We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite”

Gloucester Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cathedral of the Cotswolds
Deutschland
2 reviews
“My Favourite”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Gloucester Cathedral is my favourite cathedral in England. I like the atmosphere, the services, the choir (both the singers and the location in the cathedral). The members of the chapter are really friendly and authentic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicolaR969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,815
    463
    53
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am not religious but this place has a calmness and serenity that makes you want to return. Amazing stained glass windows, cloisters very impressive and when you hear the choir sing, it can make your heart soar.

find myself returning to see what aspects I have not seen on earlier visits,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissBlanche36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
188 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Incredible architecture.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited this beautiful cathedral in Feb 2013 - very friendly staff, ready to impart their knowledge on this wonderful piece of history. The ceiling designs are incredible, as are the original stained glass - and the sun shining through the stained glass making prisms on the columns was quite magical. The organ, carvings etc are so interesting. Always feel amazed at how such high ceilings, rooves and columns were built hundreds of years ago, without modern equipment !!! For a fee, we were able to take our own photographs. Really enjoyed this visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain ash
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a delight”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

what a lovely place to visit, the lady at the door gave us a leaflet about the cathedral and told us what was going on in there and that at 4pm a visiting choir would b singing.
we were left to tour the cathedral on our own,but we could have joined a proper tour if we wanted, what a lovely place to look around, very intresting lots to see it took us about 45mins but we didn't read all the tombs.
there was a room with lady's in doing raffles, cakes, selling plants, lots of arty stuff for kids to do as well.
my only wish was that i went back and hear the choir, I can imaging it would have be spectaculiar

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“One of the great living monuments to the past”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed out trip to the cathedral, park on the centre of town and walked through the town to the well sign-posted cathedral. Met at the door by a lovely lady who told us to look out for the free guides wearing red sashes. We met Eric who gave us a fulsome guide of the final resting place of Edward II and the home of Hogwarts, Harry Potter.

If you get a chance to go, do not hesitate to see the architecture, the majesty and the scale of this place of worship and meditation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloucester Cathedral also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing