fam. Turnbull, Antwerp

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Rather a mixed response as I do feel that, with the right kind of changes and attention to detail, this would be so much better. We arrived at the end of an incredibly long walk. I was overjoyed when I saw we had a bath. Ran the water and it was stone cold. I had to phone the owner (they live at the back in a seperate building) and explain. She came across immediately and apologised, saying the heating had been on since 6pm! I was astonished that, considering that it takes so long to warm that this was left so late. We were told to wait and it would soon be hot ... my husband had to boil a kettle to have a shave at 7.15pm and I had to have a cold shower (not good after walking in the rain). I was rather disappointed that she didn't ask about this at breakfast the next morning - maybe that was our fault for not mentioning it. The bathroom to the double bedroom also has a door with glass in it that leads out onto the main landing - despite it being covered in a white thin curtain, it was still rather odd. My aunt stayed in the twin-bedded room and had to choose between having her bed light OR the kettle on as the electrics were not working properly. We did mention this. One dislike that was personal to us was all residents eating around the same table at breakfast (sits about 8) which we really did not like. We consider ourselves very sociable people but we felt we should have the choice and not feel like we need to whisper our own private conversation, for fear of being heard. This, and the lack of hot water, would stop us going back I am afraid. Plus points were that the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast fine. It is also a few doors away from a good bistro. Like I say, fine but could be so much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debandsifarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zcherrybaby, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for your feed back, we are sorry that your stay was not up to our usual standard, I have taken on board your comments and hope to make improvments where necessary.

Zoe Marello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Have been to The Coach House several times and you always recieve a warm and friendly welcome. The breakfasts are superb and the rooms very comfortable and clean with lovely facilities. Definitely reccomend staying here - Rachel Flower

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, GA, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

During each of the three times I have visited Derby, I've stayed at The Coach House, located in the Darley Abbey area about ten minutes from the city center. Having resided variously in both their single and en-suite rooms, I have found each to be very comfortable and well-appointed. The owner and her daughter are courteous, efficient, and genuinely dedicated to the well-being of their guests.

I always look forward to the breakfasts, which are cooked to order and feature an excellent selection of hot foods and cereals. The property features a large living room/sitting room, and they have recently added wi-fi internet capability. Since I don't drive in the UK, I appreciate the fact that the bus stop is so convenient (across the street) and that the Broadway Pub (my habitual supper location) is about 3-4 minutes' walk.

With four guest bedrooms, I consider The Coach House to be a quiet jewel among Derbyshire guest accommodations. I happily recommend it and look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe M, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for once again posting such a lovely review, always a pleasure to see people returning to stay with us, hope to see you again soon. Zoe & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
2.0 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 185A Duffield Road | Darley Abbey, Derby DE22 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run business 1 mile from Derby city centre, we offer a warm welcome, comfortable surroundings and a freshly prepared breakfast. The property consists of two single rooms with shared shower room, twin room with en-suite shower room and a large double room with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have televisions, tea/coffee making facilities.We have a large lounge for guests to relax in and free wi-fi access.On site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing