We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nepalese treat”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Hart Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Gloucester, Uk
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nepalese treat”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visited on a busy Saturday night and loved the lively atmosphere - probably helped that Gloucester were at home! Found staff very helpful and menu interesting without being too extensive. Food was very tasty, although 'medium' rating was too mild for my palate; I'll try 'hot' next time. One amusing moment: asked waitress what red wine by the glass was available and she replied" Something beginning with 'm' " (merlot of course!). We'll definitely be back and I'm already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glawsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Authentic, tasty Nepalese food. Excellent service. Helpful and friendly staff. The Landlord provides a real warm welcome. Been here several times, just for a drink and for meals with friends and family and will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Takeaway also available - great idea for on way home from work
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie_Rudford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Gloucester locals are aware that this is a pub in great location, and a decent base, but until the present owners, Gurkhas took it over ...it has struggled...well how things have changed.!! The menu is great, ask for a sample if your not sure! Nothing is too much trouble and the king prawns are to die for ...really are BIG!....I am sure that under local ownership finally this pub will prosper...the only debate was if I should post this review..as it gets pretty popular!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent choice of food and drink, staff very polite and friendly, a good place to go for a meal with friends and family you won't be disappointed. It's a must go and a must go back. I have been many times and taken different friends to enjoy the Nepalese Food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RachandDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

food was excellent, staff very much on the ball although would like more than 4 minutes to take in the menu but all in all great service. Had one of the specials with Lamb, full of flavours, very nice and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alant1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
238 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have visited on 3 occassions and each time the experience gets better, food is fresh and you can explain your requirements and they cook it to your wishes.

The staff are so friendly and attentive, infact everything is great and it makes for a very enjoyable evening out. Try the chilli chicken and you wont be disapointed, also the Boombar washes it all down well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Welcoming and friendly. Food well presented and tasty. Staff attentive and helpful.I had a really enjoyable evening.The menu was varied enough to suit most pallets.I am sensitive to chilli but that presented no problem. The waiter said I could choose whatever I wanted and they could prepare it with no chilli! We visited for a take away when they first opened and found the food bland and not very filling. for our anniversary I thought it would be nice to try again! I am so glad we did. The place was buzzing with happy diners , the food was really good ,I am not sure how many locals were drinking at the bar,everyone blended in nicely! The White Hart is a place I will be going back to again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Animalfriendly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
2.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Wharf House
The Wharf House
#2 of 22 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Mulberry House
The Mulberry House
#1 of 22 in Gloucester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: The Rudge, Gloucester GL2 8HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing