We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Review Highlights
Great cathedral

Great cathedral right in the centre of Gloucester - the staff are pleasant and informative Guided... read more

Reviewed today
Ann L
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Majestic space, beautiful cloisters - take the tours!

Gloucester Cathedral offers at least 3 tours (costs range 7-13 GBP) and they are conducted by... read more

Reviewed yesterday
travelling_teena
,
San Francisco
Read all 3,190 reviews
  
Reviews (3,190)
Filter reviews
3,190 results
Traveler rating
2,479
616
75
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,479
616
75
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry potter whispering gallery stained glass edward ii crypt tour well worth a visit beautiful building lady chapel amazing architecture east window fan vaulting buried here steeped in history take photos coffee shop no charge lots of history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 3,190 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We had a lovely time. Cathedral had activities for kids and the volunteers are really informative. The cathedral is stunning!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances B, Public Relations Manager at Gloucester Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sara,

We have so many events on for children here as well that you might be interested, check out the 'Things to do' section of our website for details.

We hope to welcome you back to the cathedral very soon.

Best wishes

Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Lovely place to visit steeped in so much history great walk round the building is phenominAl will go again

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank JimW1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

First time inside the cathedral after 4 years of living in the city. Looking to acquire a bible for partners elderly father, and directed to the gift shop by a lady from WH Smiths.
Upon entering the cathedral courtyard which is impressive and tranquil this time of year a sign says entrance is free. Whoopee I thought!
Upon entering the entrance another sign now says £5 voluntary donation and inside the glass doors, 2 young girls have been placed with a glass donation box who are employed by the church and who make you feel guilty if you don't donate anything!!!
Don't get me wrong, I understand these historic buildings are expensive to maintain but please dont advertise a figure of £5 per adult. If it's a voluntary donation let the person decide what they can afford.
The gift shop did have what we required and subsequently purchased.
The people within who work there are very knowledgable of the cathedral and it is very much worth a visit.
There are numerous buildings surrounding the cathedral with history like beatrix potter house and taverns that are centuries old.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank t0rquilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances B, Manager at Gloucester Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You may not be aware, but the Cathedral receives no state funding and relies on donations and other forms of charitable giving to remain open. We do have a new front of house team of staff who are asking visitors for a donation on entry to the Cathedral. We have always asked for donations from our visitors but we are now doing this in a more formalised way. There is still no charge to enter the Cathedral and no one should be prevented from visiting or made to feel uncomfortable if they choose not to donate - it is entirely their decision.

£5 has been our suggested donation amount for many years now and despite this our average donation per visitor has been less than 50p. It costs £6000 per day just to keep the Cathedral open so we are now doing more to give our visitors the opportunity to donate so that we can keep the building open for everyone to enjoy for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

Very interesting building to visit to admire the architecture. Well worth spending an hour just wandering around.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank spudDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

This is an absolutely beautiful building both inside and out. Fantastic gargoyles!

Technically entry is by donation- but it's clear its encouraged that you pay the £5 suggested adult donation. However it is worth it!

Stunning architecture and stained glass windows. Loved the whispering gallery too!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank TJeinsteinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews