We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Gloucester Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cathedral of the Cotswolds
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The architecture is amazing and the history is very interesting. We have taken several friends to look around and they have all been impressed

Helpful?
Thank Rose-Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,815
    463
    53
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have been here many times over the years. Playes in concerts, attended services and concerts and other events. Just an amazing building. I never get tired of it. It's absolutely awesome.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kewlkatspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A pleasant visit to an ancient and holy place”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were greeted by a guide on entry who asked if we had visited before and offered us a free (paper) guide. This guide was presented in an easy to read format and explained the history of the building with key things to look out for. It was an interesting visit and the though and care that had gone into the greeting and guiding process was memorable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevengaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning building”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

(now that the scaffolding has come down!). I love taking out-of-town friends and family to the Cathedral just to walk around. It's so impressive, I could stare at the ceiling and huge glass windows for hours. Went to the art exhibition which was there a couple of years ago and also to the Christmas carol service just recently, both of which I enjoyed enormously. I like that it hasn't been modernised in many of the rooms and that the coffee and gift shops are tucked away discretely. Entrance is free however you are encouraged (not aggressively) to donate and I would ask that you do - it's a magnificent building and a beautiful place to just go to and reflect

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great building”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Gloucester cathedral is a truly inspiring building in its own right and then if you add the Harry Potter connection to it then it becomes unmissable

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloucester Cathedral also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing