We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A triumph.”
Review of The Severn Bore Inn - CLOSED

The Severn Bore Inn
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Severn Bore Inn... Mark and Chelsea warmly welcome you to their home. We run a PUB that does great food. We are not a Restaurant, or a "Gastro Pub" and if that is what you are looking for, then there are plenty that will cater this for you. What we do promise though is a great welcoming experience, and some yummy food! We source all our food as locally as possible with our meat coming from the Butchers next door! We have not long since taken over the pub, and we are still building the menu, and sorting out the Decor, but this aside, we hope you enjoy what we have to offer. If you are not happy with any part of your experience here, for whatever reason, please let us know straight away and we will do our best to put things right!Join us every Sunday for our carvery, but arrive early to avoid disappointment! It goes fast!We look forward to meeting you. Mark & Chelsea x
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The carvery was most excellent. Vegetables done to perfection. Generous servings of meat (which was also perfectly cooked). The deserts were superb too.

The atmosphere in the pub was busy and friendly without being loud.

Sadly I live quite far away otherwise this would become a regular eating venue. I will definitely return next time I am in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smbmsmbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxyFoxy, Owner at The Severn Bore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Smbmsmbm

Thank you for your kind comments on our Sunday Carvery. We source all of our meat from the Butchers next door, and all the meat was raised and grazed locally. I think this makes the difference in quality that everyone now expects from our carvery!

We are so glad that you had a good time, and look forward to welcoming you back if you should ever be passing again!

Take Care

Mark & Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 296 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Came here on boxing day with the family and what a great meal it was. My steak was perfectly cooked and the peppercorn sauce was to die for. Lovely homely feel about the pub and wonderful helpful hosts.

My sister made a comment about the ladies toilet being hard to find and that one of the toilets was in a rather larger room than your standard toilet would be. (She found it off putting) She also found that could of done with a bit of a clean. But I'm a male and couldn't investigate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wpmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxyFoxy, Owner at The Severn Bore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear wpmoore,

Thank you for your kind comments on our pub, and the Steak in particular . We source all of our meat from the Butchers next door, and all the meat was raised and grazed locally. The Peppercorn Sauce remains our secret recipe but we are delighted you enjoyed it!

Regarding the toilets, we are scheduled to have them re-plastered and re-decorated this year. We suffer from some damp in there at the moment and the paint does like to flake off, however it is still early days for us here, and we are steadily making progress refurbishing the pub!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Take Care

Mark & Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a keen severn bore surfer i have been coming into this pub for the past 10 years and have noticed a great improvement since the new landlords have taken over. Great choice of beer, fantastic food and a warm welcoming atmosphere inside. The new Landlords have given the place a spark of youthful enthusiasm and energy. Thank you for putting the flood lights on for the night time bores too it's nice to see where we're going!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxyFoxy, Manager at The Severn Bore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear CheltenhamDude

Thank you for your kind words.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here, and hope the Surfing was "up-to-scratch." Our floodlights will hopefully be upgraded this year to brighter LED ones in a bid to keep up with our Green pledge!

We hope to see you again for the next big waves!

Take care,

Mark & Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Best ham ever! Turkey unbelievably moist! Would love to live locally!! Very warm welcome. Excellent beer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MeandOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxyFoxy, Manager at The Severn Bore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi Johnandrhian
Thank you for your review and kind words!
We hope you had a lovely Christmas and New Year!
We're glad you liked our Carvery, it is becoming more and more popular every week, in some cases we have sold out in under an hour!! We hope next time your in the area we have the pleasure of your company again!

Mark and Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you ever go to watch the Severn Bore Tidal Surge you have to stop at the Severn Bore Inn.The food is amazing with a great selection of local ales. The Patrons Mark and Naomi are very friendly and helpful which makes the atmosphere unforgettable.

Next time you find yourself on the A38 I would highly recommend stopping here for either a refreshment or a full meal you won't regret it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sambackstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxyFoxy, Manager at The Severn Bore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi Sam
Thank you for your review and kind words!
We hope you had a lovely Christmas and New Year!
We're so pleased you have enjoyed your visit with us and our selection of ales was to your liking! we hope to see you again!!
(only I wouldn't take the A38 as We're on the A48! haha!)

Mark and Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Severn Bore Inn also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Cambridge, Gloucester
 
Churcham, Gloucester
Norton, Gloucester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing