We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Derby
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2009

New-ish boutique hotel in the cathedral quarter of Derby. I went with my sister to celebrate a birthday. Extremely helpful and friendly reception staff. I had booked a kingsized room which was immaculately decorated but disappointingly small and moved to one of the suites which was lovely. We enjoyed the flatscreen tv at the end of the bath and the huge walk-in shower. The small spa in the basement is pleasant enough and the treatments were good and we liked being able to have them at the same time in the same room. The restaurant: Dinner was slightly pretentious with an overly fussy menu and portions on the small side. A chap with a reasonable appetite would need a kebab afterwards! Breakfast however was very good indeed. The hotel is nicely situated with lots of bars and restaurants, clubs etc within easy walking distance. The hotel doesn't have any parking but recommends the Parksafe car park about 100m away. This is secure but quite pricey though you do get a discount for staying at the hotel (30% I think). There are pay & display spaces outside the hotel if you want to take the chance. Overall, a really nice individual hotel with good staff, great breakfasts and a bijou spa - definitely worth paying the extra for a suite.

  • Liked — The original features.
  • Disliked — The small size of the kingsize rooms.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    207
    120
    86
    87
See reviews for
110
327
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We took advantage of their offer - free room with a 3 course meal.
The suite was excellent and so was the food.

Staff were very attentive over dinner and general queries were dealt with in a friendly and professional.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I had such a fantastic stay at the Cathedral Quarter Hotel. The room was superb, with all the fixtures and fittings being of the highest standard. The staff were very attentive, the food was excellent and there is a brilliant cocktail bar downstairs. What a great stay!

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wisherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Me and my partner stayed over for the night on a saturday.the room was fantastic comfy bed which did slide across the floor,lovely bath room the shower was amazing but was quite small.the price list for the mini bar was ridiculas £2.50 for a small can of coke!!the room was really nice though.the staff were lovely.we had room service for our breakfast which arrived 15 minutes late,the toast was cold so had to ask for some more,they baught no butter to the room and no sugar for the tea.i enjoyed the breakfast but my boyfriend didnt wasnt cooked very well and was cold.so he just ate the toast and cerials.maybe if you went to the resrurant for it,it may have been better.what was excellent was they we stayed there the same night as the cast off hollyoaks,so we got to meet some celebs.it was fantastic.will return.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helloDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit abroad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

At last! I have found a reasonable place to stay in Derby. After several really awful stays in the city to visit my son who is at uni here. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and warm (very important when it is 0 degrees and snowing outside.) But do watch out for the coffee, should have had tea with breakfast.
The secure carpark that the hotel has a connection with is very reasonable for a city centre. £8.40 when parked from 5pm until 10am.

  • Liked — Beautiful BIG soft bed.
  • Disliked — Coffee
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgBritabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed for a Saturday night as we were going to a concert nearby and didn't want to drive home after. The room was very nice if a little small. Bathroom wouldn't take two people but overall very good room with a comfortable bed. Breakfast however was a disaster. People being ignored by staff, one girl running her socks off and two others on day release from the home for the bewildered. We waited over an hour for our food and finally gave up and went to reception to complain. We couldn't wait any longer as we needed to be at another appointment. Also the hotel has no car park although there is pay and display parking on the road outside but I wouldn't advise leaving a car overnight there, but use the secure car park at the end of the road. 30% discount off your parknig if you get reception to stamp your ticket and it cost us £7.70 overnight. Overall a nice hotel centrally situated but with a few staff problems.

  • Liked — quality of fittings
  • Disliked — breakfast service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neiltrembler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

After reading the reviews and checking out the website I couldn't wait to visit this hotel, however, it was all a bit of a let down really. It all started with the frosty receptionist when we checked in. The room was very small and some of the high tech lights didnt work which left the room very gloomy. Other visitors have commented about the beds being on castors and the floors are wooden so the bed shoots off in every direction even when sitting on it - bizarre experience! The bathroom again was small and very little space to put toilettries - especially around the basin. The room was freezing cold when we arrived although they were expecting us, however, our room had individual heating controls and it did heat up. I checked out the bar for a cocktail but there was not a soul around so decided to head off into town to eat and drink.

Breakfast was dismal - the continental breakfast is poor at best - some tiny portions of cubed cheese and a couple of rolls of ham. One choice of sweet rolls, rubbery croissants, cheap discount type yoghurts and, rather strangely, fruited scones? We opted for the Full Derbyshire Breakfast which took 45 minutes to arrive - thank goodness they weren't busy - there was just another family of four in the breakfast room. Sausage (1), bacon (2 rashers) egg, (1 overcooked and as hard as a goats knee), half a grilled plum tomato and one small mushroom and half an inch of black pudding! The coffee was good and was washed down by a generous blare of Michael Buble on the sound system- hope you're a fan!

I'm am trying hard to think of something positive and the £5 million pounds spent on this hotel does show in the stunning reception area, however, it really does let itself down with its staff, small bedrooms, ambience and that appalling breakfast.

  • Liked — Errrrm - Good location
  • Disliked — Loads - see review!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling4Toffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,559 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing