We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing and relaxing city centre hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Derby Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Derby Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Refreshing and relaxing city centre hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I often stay here when I visit family in Derby. The price may be a tad higher than the budget hotels around the corner but the rooms are nicely decorated and the bathrooms quite spacious in comparison to these other hotels. There's no bath and the showers are quite basic but it is really well presented for a 3/4-star. The rooms arent big but have WIFI and usually a few books on the shelves which is a nice touch. The hotel is very spacious with a wide sweeping staircase and large landings. However the hotel does arrange weddings and sometimes the guests can be quite noisy, drunk and mischievous. One weekend I wasnt sure if the guests had ever been in a hotel before, they were running around the corridors at all hours. But this isnt the fault of the hotel, it was just bad luck really.

The receptionists are friendly and efficient. The breakfast is included and they offer a good fry up.

A really good hotel for a one nighter...

Room Tip: Some rooms the WIFI isnt great, do check when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachmacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    77
    49
    34
    11
See reviews for
15
75
12
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've been here for wedding receptions previously and enjoyed it but coming for parties it really feels a little corporate and sterile(with the absence of wedding flowers, interesting menu etc). The room is bland and the food is dull (the gravy burnt). That said, the size is wonderful and the bar service is very efficient. Overall though, this is a very well priced hotel considering how close to the centre it is (Alvaston is a short cab ride from the city centre, Pride Park and the train station) and I can't imagine a lot of hotels can match that. One for a wedding perhaps.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevastopol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

DCC is satisfactory if you are looking for simple overnight accommodation. Staff are very helpful most of the time. Booking the accommodation was a challenge, website returning to the first page, emails (3), calls to the direct number to provide CC details went to answering machine every time, messages left on answering machine with contact number never replied to, finally confirmed booking by calling another number. Not the only person with booking problems. Suspect lack of communication internally.
Wi-Fi works fine when near DCC centre, the sunken area, in my room wi fi very sporadic, staff response was very lacking to report. If internet usage required, bring your own dongle.!!
Will return again but not if better facilities come available at comparable rates.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the air conditioning systems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I would rate this place as 3 star.
Staff were helpful. Rooms were OK, bathrooms were tired but huge.
Everything worked and it was more than acceptable.
The best part of the stay was breakfast. Lots of choice, well cooked, and hot. Anna was VERY helpful and was the best member of staff there.
I would stay here again - it is no frills but clean.
It was very quiet when we were there as only 6 rooms in use.

Room Tip: Room 21 in the West wing had no internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTDancer2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My sister had her wedding reception at the Derby Conference Centre on October 15th 2011, and although we're from Derby, as a family, we used the hotel facilities to stay afterwards. Therefore I will do a short review of both.

The wedding facilities were absolutely fab - from start to finish, our experience with the events team was great. As a family, we found that nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were willing to do whatever it took to ensure my family and our guests were made to feel comfortable and had an enjoyable experience on the day. The events planner Siobhan was a godsend to my sister during the niggly planning process and really made sure that we got the most out of our day! It was comforting to my sister to know that she was just a phone call away.

My sister chose the sunken lounge as the room for the reception, which is in a really lovely art-deco style - matching the exterior of the hotel. There were other rooms to choose from, which were all lovely too, however the sunken lounge suited our guest numbers the best. The bar was offset in a seperate room, and this was comfortable and had seating areas so wedding guests could relax away from the disco if they wished. This was great for some of the older guests we had, as they liked the option to have a bit of time out.

The wedding breakfast was really tasty and so was the buffet later on in the day. I can't remember which food option we chose in the end, but I know the price was reasonable and was more than worth the quality and quantity of food we got. I couldn't finish my meal, as there was such a large amount - but I certainly wasn't complaining, and I know our guests weren't either. It was much better to have too much than have people go away hungry!

The evening before the reception, we were able to get the flowers delivered and they were locked away in a side room until the morning of the wedding. The staff were so helpful and provided us with a great service in allowing us to do this, as it took a huge pressure off us. When the time of the reception came, we were so overwhelmed by how the room looked. It is a stunning venue and the room is totally transformed when the tables are all set up and the decorations are in place. Other parts of the venue were also of a high standard. The staircase was a lovely setting for some of the wedding photos - they have turned out beautifully and are really unique. The outside areas were also lovely settings for photos and the building itself is very attractive and well kept.

Throughout the day, the staff were incredibly professional and provided us with flawless service. I'd definitely reccommend this venue for your wedding, we had a great overall experience and could not find fault with anything at all!

Topping off our day were the hotel rooms. We were all absolutely shattered by the time bedtime came, so it was a relief that the rooms were such a great standard. The rooms are quite small, however they had everything you would need to ensure a comfortable stay. The en-suite bathroom was nicely kept and clean and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. There was a small flat-screen TV, which was a nice touch too. I had a lovely night's sleep and woke up feeling refreshed. The breakfast in the morning was a full English buffet style and was again so tasty and filling.

Overall, this is a superb wedding venue and hotel. The staff are fantastic and we could not find fault with anything all all throughout the whole day. I would reccommend this venue to anyone I know getting married as I was so impressed with every aspect, from beginning to end. A huge thank you to all the staff who helped to make the day so special for my sister.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

It is the second time we have now stayed at the DCC and both times have found it to be great! The staff are always welcoming and friendly, the facilities are more than adequate and the food is very good!

When we paid for the hotel, at a bargain-basement price we wondered what on earth it would be like... Yet the recent refurbishment seems to have proved a success. Rooms are clean, light and pleasant and all the basic essentials are provided.

The DCC is a fantastic alternative to a Holiday Inn/Travellodge. Slightly cheaper but offers a similar if not the same standard of accommodation. Furthermore, we cannot fault the breakfast! (We will continue to go back for this alone!) which is a large hot and cold buffet with good quality produce.

For architecture fans, this building has an intriguing and interesting history and you can read this at various points around the hotel as well as in the pack provided in the room. The buildings 1930's deco style makes it an interesting place to visit or stay in its own right.

This is probably not the place to stay if you wanted a romantic getaway in the heart of Derbyshire, yet for business, or a trip to the town centre (of which it is only a short distance away from) you would be hard-pressed to find a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed a night at the Conference Centre because Derby has been offering a tourist promotion and there was a good reason to visit the city art gallery. (OK, good promotion - our first visit to Derby!) Several hotels were included in the promotion: the best (I'd judge) had no rooms for our date (a Saturday), but this one looked the most interesting of the rest. We found out in advance that there was a wedding reception on site and made sure we got a quiet room. We did: we were not disturbed by the wedding party. The staff were nice and helpful on the phone and in person. The building is good 1930s Art Deco (former railway staff college) and was renovated for conferences (not sure when) but could still do with investment to make it A1. The en-suite bedroom was small but adequate. The (hot) breakfast was OK but what I'd call a bit industrial - pretty dire yoghurt, very basic bread, and the management obviously got a good deal on a blackcurrant jam order. If this seems negative, it's important to stress that the stay was very good value, and even if the area the hotel is in does not have a whole lot going for it, it's a lot more handy for the town centre than a couple of well-known budget hotels we noticed. As for the other hotels in the promotion - two seemed to be in one big building over the bus station, and the one which had no room for us didn't look so fantastic after all, close up. So we were happy with our choice, and as a building the Conference Centre deserves to survive. We'd go back, based on our experience.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a late-night function on: if so, go for the top floor front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
4.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derby Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derby Conference Centre

Property: The Derby Conference Centre
Address: London Road, Derby DE24 8UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derby Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Derby's city centre, this grade II listed Art Deco building offers comfortable rooms and hearty full English breakfasts. It has a bar, free parking and free Wi-Fi. All of the refurbished rooms at the Derby Conference Centre feature a private en suite shower room, Freeview TV, and tea/coffee-making facilities. The venue has been awarded the AA's 4-star Guest Accommodation standard. There are 8 conference rooms at the Art Deco-themed conference centre, all suitable for business or hospitality events. The conference centre is easy to access with Derby Train Station only 5 minutes' drive away and East Midlands Airport a 15-minute drive away. The M1 motorway can be reached in 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Derby Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derby Conference Centre Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing