We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oakwood restaurant - great service great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oakwood restaurant - great service great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Oakwood for a family meal with my 3yr old twins, boyfriend sister nephew and mum. We had a table in a booth so had some privacy and felt like the kids wouldn't annoy others quite so much! Great choice of food and very nice food, good kids menu too and great value for money.
Icing on the cake was Jackie our waitress, very helpful without being annoying! Wish they were all like her. Will definlately be going there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, General Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal at The Oakwood Table Table and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Robin Stewardson
General Manager
The Oakwood Table Table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    154
    96
    28
    16
See reviews for
130
173
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights last week. Hotel room first class and a very comfy bed. The restaurant, apart from the breakfast, was appalling. If you intend to eat here in the evening be prepared for the staff to ignore you and wait ages to get your poorly cooked food. I had to ask many times to order each course, at no time did the waiting staff actually ask if I wished to order. The worst was the desert order, I requested it 4 times, twice to the manager, it eventually arrived after 45 minutes. No follow up service for coffee. There were plenty of staff and very few customers so it was not busy. The quality of the food was OK but not very well cooked.The breakfast service was totally different, only one member of staff, the service was outstanding and the food spot on. I felt as though I was in a different hotel restaurant to the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our family stopped at the oakwood restaurant yesterday for a meal after a long and rare family day out, it was the first time we had sat down to eat all day.

After checking they were serving food as it was virtually empty inside we sat down and ordered drinks and foods.

The drinks arrived with no Ice or lemon in the cokes which I thought was poor for a chain bar/ restaurant.

After ordering out food including 2 children's meals we sat waiting for quite a while considering how empty the place was.

Now the the worst bit 3 of our meals were burgers with fries, the burgers were ok and hot enough but the fries were nearly cold :-(. The children's meals were pizzas with chips and peas, again the pizzas were burnt round the edges in a very hard base and barely warm, chips also just about warm enough to eat for a child, and finally the peas looked a bit sad and shrivelled by the time the food was on our table. We also had to ask for extras to be bought over like ketchup, again poor service that we had to ask instead of it being offered when food arrived.

So all in all the food was disappointing, but the most disappointing thing was the staff when these issues were raised with them, the waitress claimed it hadn't been waiting long and it was all freshly cooked! I raised the point that this is very poor as we were the only people eating and she turned to me and said we do have people in the bar area too! Unbelieveable!

However they did bring fresh chips out which were a totally different temperature and edible, proving to us that the original chips were not freshly done, and they did a children's burger in return for the pizza which again was hot and edible.

All in all, a disappointing waste of money, below average food, poor service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night and had a very comfortable time. Stayed in room 10, very nice and shower was Ab Fab. 3rd stay at this hotel and will continue to use it when in the area.
Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinkgerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night and - as we have found in other Premier Inns - the room, bed and bathroom were clean and in good condition, the bed comfortable. At the rates charged, we do not expect luxury - cleanliness and comfort are very acceptable. 2 teabags, 2 coffee sachets and some milk, hand wash and showergel provided - all basic requirements covered. We could hear people walking across the floor above but we were not disturbed.
We ate in the restaurant that evening for convenience and the food was fine for this sort of restaurant (as was breakfast next morning), the staff friendly and attentive. If you are simply looking for a bed for the night, this is a very good option. Happy to stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Reception Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having stayed the previous night in the Gloucester Longford Hotel, this Premier Inn at Twigworth has all the facilities you need for a nights stay but was let down by a few things. Like a previous reviewer the floor in the room was squeeky and the walls seemed paper thin, especially compared to the Longford Hotel. Wi-fi signal was patchy for the free use and if you were a business user the lack of plug sockets and the positioning of them would be a let down. All the 3 rooms our family stayed in had the same problem with sockets and noise problems. Other than these small things the rooms were in a very clean, very tidy and very comfy beds. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Reception Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. I am sorry to read that your stay was marred by noise from the floorboards and walls but I do hope this has not put you off staying with Premier Inn in the future.

Kind regards

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Middx
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding and booked it as it was cheaper than Haveley Manor Hotel where the Reception was being held. It had ggod and bad points. The room was very clean and big but I did not want a double bed and a tiny single sofa bed in the corner, I wanted a twin room and there was only one available which had already been booked. Also not keen on the smell in the room or along the corrider bit sickly and overpowering but maybe thats just me being fussy! Breakfast was lovely and very good value for the money. The breakfast was the best part about our stay and we enjoyed both mornings offerings. The bathroom was clean but the bath was tiny and you could not lay down it so it was easier to have a shower.

Room Tip: choose a room not overlooking the main road as could be a bit noisy. Our room overlooked the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Reception Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the bed set up and I hope that this has not put you off staying with Premier Inn again.
Kind regards,

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
Address: The Oakwood Tewkesbury Road | Twigworth, Gloucester GL2 9PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quaint village of Twigworth, near Hartpury College and the Nature in Art museum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester North Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing