We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Have Been Before & Will Be Back Again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frog Furlong Cottage

Frog Furlong Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frog Furlong Cottage
Fareham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Have Been Before & Will Be Back Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Clive and Anna get it just right! On arrival we were greeted with broad smiles and given all the help we needed. They are friendly, welcoming & particularly helpful. The breakfasts are cooked to order and always wonderful - enough to keep us going all day! Our room had a very useful fridge with fresh milk. The location is very peaceful, quiet and a perfect walking distance to the local pub/restaurant. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bembridge-House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Had to find a place to stay for weekend at short notice as let down by another B&B. Anna was very helpful and even though they were going to Goodwood the same weekend, they were happy to accomodate us and ensured that her friend Pam was available to show us round and cook breakfast etc.
Lovely location, very quiet, yet has all the facilities of gloucester only a few minutes drive away.
Room was small but cosy, yet had everything we wanted/needed. Great corner bath in ensuite. Very nice to have pool on site although it was cooler than we would have liked but is near end of season.
Nice garden to chill out in and plenty of walks in area right from front door including Geocaches if thats your thing.
Breakfast excellant and at a sensible time....
Was recommended to dine out at nearby Queens Head and booking made for us - very glad we did as excellant meal.
Nothing was too much trouble - we will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dralphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed for two nights here...anna and clive are lovely hosts. The place is just right if you want to enjoy a quiet peaceful time...is at very easy distance from shopping and restaurants in cheltenham...you do need your own transport though if you stay here.
The house looks lovely and rooms have their own enterance so you are free to come and go as you please. breakfast is great as well...

All in all could not ask for more from a weekend break.
The only small down side was the mattress...:( they were a bit saggy. but I was 8 months pregnant so perhaps a bit fussy in any case...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

Homely little B&B, everything we need, big corner bath although room on small side, cosy shall we say! Indoor pool looked great, we aim to return during the Summer when it is open. Breakfast excellent, owners friendly. All in all a great stop over.

  • Liked — The pool looked great, only open in summer though.
  • Disliked — Room was maybe a bit small
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winters_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

My friend and I stayed for a couple of days at the frogfurlong cottage. It was a cute little place and the owners were very nice and extremely helpful. The breakfast was yummy and the ambience was homely.

We loved our stay at the frogfurlong cottage.

Only problem was: You need a car to be mobile even though there are buses and taxis but it is not very convenient if you have limited time.

  • Liked — price and seclusion
  • Disliked — travel options
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poogiewoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolUK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

Just after arriving I discovered my tyre was flat. The owners son kindly changed it for the spare for me. My four year old daughter loved the indoor pool (open for 8 months a year) and we were made very welcome. The room was small but separate from the main house so we had absolute privacy. Very relaxing and well located fro Gloucester and Cheltenham without being in the town centre of either. Plenty to do nearby.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — lack of shampoo to use after the pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Furlong Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Furlong Cottage

Property: Frog Furlong Cottage
Address: Frogfurlong Cottage Frogfurlong Lane | Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing