We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food,great staff,lack of customers”
Review of Mexico - CLOSED

Mexico
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food,great staff,lack of customers”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had lunch here and the restaurant was very empty,this does not give a great atmosphere but when the staff service is good and the food good, it deserves a very good rating.
The menu is limited-only 6 choices,but three of us had differnt dishes and all enjoyed them.We had a bottle of wine,but were unsure about our choice and were given a taste to decide
-excellent service.Music was good.Staff service was very good--this place needs more customers and a more extensive menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi and thanks for your review. As you stated the lunch menu is limited to six mains albeit there are a variety of made to order wraps available too. Based on the cuisine and the fact we are at the opposite end of town to the main shopping centre we don't often get too many people in for lunch - but as we are here, we are happy to open! If you had wanted anything off the evening menu this wouldn't have been a problem and this is much more extensive. However, by offering the smaller lunch menu we were able to offer you and all of our customers the same meal at less than half price - I'm sure you'll agree this makes sense.

Really glad you had a good time and we'd love to see you back soon.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    22
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good honest food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went on a cold thursday night and was pleasantly impressed. Food was tasty and a good size, staff were friendly and helpful without being over bearing. Good atmosphere for a Thursday and some catchy music! Would def recommend and we will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazda09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and also noticing our music selection as this has recently been updated and we are receiving good feedback. Glad it was busy for you on a Thursday as these have varied with the very cold and unpredictable weather we have been having. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am from the United States and have enjoyed Mexican food in many places and in different forms including France, Texas, the Eastern Coast of the US, and Derby, UK. Mexico is a lovely place with strong cocktails and delicious food. My husband and I find this our go-to restaurant when we want to eat out. My husband is a vegetarian and sometimes picky about the places in which he eats, but he feels very comfortable with the food at Mexico. Our only wish is that Mexico could bring back its wide range of Tequilas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, our cocktails and food. We are slowly increasing our range of tequilas again; we had to run the Tequilaria down for a time (we had a range of 50 tequilas) due to holding so much stock during the onset of the recession, etc. However, as stated, this is now hopefully being addressed over the next few months. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The first time my husband and visited the service and food was wonderful and the atmosphere was great ..

Last night the service was slow, and the staff didnt seem yo have a clue..
The food however was still of a high standard.
We felt that we were inconveniencing the staff when asking for things that really should have been provided like prices for drinks .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliek101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we were pleased to see that although you highlighted some concern with the service on Saturday night you were happy with the high standard and quality of your meal. Unfortunately Saturday night was busy and we found ourselves unexpectadly short staffed, which we did try to address . Several tables acknowledged this and were understanding about it. Unfortunately this situation did lead to some unavoidable slowness with service, which i do acknowledge and apologise for. In addition one of our waiting staff was working only their second weekend. It is surprising and disapointing to hear that you felt as though you were inconveniencing the staff as we have recieved very positive comments about the staff working on Saturday. We will however discuss this further with the staff concerened as we aim to provide a high level of service at all times and we value your feedback.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and will be returning soon”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here and was very pleased as this was a last minute decision. The food was great and good portions. Thanks for a great night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinwillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thankyou for your positive feedback on your experience at Mexico, we aim to provide our customers with tasty, authentic food in decent portion sizes, its fantastic to hear that you had such a good night out. Your feedback really helps us to ensure that we are delivering quality food and good service. We hope to see you again soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Little Eaton, Derby
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing