We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Couples Weekend break”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Visited this qwirky hotel from Friday friday 18th to Sunday 20th January 2013 and had a great time despite snowy conditions. The four of us, two couples, upgraded for £20 per room to have the two, four poster bedrooms. This was definately worth it because the rooms were huge and very well maintained. The heating was on all day which was a blessing with freezing weather outside and we had a cozy stay.Breakfast was included in the room price of £119 for the whole weekend which was excellent value for money. We also had an evening meal on the first night which was lovely food but slightly small on the portion side (mine in particular, which was local sausages, peas with mash which left me still hungry). Desserts to follow were excellent.
We also sampled the various ciders and ales that were on offer in the bar area which were very nice and varied.
If you like shopping, you are right by a Designer outlet plus an indoor shopping centre. Again,right on your door step is Gloucester Cathedral and all the historic museums and attractions.
The hotel and courtyard went back to the 14th century and if we had more time, would have looked into the background more. It made a refreshing change from your average, regular hotel to see and sample this historic building.

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple it is well worth paying £20 extra for the rooms with the four poster be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    218
    126
    78
    79
See reviews for
62
312
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The historic building is amazing and just about makes up for everything else. We stayed in the Lady Jane Grey suite which is not a suite at all but has a large bedroom with sofa, table and chairs and big TV. The floor slopes so things will roll off the table if you're not careful!

The furnishings and bathroom were very dated and the bathroom fixtures really need to be replaced, the bath was chipped and the fixed soap dishes far from clean. A half empty bottle of shower gel had been left there from previous guests. The curtains did not cover the windows.

Breakfast was poor. Very cheap ingredients, tasteless eggs and tea, grilled tomatoes were unavailable. Cereal was self service from unappealing plastic tubs.

We only saw one member of staff who did check in and served breakfast and she wasn't particularly helpful. She said she couldn't give us the room for the rate on the hotel's own website and said the only place we could leave our cases after check out was in a corridor. When we mentioned our concerns about the karaoke being noisy she assured us it would end at 11pm. It didn't - if was after midnight and we could hear every word of it on our room.

So, an amazing old building, in a great central location, but in need of serious work in every area that would make it a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited for a meal whilst in Gloucester for the weekend. Restaurant had a maximum of 12 guests when we called in. Several items not available on the menu, (including rice - at 8pm on a Saturday evening?), so not a great start. Food (which was "okay") took almost 40 minutes to arrive, without one of the side dishes ordered - reminded staff but still never arrived. Didn't bother to stay for dessert. Duty Manager apologetic - agreed to remove cost of drinks from bill after my complaining - advising that the service wasn't normally of the standard experienced. I won't be returning to see if this is the case....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have used this hotel many times before when we are visiting for rugby. We know it is quirky and not 4 star and and you get what you pay for. It is however full of character - 14th century coaching house with a central courtyard and bar on one side, restaurant on the other, and bedrooms upstairs above (and apparently a ghost, but we didn't see it!)

As hotel is now under new management rang the night before to see whether we could still check in early prior to kick off, we were told this was not a problem as long as we got there before 12.00.

Nothing on website to say the car park where you get reduced rates had changed so we turned up at the old one only to have move to another one. You only pay £3.50 for an overnight stay at the Bruton Way car park (the hotel give you a money-off ticket on checkout) which is great value for a city centre car park/hotel.

Upon check in the receptionist was not aware of our early check in request but luckily the person I spoke to confirmed our arrangement and we were able to check in early. Left us lots of time to do some shopping in the quays, only a few minutes walk from hotel with lots of shops and places for lunch before heading off to the game.

Our room was clean and had all we needed for a nights stay, the only problem was the large extractor fan outside the window, this was switched off between 23.00 and 07.00 so didn't disturb our sleep. As mentioned in other reviews the karaoke on a Saturday night can be loud but does finish by 23.30 so unless you go to bed early shouldn't be a problem.

Unfortunately at breakfast was where we had the most issues, there was a problem with the hob so there was limited choice. What we did get served was scrambled eggs that were so rubberery we couldn't eat them and the beans were cold, bacon and sausages were just about edible. The staff did not really have a clue what was going on, even trying to get a pot of tea was an effort.

As we only paid £48 for the room inc brekkie it was ok but they really do not need to get a few of the little things sorted and this could be a little gem.

Saying that assuming we are still in the premiership next season we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We decided to stay at the New Inn because it was new in the 1460s. We were attracted to it by its history. The building was was very interesting, the uneven floors and all that added to the charm. The room was modern which was good, but the mattress was like a plank. The wifi was good as we were able to give Facetime tours to friends back home in the States. The breakfast was fine. The location in central Gloucester near shopping, the Cathedral and other historic sites is a big plus. We would stay there again despite the hard mattress.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KennethPaulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First thoughts were wow the coutyard and pub looked great, we were greeted by a member of staff who was polite and helpful (ish) we stayed in room 111 which was unclean and bathroom smelt like a sewer, the hairdryer did not work, no tv remote, underwear left in drawers and on opening the window to try and eliminate the smell we discovered a dead pigeon trapped in the netting outside, to be fair the underwear was removed and our digital box was swapped for one that had a remote to work it. On our first night after a walk around the down we went back to hotel for a meal my husband had chicken in mushroom sauce which was tasteless and i had fish peas and chips sadly i think the peas missed the hob and went from packet to plate and my fish missed the batter and was left in the fryer, on the plus side breakfast on the first morning was nice, second morning there was a tecnical fault and so no fried egg plus the lady serving was a little put out that we wanted toast with our breakfast apparently this is something you order seperate so doesnt come with your cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have rated this hotel as average simply because the cost of the stay was cheap (£59) and have rated it accordingly. However, our experience was not good. On arrival we were shown to the wrong room which was small, dirty and unprepared. We had booked a deluxe room. We were then told that the room was about to have the carpet cleaned by the contractor who had come to do the work. The reception said they would find us an alternative room and after 30 minutes we were shown to the Lady Jane Grey Suite which is basically a larger than average bedroom, but acceptable for the price. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and needed replacing. The rooms are on the first and second floors above the pub and its courtyard so if you are looking for a quiet early night you won’t get one (karaoke on Saturday nights). Breakfast was unappetising with no choice apart from cereal or full English. Overall the hotel is shabby and in need of some investment. This is a same as it is in a central location and has lots of character.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrythedog_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
200 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Property: The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing