We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A firm favourite!”

Balti International
Ranked #91 of 587 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A firm favourite!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've been going here regularly for almost a decade now and it never disappoints. Food is delicious and well priced, service is always good (no matter how busy - and they're nearly always busy!) and you can bring your own alcohol. Can't fault it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MissGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    48
    18
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not The Best.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Visited for the first time, booked a table no problem, staff were friendly and the restaurant itself was clean, tidy and fresh looking but the atmosphere was dull. They had a meal deal section on the menu for £15 which is a good idea however they were reluctant to swap items that I didn't want for another item in the same offer or change the spice on a certain dish which most other places will happily do. We got our starters in good time but waited for nearly an hour for our mains and they were nothing special, there are defiantly better Indians in Derby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent Night!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great service in a very busy restaurant , its take your own drinks which halves the cost of the night, you can get very good beer in the Rowditch Inn just down the road and bring their jugs with you. Went for the superb value meal deal available even on a Saturday , only £15 a head for popadoms , starter, any main and a rice or nan excluding king prawns. Not been here since the recent refurb but a great inmprovement in decor and toilets has been made, back very soon !!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martin1967ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Curried my favour”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Visited for the first time with work colleagues on a Wednesday evening. They were able to accommodate a party of 10 with no trouble at all. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The waiter was very helpful in offering us value for money menu choices for the group. When the food came it was of a high standard and there was more than enough for the varied appetites around the table. The venue does not hold an Alcohol license but there are 2 shops opposite where your own alcohol can be bought and consumed on the premises. They also offer soft drinks for sale with your meal, including coke in jugs which was a good idea if you've ordered something hot. I would definitely dine here again, the service was excellent, I would also sample their takeaway service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jedimasterlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely evening”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we were a party of 7 and we had a very nice meal, the waiter was very good at his job , he was very friendly and knew all about the food on the menu, we all had the food at the same time , the night was cheaper as we cold take our own wine, would go again fo sure

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kath c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti International also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Balti International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing