We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First thoughts were wow the coutyard and pub looked great, we were greeted by a member of staff who was polite and helpful (ish) we stayed in room 111 which was unclean and bathroom smelt like a sewer, the hairdryer did not work, no tv remote, underwear left in drawers and on opening the window to try and eliminate the smell we discovered a dead pigeon trapped in the netting outside, to be fair the underwear was removed and our digital box was swapped for one that had a remote to work it. On our first night after a walk around the down we went back to hotel for a meal my husband had chicken in mushroom sauce which was tasteless and i had fish peas and chips sadly i think the peas missed the hob and went from packet to plate and my fish missed the batter and was left in the fryer, on the plus side breakfast on the first morning was nice, second morning there was a tecnical fault and so no fried egg plus the lady serving was a little put out that we wanted toast with our breakfast apparently this is something you order seperate so doesnt come with your cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 654 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have rated this hotel as average simply because the cost of the stay was cheap (£59) and have rated it accordingly. However, our experience was not good. On arrival we were shown to the wrong room which was small, dirty and unprepared. We had booked a deluxe room. We were then told that the room was about to have the carpet cleaned by the contractor who had come to do the work. The reception said they would find us an alternative room and after 30 minutes we were shown to the Lady Jane Grey Suite which is basically a larger than average bedroom, but acceptable for the price. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and needed replacing. The rooms are on the first and second floors above the pub and its courtyard so if you are looking for a quiet early night you won’t get one (karaoke on Saturday nights). Breakfast was unappetising with no choice apart from cereal or full English. Overall the hotel is shabby and in need of some investment. This is a same as it is in a central location and has lots of character.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrythedog_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Brill hotel, breakfast lovely warm and tasty. Friendly staff.Rooms comfy and warm .Cant believe the moaners leaving their reviews. If you want 4&5 star accomadation then pay the prices for these hotels. we paid 44pounds for a double room with breakfast. what a bargain. Dont listen to the moaners of this world. TRY IT WHAT A QUIRKY HOTEL.

Room Tip: Room 208 was warm & comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 31happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

stayed over new year room 102 not a very nice room very tatty and worn old tv ceiling sprung a leak 1st morning were moved to room 217 a much nicer room lots of character and better furnishings than previous room just a shame no chairs. breakfast mediocre.did not try main meals.pub was ok but please lose the karaoke its not good there must be lots of local entertainers to perform at the same cost. staff were ok all but a little young and inexperienced they try but a bit more experienced and maturer management on site would help.building lovely very quirky and is bound to have a few problems.parking not a problem it is town centre after all. as a hotel not sure it quite cuts it, bit more like a pub with b&b.not sure i would return as we were a little dissapointed with gloucester itself seems to be just one huge shopping centre and with that has lost all its character as have most towns i guess.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

recently stayed here 2 couples rooms we had were the oak suite & lady jane suite both were very nice and cosy only down side to me was the breakfast could have been better and served much quicker also the carvery was not very good, staff were great and helpfull would i stay here again maybe but would choose to eat elswhere

Room Tip: oak suite & lady jane both 4 poster rooms with b/rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were allocated a room above the bar and there was a karaoke until midnight which sounded like it was in the bedroom. They would not change the room as the hotel was full.The food was below average but the staff were pleasant enough. We did not use the bar as rugby was on but went to a lovely pub called the Fountain Inn nearby

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Just a short and sweet review. Fantastic old building whichever an ideal location. Did not try the menu but sampled the beers. Great service, room was more than ok. As a single occupant I would come here again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catandharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
662 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
879 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $64 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 12am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing