We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Minnedosa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Character & Service”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights in this hotel in the heart of Gloucester. I cannot fault the service, very friendly, professional and helpful. The New Inn is a bit of a misnomer, actually built in the 1300's or 1400's!! It is a characterful hotel with a central courtyard that opens to Northgate St.
The room I stayed in (208) was clean and comfortable. The full English breakfast was just right for setting us up for a day's sightseeing. Lunch was very popular and looked really good, but wasn't able to try it. The bar had a good selection of beers and just the thing when finishing a day out.
There are no lifts, but given that the building is listed and 700 years old - it's hardly surprising!
Only down side was lack of convenient parking.

Room Tip: 1st floor is easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    222
    128
    80
    80
See reviews for
62
321
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was like Fawlty Towers without the Basil but lots of Manuels. It must be difficult for Relax Inns with old properties like this. Difficult to renovate, decorate or even clean properly, but it seems like very bad use of a lovely building. No toiletries till the day I left. I asked for a quiet room and was woken at 6.30am every morning by what sounded like a massive hovercraft but was probably the kitchen extractor. It's the little things that get you though. Breakfast seems to be Full English or Full English. So I had Full English, but for me that needs Brown sauce. On the first day I asked for sauce and was given and empty bottle, they brought me another then another then another -each empty. Next day same thing, the same four bottles. Third day the same by which time I pointed out there was a Tesco a few doors down, Thursday I offered to go myself, Friday the cook didn't turn up so I didn't need sauce.
Something's amiss at RelaxInns methinks.

Room Tip: Don't think I can help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toucando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a fascinating place to stay but difficult to rate. The location is central and especially convenient for the cathedral but rated simply on its facilities the hotel is quite poor: the en suite bathroom to our room was tired and the electric shower a bit feeble, for example. However, the hotel is steeped in history and has a unique atmosphere. The bar was also friendly and served well-kept real ale, and the breakfast was filling, tasty and served quickly (though the coffee was too weak!). Judged purely on its fixtures and fittings the hotel is poor but for a short visit of a night or two it is a splendid place to stay in the centre of Gloucester.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Although I was a little wary as previous views said it was very noisy, my Wednesday night in a single room way up in the room was very peaceful. Nice clean room with plenty of hot water (and a working TV). Staff were very helpful and courteous.
On the down side; decor a bit dated (an update to 18th/21st century minimalist would suit it better) and the menu in the restaurant was very ordinary - although it was a comfortable environment for a female eating alone.
Was there on a Laterooms deal which proved to be real bargain!

Room Tip: If you don't want to risk being disturbed by revellers in the old and picturesque courtyard, neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBeresford2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Considering we paid £42 for an en suite double room with breakfast included, this hotel which has bags of old world charm provides excellent value for money. The building is over 500 years old and yes floorboards creak, window ledges aren't level, and the plumbing system makes some odd noises but you need to factor all that in and balance it against the hotels central location and its stunning appearance. We too had problems with noisy seagulls but without double glazed windows I'm not sure what the hotel can do about that.
Service was excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast wasn't massive, but it was all freshly cooked, and I really appreciated having hot toast rather than the cold cardboard variety I've experienced at other hotels. Breakfast was also served within 5 mins or so of ordering but as we were the only ones in the dining room then that is perhaps not so surprising. I'd certainly come back here if we visit Gloucester again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

all the staff are very helpful and made our only to short a visit a very happy one, we will be returning in the very near future, real ale bar a bonus.
Take the train it's only 5 mins walk from the station.

Room Tip: look on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the New Inn for one night on Friday 16th August 2013 using it as a stop over as part of a longer trip.

Be aware that the inn has no parking of its own however the man on reception directed us to a multistorey carpark 5 minutes walk away which has a subsidised parking scheme if you're staying over. Remember to ask for a card from reception.

On entering the courtyard from the street you're greeted by charming old buildings and the feel is really nice if you like history. Reception is clean and pleasant and the staff efficient. Being guided to our room would have been better as some of the rooms are difficult to find.

The room - Whilst mostly clean and tidy was cramped and decorated in an oppressive terracotta and green which made the room feel claustrophobic with its tiny, seagull dropping splattered window and floral curtains. I know every room can't have a view but ours of the kitchen extractor fan (noisy) ciggy packet, cotton buds and part of a dead gull wasn't nice.
The bed was very uncomfortable with a thin, lumpy mattress. I advise taking earplugs with you as the gulls incessant screeching means sleep is almost impossible.

The bar and pub across the courtyard are nice enough and the staff friendly. We enjoyed a couple of drinks before turning in.

Breakfast is basic but edible.

To sum up, with some love and attention (and a wallpaper scraper) the rooms could live up to the potential of the courtyard and, in my opinion, it's a real shame that the New Inn isn't so much better than it is.

Room Tip: Earplugs all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Property: The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing