We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel was listed as a Boutique hotel, thats not really what i found there. The hotel was pleasant and any interactions with the staff was lovely, but the room that i have was a single room but it was tiny! you could barely walk around the bed to get to the windows. It was lovely and clean and the bathroom was great. The night that i was there i decided to have breakfast in the Lounge, i have checked before i went in that they were serving and they were but i got there and waited ages and there was no staff - i had to go back to reception and ask for somone to come and serve me - don't get me wrong he was lovely when he arrived but he didn't apologise for keepng me waiting. The night sleep was fine but there was losts of noise if anyone walked past it seemed to make the whole floor creak. Breakfast the following morning was pleasant no complaints. Overall the hotel was pleasant and the staff were nice i am just not sure if i would want to go back.

Room Tip: Try not to book a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Events C, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear AnnieMac007,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us here at the Cathedral Quarter Hotel.

It was fantastic to hear your positive comments with regards the team and service you received throughout the Hotel. We are currently looking into the current staffing levels within the lounge to ensure prompt courteous service is delivered every time to every guest.

With regards to the size of your bedroom, The Hotel was original build with another purpose in mind which unfortunately means a number of rooms are rather smaller then others however we do have a number of suites that are much larger and maybe worth a try next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Hough - Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    202
    116
    82
    86
See reviews for
105
319
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Room nice but small. No toilet paper on arrival and lighting very poor. I had to do my makeup in the bathroom as no lights above mirror on vanity unit. Dinner was delicious - but waiting staff unfamiliar with menu. I wasn't able to have my first choice of main course (halibut) and was offered the same dish made with salmon instead which I declined. My husband was asked how he wanted his pork ... response "cooked". Breakfast very poor. I ordered eggs benedict (favourite) but never seen or tasted hollandaise like it ... disgusting! I sent it back and asked for poached eggs on toast instead. Bread not toasted enough & nor buttered so residue water frim eggs sunk into toast and made it soggy ... yuk. Also I could taste the vinegar from the poaching liquor as chef had obviously been heavy handed ... Yuk!! My husband ordered scrambled egg with smoked salmon which was watery (egg overcooked) and he felt sure the salmon wasn't smoked and the breakfast chef had used leftover salmon from the night before. They need to sort this out as breakfast is the last thing you experience when you stay at an hotel (apart from checkout) and this left a nasty taste in both our mouths.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, this hotel is a little gem in Derby. We wish we had more reasons to go to Derby just to stay here again! It's a lovely room, comfy bed, dark curtains, super clean and modern bathroom and a great English breakfast included. We had a great time here and would return again to stay in a minute.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 23 March on a late booking. Not easy to find in the Derby one way system but then realised we had driven past the hotel three times! This is a great hotel if you want to stay in Derby City Centre. Very clean and inviting with all the facilities you expect of a modern hotel. The hotel bar made our evening enjoyable but do keep a tally of what you drink as we were not asked to sign for any drinks. The bedrooms are not spacious but they are very comfortable. The inclusive breakfast was excellent and the service professional although this was spoilt by inappropriate breakfast time music played through a defective sound system. Parking is limited at the hotel but they do offer a discount at a multi-storey car park just down the road. Do double check your bill in the morning as additional drinks were included on the bill which we had not had - please note I am not saying this was intentional - the bill was amended by reception without question. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I went to the hotel recently for a champagne afternoon tea with a gift voucher we had been given. The Opulence dining room was satisfactory and the hostess was pleasant, however the room did look tired and the sound system used to play the background music crackled constantly and detracted from the overall experience.
The choice of teas was impressive and the service style (at the table) improved the experience. The tiered stand of sandwiches, scones and cakes looked very impressive.
The sandwiches and scones were very tasty and there was plenty of jam and cream.
The let down was the cakes, of which there were 5 varieties to share. Plentiful in portion but 4 of the 5 were very disappointing and we did not eat much of them. Either dry, overcooked or doughey.
Having considered purchasing a gift for someone else we will not do this now based upon our experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexis_dagreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here on a voucher offer, so price was great.
Included meal could not be faulted, very good menu, breakfast was excellent too.
Room was tight but well apointed, could not have asked for anymore.
Only issue was complete lack of parking, but it is city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned home from a hen party at this hotel. After arriving an hour late as our limousine broke down, we were greeted at reception by really friendly staff who then showed us the way to the spa. Even though we were late they still managed to fit us all in for our beauty treatments apart from 2 of our guests who were told they could have theirs the following morning instead and as compensation were given a free meal each. As it turned out in the end, the spa staff managed to fit them in that day anyway. After having a lovely afternoon in the spa we then had our 3 course evening meal in our own private room. Again the staff were excellent, decorating the table for us with the party bags and balloons etc that I had brought. The cocktail school in the evening hosted by Thomas was a real laugh, very entertaining.we made 3 cocktails each. The ages in our hen party ranged from twenties up to sixties and everyone of us really enjoyed the cocktail school. The building itself is beautiful and very elegant. The location is excellent, just a 5 minute walk to bars and shops. The only very small negative comments would be that the flooring was old and loose therefore noisy outside our room and that our room on the ground floor was a bit small and dark. The hen however had a room on the third floor which was bigger and light and had no complaint at all. Overall a very enjoyable weekend was had by all and a big thank you to martin the night porter who looked after us in the lobby serving us drinks until a very late hour!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing