We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump avoid at all costs anywhere would be better” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a dump avoid at all costs anywhere would be better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 18 a twin. Room was horrible damp wallpaper stained carpet and curtains, mouldy shower curtain and cubicle, stains on bedding pillows dirty. Owners were rude and unhelpful with bags and couldnt request a late check out. We were told on booking evening means were available but when asked the man on reception for a menu he said his wife was busy that night and told us there was a pub nearby
Very big stain on ceiling in corridor outside the rooms. NONE OF THE APPLIANCES IN THE ROOMS ARE ELECTRICALLY TESTED THIS IS DANGEROUS !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moodymadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    149
    52
    21
    7
See reviews for
48
160
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Since I have difficulty with walking and stairs, I looked for a place with a ground floor room. Edward Hotel's website stated that they did have a ground floor room and were wheelchair friendly. When I called to book, however, that room was already taken but I was told that there was a similar room only up 6 steps, so decided to book it. We arrived by train and the taxi took us in to the back entrance off of the car park. It was very easy to go up the shallow steps to our room. What I didn't realize was that in order to go out the front door each day required up and down other stairs and up and down the front steps as well. This meant my husband lugging the wheelchair up and down said stairs. Someone using a car and parked in the car park would not have this problem. It would have been impossibly difficult to go the long way around using the wheelchair.

Our room was quite a good size and had 2 comfortable chairs in addition to the big bed (terrible pillows). Because it was hot, we needed to keep the window open and this meant traffic noise. When we went into the bathroom we found we had about 25 sheets on the toilet roll, and the top sheet had been carefully folded into a point. There were no other toilet rolls provided. (My husband went downstairs and asked for extra toilet rolls) On the top of the toilet tank were placed 2 tissues. A few days later we were given 3 (count 'em, 3) tissues. A tiny bar of soap and a sachet of shampoo and shower gel each was provided. On the tea tray was a small packet of biscuits. Another packet was provided a couple days later. That person who described this hotel as an upmarket B&B must not get out much.

The best thing about our breakfast the first morning was the very cheery young woman who served us, but we never saw her again. Very basic breakfast was provided. On the menu it stated that fresh fruit could be ordered when available. This being the middle of July and peak fruit season, I asked our waitress what fruit I could have. She seemed surprised at the question but replied hesitantly that there was an apple. Later she came back and said that there was grapefruit, too. I ordered toast.

As we were getting around using the buses, the hotel was very convenient for us as there was a bus stop quite nearby.

I would only recommend the Edward if you are able-bodied and not too fussy about breakfast. There doesn't seem to be a lot of choice of accomodation in Gloucester.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other rooms, but others have mentioned that rooms at the back had no traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Overly helpful owners when talking about things to do in Gloucester but didn't bother to show our friends to their room.
Big breakfasts and comfy beds but at least a 20 min walk into town in a not very nice part of Gloucester.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Edward is several houses joined together and has a rabbit warren of passages linking the various floors and rooms. With friendly helpful staff it is effectively an upmarket B&B – I gathered evening meals were possible by arrangement, but there are a reasonable number of places to eat within 15 minutes walk.
Breakfast was typical B&B – cereals in plastic containers, jams etc in little plastic pots, orange juice from a carton. But there was a good choice of cooked / continental and it came quickly with good, real, coffee.
Our room on the top floor was on the road side and quite noisy as we had to leave the window open on a hot night. The bed was comfortable with spotless bed linen and towels and there was a kettle for tea. However the basin in the bathroom was cracked and there was peeling paint on the shelf – more upkeep needed. Free WiFi (though it didn’t work when we arrived and it didn’t restart until the following morning.)
The Edward is 15 minutes walk from the centre of Gloucester and has its own free car park where you can leave your car all day and to walk into the town. Quite expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: Rooms like number 27 are on the road side and there is some traffic all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a pre-paid one night stay and felt as if I wasn't worth the effort. After booking in I asked Mr. Bored And Grumpy at reception for a wake-up call the following morning and his answer was (quote) "Haven't you got a mobile phone?" I thought this was rather rude. He reluctantly promised me someone would knock in the morning. The room smelt really musty, but improved after a brief spurt of hair spray. None of the bed linen matched and the bed spread was marked. I agree with energy saving light bulbs, but they look terrible when poking out high above the shades. The only way I could eventually find to turn the television on and off was at the side of the set. Cheap sachet toiletries. Breakfast was OK (after two go's at getting what I'd ordered) but it was lucky I actually got there as my wake-up "someone will knock" never materialised in the end. Too many mistakes to overlook I'm afraid - time they went on a few hospitality refresher courses and invested a little more time, money and energy on their guests.

Room Tip: If you must stay, ask for a quieter room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and found the room very comfortable and had a good nights sleep. It was well placed being within walking distance to the town, and is unusual in that it is three terraced properties together so rather rabbit warren, but that makes it quite interesting. It was a little tired in places, and although the room was quite small, it had everything you needed and was quite adequate and pleasant. Breakfast was very nice too. Good parking as there was a car park at the back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeb1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre. It is on a main road and our room was at the front but we were not overly troubled by traffic noise. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfasts were good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for inexpensive accommodation within easy reach of Gloucester city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.7 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Property: The Edward Hotel
Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing