We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Derby Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 25 Derby B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in June 2013 with my boyfriend. It's a nice little hotel and really good value for money. Staff are pleasant, the breakfast is tasty and the rooms are comfortable. Glad I chose to stay here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management963, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in relation to your stay here at The Derby Conference Centre. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    79
    51
    34
    11
See reviews for
17
76
13
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights. The place is very convenient for parking, and also proximity to the city centre. There is no lift available, and as all rooms appear to be up stairs, this may not be appropriate for all guests. Our room was 'very' small. Having seen my husband who is not a small man I would have thought the receptionist could have offered something more appropriate, particularly given the size of the bed which was more appropriate for one person! The meals offered in the dining room were adequate, although it was sometimes hard to locate the barman, who also took meal orders. The ladies in the dining room at breakfast time are a big asset; most helpful and cheerful.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before booking to avoid the tiny rooms (apparently there are some larger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management963, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in relation to your stay here at The Derby Conference Centre. We are pleased to read that you found our location to be convenient and that our friendly staff lived up to your expectations. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the ladies. We was sorry to read however that in other areas, such as room size we did not meet your expectations. We hope these issues will not affect your decision to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I regually have to hold meetings in Derby and have used the Derby Conference centre for both morning breakfast meetings and evening seminar meetings. Mark the conference centre manager cannot do enough to help with the planning and preparation and is always on hand if anything is not quite up to the usual standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelasDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management963, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in relation to our conference facilities.
we are pleased you enjoy your meetings here and we appreciate your positive feedback.
we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Derby Conference Centre was the setting for our Wedding in April.
Lauren and her team were absolutle brillant. The day went smoothly and all the staff and catering was brillant. They were helpful to our needs and we wanted for nothing.
The rooms were cost effective and very clean.
I have to say it was a fantastic day for us and the Conference centre made it happen with all their help.
Thanks Again
Roger and Di Harrison

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike e, Marketing Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Roger and Diane

Thank you for taking the time to personally write a review about your wedding experience. It is a lovely feeling for all staff to read such positive feedback. We shall look forward to seeing you again soon and if there’s anything we can ever help you with in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Best Wishes
The Derby Conference Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were there as wedding guests. This is a brilliant wedding venue with the ceremony, banquet and accommodation all under one roof. It's a bit quirky and sort of like a cruise ship inside with the venue area on the ground floor and bedrooms on ground, first and second floors. The rooms are smallish but very comfy and clean, we paid £50 for bed and breakfast for two. OK it's not the Ritz but they do a really good job and are really friendly and helpful. There's also plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaMariaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked at short notice because of the weather situation, needing to be in Derby the next morning. When I phoned to make enquiries and on arrival, the staff were both courteous and helpful, making me feel welcome on a cold evening. Room comfortable and met my needs very well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If your are travelling on a budget, then this hotel is a good reasonable option for you. Although the rooms are small and compact, they are suitable as a base to visit the Derby area. The breakfast is standard with unlimited tea and coffee. The hotel has a renovated retro feel and is loaded with history as an old training college to railway engineers. The staff are helpful and friendly. We also had dinners in the restaurant, which were tasty and the service was good. I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no views, so no big deal which room you choose, would suggest you get a room on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoccaJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#23 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derby Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derby Conference Centre

Property: The Derby Conference Centre
Address: London Road, Derby DE24 8UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derby Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Derby's city centre, this grade II listed Art Deco building offers comfortable rooms and hearty full English breakfasts. It has a bar, free parking and free Wi-Fi. All of the refurbished rooms at the Derby Conference Centre feature a private en suite shower room, Freeview TV, and tea/coffee-making facilities. The venue has been awarded the AA's 4-star Guest Accommodation standard. There are 8 conference rooms at the Art Deco-themed conference centre, all suitable for business or hospitality events. The conference centre is easy to access with Derby Train Station only 5 minutes' drive away and East Midlands Airport a 15-minute drive away. The M1 motorway can be reached in 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Derby Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derby Conference Centre Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing