We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day out!”
Review of Prinknash Abbey

Prinknash Abbey
Ranked #24 of 72 things to do in Gloucester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prinknash Abbey is a monastic community of men, who live in the spirit of the Rule of Saint Benedict, in the heart of the Cotswolds.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good day out!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Pleasant day out, a glorious place to wander around. A lovely bit of local history, which should be seen by more people

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wretzs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“What has happened to Prinknash Abbey?”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I visited with my grandchildren in September. It has been a few years since I was last at the monastery and I was shocked by the state of the grounds, broken windows in the monastery and no access to the chapel which was always such a wonderful experience to visit.
I have read that the monks returned to the old monastery some 5 years ago but the neglect of the building completed in the 70's was quite painful to behold and we were left wondering what has happened and what will happen to it.

The dejected appearance of the monastery combined with the very sad run down appearance of the bird & deer park was a truly depressing experience overall and is not currently a place that many people will get much pleasure from visiting. I feel so sad when I recall the place when it was a thriving enterprise with the pottery, trout lake and the chapel with its glorious modern coloured glass window was a place that welcomed you and gave you somewhere to find stillness and peace even for a few minutes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BruceGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Heavenly afternoon”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We are staying in this area and wanted a short trip out for the afternoon and to see if this was a grandchild friendly place. It was and although we have yeat to explore the bird and animal park we were enchanted by the rest of it. The tea shop is air conditioned and the menu reasonable and varied . There are some really lovely ice creams and outside tables and parasols for child friendly plces to eat them. Then on the day we went, the Monastery garden was open, which is admitedly a work in motion but enchanting and will soon be really wonderful. The walk up to the Monastery is so well worth while and to turn the corner and to see is in all its rural beauty is incredible. Access to the Monastery is not allowed but there is a grotto and a chapel and the view well go and see your self.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Baroness001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delightful grounds, beautiful abbey buildings and tasty ice-cream”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited Prinknash Abbey last Sunday and had a wonderful time. The car park is near the new abbey (built in the 1970s), which is the current home for the monks. A short walk will take you to the café, gift shop and picnic area. A longer walk will take you along a pleasant lane where you are surrounded by fields and cows.

The old abbey (now called St Peter's Grange) is a conference centre and hospitality suite for the monastic order. There is a delightful chapel there with some excellent illustrations of the stations of the cross. Most of the grounds are out of bounds here, but look brilliant from the path.

Up a short hill is a lovely grotto and further again is a small graveyard where monks and people affiliated to the abbey are buried.

Overall there is not much there, but that is why it is so lovely. Take a picnic, enjoy an amble and the spectacular views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Taste of the past”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The abbey has a completely different ambience to other abbeys I have visited, the atmosphere felt tangible. I loved it

Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinknash Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Prinknash Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing