We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, vile, dirty and unsafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A38 Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #21 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The worst bad a nd breakfast an ever seen. Rude to guests when we walked in asked for money and I.D no hello nothing. The room was dirty and cold. The bed had pubic hair all over it and one of the beds was a door with thin legs screwed to it with a mattress on ( hinges still attached ) it totally unsafe. The mattresses had springs coming through. The microwave was rotten and the fridge the same. The shower had pubic hairs in the plug hole and the toilet was stained and dirty. I had to sleep in my clothes and coat and it was a good job too as they tired the heating off in the night and it was freezing. Someone also entered our room as I had two pillows on off another spare bed an I woke to it being placed back on the bed I got it from. Wouldn't recommend leaving any items in the room infact I wouldn't recommend staying at all god knows what the breakfast would be like.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bradlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments, in reply-
It is normal for me to ask for an ID, and for payment before use is made of facilities. Normal in most B&B's.
The room you stayed in and claimed not warm enough, has an additional storage radiator which could have been switched on at any time.
Bedding is clean and personally done by my wife.
The room you stayed in was a family room, which caters for four. You could have chosen any bed out of them.
The bed with metal legs is the fourth bed in the room, especially fitted to accommodate large items of luggage/baggage under it and is perfectly safe. When used, it is normally used for a younger member of a family or by choice.
Showers and toilets are are cleaned before arrival of guests and double checked.
Nobody ever enters guest rooms during the night. Guests can lock doors on the inside. During the day doors to rooms are either double locked, with a second key not accessible to guests, or through lobby doors, again no guests have access to these keys, and CCTV is in operation.
Breakfasts are English and fully enjoyed by most. Guests have a choice of whether they have breakfast or not, and price is reduced for those who do not require breakfast.
We regret that you did not find us as most people do.
Pity you did not communicate your concerns to the management during your stay, as matters could have been resolved there and then, or a refund given as per our policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel and room were dirty. The shower switched from warm to super hot when in use.The tv only had two channels. The advertised wi.fi signal was as weak as motorway tea. The divan bed was made with two single beds, one was two inches higher than the other. The only mirror in the room was a six inch square one, in the shower room and that had crack right across it. Having the option of staying here again, I would rather sleep in a bus shelter!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Thank you for your contribution.
Cleanliness is as per other responses.
Shower and plumbing problems have been resolved by adjustment of water pressure.
All TV's now operate under digital, and are functioning correctly.
Wi Fi operates as normal, but back up is now available just in case.
All mattresses have been changed and are of comparable height.
There was no need for you to sleep in a shelter, a refunds policy exists, that you could have been activated in the prescribed manner.
Any problems are attended to forthwith, I only live next to the B&B, and am available most of the time.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Currently staying here now so if your the owner read carefully and a full refund would be appreciated. To start on arrival before even introductions it was  "have you got any ID and how do you want to pay" would have liked to see the room first before paying for 7 NIGHTS. I was then led up to my room. It was then the nightmares started. It was filthy dirty stunk of smoke. All rooms tastefully decorated it says on their website... No I disagree I dont the room I was staying in has seen a paint brush in the last 30 yrs. Double bed no two singles pushed together . Tv mmm 2 channels and both of them were fuzzy pictures. Sink dirty toilet dirty shower dirty oh and did I say it stinks even bought 3 air fresheners for the room not good, no curtain on the tiny window. Fag ash down the side of the bed. What more can I say, if you want to experience the worst B&B in the country then come here if not avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bazza8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Thank you for your comments.
In response-
We never give refunds for requests through the net, nor do we give refunds when threatened with a bad review by guests. Guests who do not want to adhere to our refunds policy, have a choice of staying elsewhere.
The refunds policy we operate after arrival is clear and easy to operate. Details can be found on the last page of our website.
We operate a non smoking policy, but cannot police it to the extent of ensuring no-one ever smokes in rooms, particularly when people are inside their rooms. I am sorry if you could smell smoke.
Rooms are regularly decorated, and 30 years without a brush is a gross exaggeration.
All TV's have had several channels in the past, and now some have even approximately one hundred channels under digital TV.
Photographs shown are indicative of the state some guests get rooms into, and not the state they are in on arrival.
We regret that you did not find our B&B as most people do.
I find it disturbing that some people need to write in anonymously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I booked a double room. The bed was actually 2 single bases with very uncomfortable mattresses, so uncomfortable that I ached the next morning from the lumpy springs. Extremely noisy at night, with various banging noises, possibly caused by the plumbing. Advertised as tea and coffee making facilities in the room, 2 Lidl Mocha sachets and four teabags - NO MILK, NO SUGAR. The saving grace was almost the breakfast, which was passable. I ordered a pot of tea, but got coffee. For £35, very poor value in my estimation.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramsfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Thank you for your review.
When travelling solo it is unusual for some-one to book a double room, but then you might have had a special reason.
All issues raised have been dealt with in subsequent responses.
Please note that if anyone requires additional service or item, please ask.
Purchases for the B&B for freshness are done by my wife on her daily shopping expeditions, and come from local supermarkets, including Lidl.
Value for money. We do not profess to be a five star hotel, but try to compete for en-suite facilities, bar a bar, restaurant, and 24/7 reception. At £17.50 per night/person and breakfast thrown in for you, most people consider us value for money. We regret that you do not share their views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

On arrive the first thing i was greeted with was the manager asking for id, he never asked me my name or said hello, just "give me your id for the room." then i was led to the room, which was an old house room split in 2, but leaving the bed in the middle of the room, with no wall to put it against, and no headboard on it. The room was very dirty and the shower looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time.
I stayed in the room one night, then asked to be moved, i then got the other half of the room which was just the same. This room had stains on the walls and the bed could not fit to the wall due to a door way, when i tried to move the bed closer to the wall, i found a used condom, coke cans and a half empty packet of crisps. This was the last night i stayed in the hotel !! again in this room the bathroom was filthy and had what could only be described as sick marks on the toilet. the light switch was an old piece of string and i had to think twice as to use it as it was so dirty !!
There were no lamp shades on any lights and the beds never had real pillows, when i asked the landlady about another pillow, she said that due to health and safety, they were no longer able to give people pillows !!
This is possible the worst bed and breakfast in the world !!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hotel-inspector1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This is possibly one of the worst guest houses I have stayed in,bed was unspleepable with every spring sticking through mattress,pillows were 2 obscure cushions,room was dirty ,filth on window cill and fireplace ,shower dirty and constantly went from cold to scolding accident waiting to happen.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gavottorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
4.5 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
1 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A38 Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A38 Woodlands Guest House

Address: 300 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England (Formerly Woodlands Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range: $42 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A38 Woodlands Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A38 Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing