We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real Bargain”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were in Gloucester on Boxing Day to watch a rugby game - Gloucester /Wasps. Unfortunately Wasps lost but we were given a warm welcome at the Premier Inn in Gloucester.
We have never used Premier Inn before as sometimes economy hotels do not have a particularly good reputation. However we would no reservations about recommending a stay here.
The room was very clean and the bed was large and very comfortable. A real bargain at £29 for the night!
We ate our evening meal and breakfast in the pub next door and were served by very charming waitresses. The food was a reasonable standard and we enjoyed our meals.
If we come to Gloucester again we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    210
    59
    14
    14
See reviews for
176
191
21
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We were in Gloucester for a family gathering and chose this hotel for it's proximity. We were really surprised to see how good the room was for what we had paid. The staff was very friendly, even when we arrived late at night. The room was big and clean. The bed was fantastic: queen-sized (bigger than the king-size we have at home) and very comfortable. This was a big bonus for us as we always rate hotels for their beds. The bathroom was clean and the shower very powerful; another bonus. Very good car park too. We would recommend anyone to use this hotel for several nights, even for a holiday. Extremely good value for money! Really didn't feel like a bubget hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is not on the dual carriageway side as the constant noise of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my partner while visiting family on the 16th December. One would expect a week before christmas some level of chaos in a busy hotel, however this was not the case. We were checked in by a very friendly and efficient gentleman working on reception (phil). Nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel was quiet and organised, there was no noise from corridors or other rooms (and a week before christmas). Communication between the hotel and the brewers fayre restaurant meant that breakfast was organised without incident, and was suberb. The one thing I thought let the hotel down was housekeeping- crashing in and out of the lift with an old shopping trolley full of mugs/glasses.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here for one night while on a business trip in October having had not such a great time at another Premier Inn in the Gloucester area previously.

Check is was fine and the room was the usual Premier Inn style but was spotlessly clean and well made up. The hotel is easy to find near to the M5 and there is a supermarket if needed within easy walking distance.

The hotel has an adjoining pub that provides breakfast for guests with that option and evening and lunch meals are also available. The pub was extremely busy on the night we visited so reservations would be recommended (I was not offered this on check-in which most Premier Inns do). However we found a table and were served albeit not as quick as we would have liked.

Food was of reasonable quality you would have expected from a pub.

All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: There is a busy dual carriageway on one side so recommend the car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sufflad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Jane Gilbert
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton. England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights last week and used the Hotel as a base for our first visit to the Cotswold's.

Room (118) could not be faulted. Huge comfortable king-size bed and still plenty of space. Spotless bathroom with powerful shower and lashings of hot water. Triple glazing kept the nearby road noise to a minimum so we slept well. All staff very friendly and helpful. Only one minor quibble - given the size of the room why only one armchair? Plenty of space for a second.

As we were out all day we ate in the Wheatstone pub next door each night. Again could not be faulted. Though busy each evening we were quickly slotted in by very friendly and attentive staff. Menu was excellent and each meal we had was well cooked and presented. Compared to Brighton where we live prices were very cheap as well.

All in all a great experience and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Jane Gilbert
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stopped for a couple of nights and enjoyed the breakfast that the location of the hotel. The reception team looked after us well and were happy to provide extra teas and coffees.
The rooms are a good family size - especially if you have todders!
We enjoyed our time in Gloucester and had a great meal in the resturant next door. only quibble would be that the breakfast was a bit rushed - we got there with plenty of time and our order was taken for the cooked breakie. This arrived before we had time to finish our cereals - good quality though!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kliddy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, General Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
Thank you so much for your review and kind words we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Jane Gilbert
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had the great pleasure of staying here last Friday night!!! From arrival to departure we could have not had a better stay ...anywhere. The reception team were ultra efficient and our room was very comfortable and quiet and clean.
We dined at the pub next door which was excellent and once again very obviously managed to the highest of standards.
It was our first visit here...but we shall return.
Congratulations to The Management and Staff..who know how to run an establishment!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, General Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Jane Gilbert
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,102 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing