We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,029)
Filter reviews
2,029 results
Traveler rating
917
611
331
107
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
611
331
107
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table free movies bar area walk in shower nice hotel wet room business park business trip enjoyed my stay train station pride park would stay again steak car parking city centre one night stay ps4
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,029 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

While it looks somewhat like a Soviet era tower block on the outside, was lovely inside. Cost lounge, bar and restaurant and friendly staff (aside from one “too cool for school” grumpy barman). Room very clean and sparkling and a nice tasty breakfast. Great job and good value.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank BuTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraPetirovaPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2018

Dear BuTrav,

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us at pentahotels.

The team here in Derby are all working towards making the hotel a great place to relax & stay & I am glad that this came across during your visit. It give us a pleasure to read your kind words on our breakfast, value, cleanliness & service. I am sorry to read about staff being grumpy, please be assured your feedback is taken on board and will be raise with respective department manager.

I hope that we will see you back with us very soon.

Very best regards,
Barbora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

This was a lovely hotel. Perfect for the Derby Roundhouse event we were visiting. Staff were really friendly and room was nicely decorated. Tea and coffee making facility and amazing choice of TV channels. Would just have liked to have stayed for breakfast as looked really nice. Parking was only £5 for overnight in a barriered carpark.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shazmin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraPetirovaPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Dear Shazmin,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that we got things right for you & even more so, that you published your experience with pentahotels.
It give us a pleasure to read your kind words regarding our hotel, location, great staff and other facilities.

I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at pentahotel Derby.

Very best regards
Barbora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

Beautiful hotel but a little out of the main town. Lots of hidden charges including parking and breakfast was overpriced for what it was. room was small but clean and basic. Not very warm though even with the heating on. Not even a biscuit with the tea and coffee.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gaylebaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraPetirovaPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Dear Gaylebaty,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We do find our breakfast offering to be of good value for money, offering a wide range of products, from smoked salmon to cheese board, pastries, full English breakfast and pancakes to prosecco and more however I do apologize for problems with heating, we always try to fix the issue when raised and I am sorry we couldn't on this occasion. Please be assured your feedback will be taken on board.

Very best regards
Barbora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

The hotel was ok, but it was in the middle of an industrial estate. You also have to pay for your own parking which I think is very poor form. In terms of the room, they are very basic and our bathroom had a dreadful smell of sewage almost like there was a drainage problem. You receive basic toiletries but not even and face pads or cotton buds or dressing gowns which I felt was poor. Extremely basic tea tray with only normal tea and coffee. Kettle was cheap and so were the fixtures and fittings. Would not return. Despite this the staff were lovely.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraPetirovaPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Dear Cat W
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at pentahotel Derby.

I will be sure that the team are thanked for making your stay enjoyable however I do apologize that room appeared to be smelly, please be assured your feedback will be taken on boar and raised with respective department managers.

I would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel where hopefully we can rectify your past experience.

Very best Regards,
Barbora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

Stayed in the Penta hotel Derby for the first time on a company night out. Very pleasant staff and stay. The drinks at the bar were overpriced. The rooms were basic but no complaints. Breakfast was very good highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Freedom60466938982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraPetirovaPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Dear Freedom,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that we got things right for you & even more so, that you published your experience with pentahotels.
It gives us great pleasure to read your kind words on our staff, room & breakfast.

I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at pentahotel Derby.

Very best regards
Barbora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews