We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is very close to town, only a 5 minute walk. The décor is dated and could do with a spruce up but it was a pleasant place to stay. Good choice for breakfast and very tasty! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperBeanie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    155
    52
    21
    7
See reviews for
49
162
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed here for one night and found it to be a clean and a friendly hotel , was very busy so must be very popular place to stay a good breakfast too ! there is a car park at the rear but is very small and pls cut down that huge bramble bush hanging over in car park ty

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights here. We had a twin bedded room which was very pretty with a small bathroom and an extra washbasin in the bedroom. We asked for twin beds but they were rather short and my husbands feet hung over the end.
The hotel was warm and had a cosy feel and the breakfast was very good.
The only thing missing was a heated towel rail as my towel was still wet when I came to have a shower the next day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I needed a one night stopover in Gloucester and chose the Edward as it is close to the city centre. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful and gave us the benefit of his local knowledge to help us select a nice restaurant nearby.

The owners had very kindly moved us to a ground floor room as my wife was recovering from a broken ankle. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small with only a shower (which wasn't very good) but this is our only criticism.

The hotel has its own private car park at the back which is handy and the breakfast was first class. The hotel has a log fire, a nice bar and a very cosy seating area.

I managed to unknowingly cut my finger when I was getting the suitcase out of the boot of the car and got blood on the bedcover. I let the owners know straight away and they replaced the cover without any fuss or criticism. I offered to pay for the laundering but they wouldn't hear of it.

All in all it was a very pleasant stop over made even more so by the kindness and friendliness of the owners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Some people would do well to remember "you get what you pay for". For the money we paid this hotel was absolutely brilliant! The owners were lovely and very helpful with details of where to eat and visit. The room was lovely, clean and well equipped and the breakfast was beautiful. There was nothing else I could have asked for

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed one night and never again. Unwelcoming on arrival, narrow stairways to rooms. The room and bathroom badly need refurbishing!.It's like stepping back 30-40 with bad DIY if you can call it that. Thin walls and creaking floorboards from the room above...........sounded like mice running around above the ceiling.
Breakfast not bad and the only other reasonable aspect is the car park but the road leading to it is full of potholes.
A rather shabby hotel with poor ownership.......I would advise staying at the IBIS hotel with clean modern good sized room for less money......

One to miss!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else as the pictures are not what they seem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

.We stayed here for 1 night 23/3.We had a triple room which was at the top of the building in the roof.
Positives
Close to centre of gloucester
Room warm
Shower good.

Negatives
No heating in the bathroom
Bed squeaked every time you turned over. It woke you up.
Breakfast not very warm and very over cooked.

This hotel is in need of a refurb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Property: The Edward Hotel
Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing