We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on 14 Sept 2012 and it was one of the worst nights in a Premier inn ever. The traffic on the main road which runs past the hotel is 24 hour and sounds like a racetrack. There was a fan/cooler in the room but this was as noisy as the traffic. The hotel itself was ok, the attached pub/restaurant was ok. The staff were friendly, but there was no escaping the traffic noise, and there was no mention of this in the hotel description. There are plenty of other hotels in the area so easy to avoid this one. I have emailed customer services at Premier inn but have not received a reply. Obviously they treat customer complaints as a low priority.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you avoid this hotel unless you are a very heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spookggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    213
    60
    16
    15
See reviews for
179
194
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Driving from Scotland to Cornwall this was a most welcome stop. Greeted by a very welcoming receptionist, the room was large,the bed was huge and very comfortable,the bathroom was clean and in very good condition. The adjoining restaurant was packed as it was a Friday evening and although the staff were clearly stretched they made us welcome and the food was good.
All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CjMFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very good price at £29 for room. Excellent quality but room rather warm. Helpful staff. Breakfast ok but a bit expensive for the limited choices of cold food. Hot breakfast fine. Location of hotel could be better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgyhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay in Gloucester. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed there in September, the room was very warm but had a fan installed so it was no problem. The hotel was on the route that we were taking so it did not interrupt our journey at all. The staff were very helpful, and above all the bed was very comfy. The restaurant was good but most meals seemed to be 'chip' orientated. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask a member of staff if the room is likely to be warmer than average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a good one.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good, Large, Modern and Clean Rooms. Friendly Staff, Greta Online booking, good parking. Only drawback is the Room Needs Good Quality TV as the Tv was Very old and the picture was of bad quality.This Premier Inn is up to the usual standard for this chain - which with few exceptions is reliably good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Gloucester Barnwood. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated.
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Overall the hotel was great, the room was fantastic - clean, modern, comfortable and the staff were brilliant and were able to offer me a phone charger, which as trivial as it may sound, was an absolute life saver!!

A word of warning though... AVOID ROOM 1....If you want a good nights sleep!

Being directly next to the main corridor entrance, you are constantly aware that other guests are leaving the corridor with a thunderous shudder of your door. I didn't really want to be woken up at 6am (on a Sunday) having traveled the length of the country the previous day.

Room Tip: If you book online, make sure you contact the hotel directly to request a 'Quiet Room.' You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulytbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent experience with us. I apologise for the noise disturbance caused to you during the early hours of Sunday morning.
We hope this does not deter you from choosing Premier Inn again.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This Premier Inn is up to the usual standard for this chain - which with few exceptions is reliably good. Special thanks is due to the member of staff who came out in his car to guide us to the hotel when we managed to get lost in the suburbs of Gloucester. The adjoining Wheatstone Inn was a bit of a disappointment for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, General Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,114 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing