We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault the hotel...breakfast could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for Gloucester, just a short car journey away. The hotel is in a fairly quiet setting although there is a noisy main road so if you are on that side i would imagine it could be noisy. We were on the side and although you could hear the road a tiny bit it didn't disturb us.
The hotel staff were very friendly, couldn't have helped more. On arrival the hotel reception and corridors were very hot as it was a warm day but we were pleasantly surprised to find the room had air conditioning and was wonderfully cool.
We had a family room, it was large and airy and clean and had everything we needed(although my son complained the TV was too small)
Our only complaint was breakfast. In our opinion it should start earlier than 8am. We wanted to get set off early but had to wait til 9am. Also the breakfast area in the pub next door is too small. There are plenty of seats but the area where the food is is all squashed together and as soon as there is more than a few people in there it is just unpleasant. If we stayed again we would probably not stay for breakfast.
A lovely stay though and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirecath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a good stay with us and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 627 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here with my two young children and my niece for the Royal International air tattoo. The room, as always was great and could not fault it. Would just like to say how amazing one particular staff member was and she went out of her way to ensure our stay was a great one. Have always used premier inns and especially in this area for the airshow. This is definitely one of the better ones.( even though they are all great )
The breakfast was lovely and there are plenty of other places to eat within a few minutes drive if you fancy a change. Will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kass A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the good review you have given us, I am really glad to see you would visit again and hopefully for the Air show next year!
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

does what it says on the tin, inexpensve clean and modern hotel accomodation at a sensible price. Modern room and pub style food next door so it had everything we needed for a cheap overnight stay at an excellent price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the review, I hope we will see you again.
Your comments really do mean a lot to us all.
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This reviewer has been staying at hotels in Cheltenham, Gloucester and the Cotswolds for business and pleasure for forty years. Many good, mediocre and bad hotels have been swept aside by the budget chains, and no wonder. The good ones that remain have moved so far up-market that one wonders who can afford to stay there. This is probably the best Premier Inn of the lot (no, they are not all the same) with standards of welcome, presentation and cleanliness that I have not seen at twice the price. OK, this is a modern purpose built hotel on a trading estate rather than a creaking country house with log fires and dodgy plumbing, but it sets a new standard for the way we live (and spend) now. I have already booked my next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the review of our hotel, it was great to see you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

When compared to other well known budget hotels Premier Inn seem to have it sorted. Friendly welcome...clean bathroom...comfortable bed...decent price. Nothing more to say really. Didn't use the the nearby pub/restaurant as seemed a bit pricey...but that was our choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raycblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the positive comments you have made about our hotel, we really enjoy reading what our guests like. I hope we can welcome you back to Gloucester soon.
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Premier Inn is conveniently located for exploring the Cotswolds and Gloucestershire. The staff were all very friendly and gave us lots of good tips regarding places to visit with our children locally. The facilities were the standard which you find at all Premier Inns.

The Chef and Brewer pub attached offered good value food and an interesting lunch/dinner time menu.

There is also a Virgin Active gym/swimming pool next door which Premier Inn guests can use (as we did with our two children) and get a 50% discount.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the great review, it makes us really happy to recieve such nice comments.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here as a family to visit Gloucester and surrounds. Typical Premier Inn rooms with very comfortable beds, very efficient air conditioning and quiet despite being next to a busy dual carriageway. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent pub next door for dinner/breakfast. Great value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Weyward62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Wow thank you so much for a brilliant review, it really makes a diiference to the staff when get such a good review. I hope we will see you again.
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,198 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $65 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing