We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home with all the comfort!”
Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home with all the comfort!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The edward hotel in Gloucester is amazing , the staff are so friendly , very efficient , for the first time i felt like it being a home from home, the rooms are so homely, it not like any other hotel where you sctually feel you are in a hotel, it has the feeling that you are in a friends house! The breakfast in the morning is top class , the rooms are so clean and comfortable , totally faultless, i will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brutrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    156
    53
    21
    7
See reviews for
50
162
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had initially booked this hotel based on ratings, value for money and its convenient location to Harpbury College. We stayed in a family room (Double room with interconnecting room with 2 single beds) on Fri 1 March 2013. We didn't arrive until approx 20.45 and when shown to our room it was extremely cold. We told the owner who put the heating on whilst we went for a meal in town.
Gloucester city centre is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and after going there for a drink we decided to go for a curry at a restaurant which is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, I think it's called Spice? (Unsure though) which was very good.
On our return to the hotel the room was warm and we all had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice.
Overall for the price we spent for 4 adults including breakfast, I think The Edward provided value for money and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was a ground floor family room which was very quiet. However no view as it faces a wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

What a horrible place pn arrival were told owners were away for weekend room was cold and damp. Told we couldn't have evening meal in hotel and would have to eat out. After accidently locking key in room asked to be let back in and the old man on reception moaned all the way to the room. Breakfast was cold over cooked and took a long time arriving. .onlu good part was that the room was very clean

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluecows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manosque, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at The Edward in December 2012 and enjoyed the visit thoroughly. Wonderful, warm atmosphere with friendly and helpful proprietors. We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we visit Gloucester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Kelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just had a three night stay at the Edward Hotel and was very pleased with the hotel. It is very convenient for the centre of Gloucester, approx 15 - 20 minute walk to the main shops, bars etc. We booked a superior room at the rear of the building after reading on other comments that the hotel is on a main road, the room was quite spacious with an en-suite shower room which was adequate for our stay. It was also very quiet with no traffic noise at all and the hotel was clean in all areas.
The hotel also has a car park , very useful in a city.The hosts were very friendly and attentive at all times. If we visit Gloucester again and are looking to stay, we will definately return to the Edward.

Room Tip: Maybe a superior room for the extra space, although not aware how large the standard rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiftyishwestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a nice place to stay, warm and cosy with a brilliant car park and within a short walk of the city centre Nothing is too much trouble plus excellent value for money.
I fail to understand how anybody can give a bad review of a hotel that is such a gem. Far exceeds any big chain hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask the management and they will help if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekS150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Comfortable if smallish bedroom, piddly little shower from bath taps! Wi-Fi in rooms. Breakfast well cooked with no brown under the fried eggs! But no fresh fruit. Toast still warm and firm when arrives at table which makes a change. 10 minute walk to cathedral and central shopping area, Off road parking, but park on street first to get bags in.

Bit of a rabit warren but fun signs on custom painted plates very helptful.

Proprietor very efficient but a bit dour - proprietess the opposite of dour (and efficient)!

Room Tip: Probably quietest at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Property: The Edward Hotel
Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing