We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheatstone Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good food, excellent service and friendly and helpful staff. Alongside the Premier Inn it's a bonus. The breakfast menu was very much up to the standard of many Premier Inn's but the evening meal menu was surprisingly varied and used many locally sourced ingredients.




  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are thrilled to receive such positive feedback and that we live up to the standard of Premier Inn you have come to expect. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 624 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

The best night's sleep we've had in ages! A wonderfully comfortable bed in a generously spacious room. No noticeable traffic noise although the dual carriageway was visible from our room. Polite, welcoming and helpful staff. The adjacent Chef and Brewer provided a wholesome and reasonably priced meal with large portions.
Overall great value and highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AlanD411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are delighted with the review you have shared. Its always helpful to receive feedback and excellent when it is so positive. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn Barnwood for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was massive and plenty of room. The breakfast was really good. The only small criticism was that my husband and I found the bed really hard. Would use again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback. We strive to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay and we are pleased to hear you did. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I booked a four night break here wanting an ideal base for touring the Cotswolds, Wye Valley, Stratford-upon-Avon etc. Being regular Premier Inn users this hotel was perhaps not quite as modern as some we've stayed at, but location is good, easy drive into Gloucester, an interesting City. The Chef and Brewer attached purveys very good food albeit a somewhat limited menu variety compared with their Beefeater chain. There is however a Toby Carvery on the Ross road about four miles away. Only little niggle was that there were only two plug sockets in the room, one occupied by the TV, the other by the kettle, so a little sharing needed when 'phones/I-pad needed charging. Staff, as we've always found, very helpful. Brian..Bexleyheath.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibstar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do have extension leads available from reception if you find that more plug sockets are needed. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit to the Cotswolds.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having stayed in many Premier Inns, this was definitely one of the best. We had a queen sized bed which was wonderful and the choice of pillows was excellent. The Restaurant next door was extremely good.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Clean rooms, good value breakfast (tho who ever put a table for two in the arch between the hot food and the continental breakfast needs to think again)

Excellent value for money

Location is odd - on the by-pass and on a failed business park, but it is easy to get to & from - not much of a view

Some of the paintwork could do with updating in places

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear we lived up to your expectations of Premier Inn as we are committed to making every guests stay brilliant.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had pubes in the wall and floor of bathroom. The waitress was indifferent and the breakfast was cooked along time before it was served, You could use the eggs as Frisbee's! The breakfast was kept hot on 90's serving plates and the use of naked flames in this day and age is shocking. I will never use premier again and have informed the MOD booking agency to remove them asap!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you can see from our previous reviews this is definitely not the usual standard we operate to, we take the standard of cleanliness in our hotels extremely seriously. Please be assured the issues raised will be fully investigated and the appropriate action will be taken. We do hope you reconsider your decision and give us another opportunity demonstrate our usual high standards. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,192 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $60 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing