We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Break in Gloucester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Old 15th century inn very quirky ,Good spacious Bedroom a little noisy overlooking main street .
Breakfast very good ,Restraunt closed on evening due to no Chef . Parking is in nearby shopping centre at discounted rate bit of a walk with heavy luggage though .
Recommend local Cafe Renee food very good and reasonable prices . Good for shopping in Gloucester and recommend Docks not much in way of Night Life .

Room Tip: Order a room away from main street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 654 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. First of all, we entered through the pretty little courtyard.It feels as though you are transported back into the tudor times. The decor is old and quirky and is truly a historical marvel. You can almost imagine what it was like all those years a go. They say William Shakespeare performed there: it truly is a little gem! We were greeted by a helpful lady and we checked in with ease! Breakfast was really nice and the price you pay is worth it. I think it is very cheap compared to other places and good value for money! On the way to our room, we walked through narrow corridors with low ceilings and beams, doors are different shapes and sizes! If you love history and a bit of character, you can't go wrong! Yes, the rooms are old and could do with a re vamp at some point in the future. The lights are a bit dusty and could do with a good clean but it was clean and that is all that matters!!! Gloucester as a city hmmmmmmmm, I wasn't that impressed! The cathedral is stunning though and well worth a visit! Thank you New Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterfalls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night on a tour of the South/ South West in August 2012. It was very nice and a memorable stay. The buildings and courtyard are very attractive and picturesque, it's generally clean and comfortable. The room was nothing special, but recently decorated and clean. It was a bit noisy but they had a band in the pub on a Friday night, and the seagulls are a menace as usual, however I don't think you mark-down a popular town-centre pub for a bit of noise at the weekend. The room was rather warm though, a fan would've been appreciated. The hotel, restaurant and bar staff were very friendly, and they let us store our classic Vespa in the lock-up, so that was good of them.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LisaPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Loads of character food ok recently been taken over and new landlord / landlady very friendly. Did not see any of the beer moving on the tables (see video on you tube)lol but enjoyed the atmosphere in the old court yard would stay there again if in Gloucester

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I recently visited the New Inn after my mate recommended the place, i booked up and then went on to TA, the reviews were awful and i thought i was going to regret the booking, FAR FROM IT.

We were greeted by a very pleasant young receptionist and was dealt with very efficiently, i made her aware that i had reviewed the place on TA and she informed me that things had changed under the recently appointed new management.

The room we had (115) was very clean and tidy and a pleasure to stay in, we were provided with clean sheets daily along with fresh towels, everything in the room was in working order, VERY PLEASED.

The New Inn website did state that there where a selection of 12 real ales, it turned out that only 3 were available, however, they were all very well kept and maybe the new management dicided to have fewer brews at a better quality (who knows) DECENT BEER

Breakfast was served daily between 7am and 9am and was EXCELENT, it came out piping hot and was plentiful and we waited no more than 5/10 minutes on each occasion, VERY GOOD

The only downside to our short stay was the noise from the seagulls, they certainly let you know that they are around, however, it don’t think it matters where you stay in Gloucester, you will get it at any hotel, the other small gripe was the car parking, we left our car for 3 days and was only charged £2.50 which was brilliant, you need to keep your ticket and get it bar coded at the hotel, however, we found it very difficult to find the hotel from the car park and also they way back, even though it was only a 2/3 minute walk , a suggestion to the hotel management would be to put a route map on the website in order to make it easier for guests to find, only a minor gripe though.

I would recommend this place as it can only continue to improve under this new manage team, i am led to believe that there is going to be some major improvements in the very near future, so things are on the up.

I would recommend that you visit the UNION pub, (out of hotel, turn left, first right, 100 mteres on the left) food was good, beers were good, landlords made us feel very welcome.

I would not recommend both Wetherspoon’s and the Varsity, all were full of very colourful characters with very colourful language, i run a pub myself but none of the mentioned would welcome in the slightest.

Overall, would definitely return to the NEW INN !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very old charming Coach Inn with crooked floors and ancient courtyard with a view. Our room faced the street and was at times noisy with Friday and Saturday night revellers, plus the ceaseless squaking of seagulls. Food was good, especially the fish and chips and bangers and mash. Breakfast was good but they need to serve real coffee and not instant. Charming nostalgic courtyard. Rooms were clean, tidy but the bathroom had only one plastic cup which they didn't replace for the week and the bathrrom was in need of a thorough cleaning-we stayed a week and it wasn't done completely while we were there. The hosts were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Definitely worth what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the seagulls are the least annoying. If you want a tub you need to ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForestMotelStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for one night on my way to join friends for a cycling holiday. Wanted to stay in Cheltenham but couldn't find any sensibly priced accommodation so went for nearby Gloucester. Reasonably priced in an ancient inn in city centre. Room was large and clean, no view though. Receptionist let me put my bike in an ante-room from the kitchen, better than in being in the courtyard. Breakfast was quite acceptable.

The place was full of character as a galleried inn but decor etc was very tired indeed (bedroom was OK though). Pub was in the Good Beer Guide and it read well from its description but in reality it was a noisy city centre place with limited choice of beer. However it was Saturday night and one of the karaoke singers was excellent ! Despite Gloucester being some way from the sea, it seems to be plagued with seagulls. Once the karaoke had finished the seagulls seemed to take over with very little gap !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
662 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
878 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 12am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing