We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly accommodation convenient for town center”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly accommodation convenient for town center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

A friendly atmosphere at this centrally located hotel that is convenient for local pubs, restaurants, hospital and surrounding offices/businesses. Private parking a bonus. Rooms are comfortable but en-suite would benefit from upgrading. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast is an overall very good start to the day, in terms of choice, content and service.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    155
    52
    21
    7
See reviews for
49
162
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visitors from Kernow!
Needing to visit Gloucester recently for a wedding at the Cathedral we booked into the Edward Hotel and stayed for 5 nights. It was ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cathedral, shops and all amenities. The hotel was very welcoming and friendly, the room clean and well presented and the breakfast excellent. Only disadvantage if you are slightly disabled are all the stairs but there are ground floor rooms available. Another bonus is the on site parking which is difficult to find in Gloucester. Will certainly stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rherindoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and i only booked 1 night here but it was v good value.Room was clean and tidy,Bed very comfortable,Ex. full breakfast,Staff very helpful.
We could not have a evening as none available out of season Pub 2 mins away very good meals.Another Plus parking on site at rear of hotel.10 mins level walk to shops Etc. Will book again when in the area.
Easy acess to Hotel from off the motorway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here two nights whilst my wife underwent surgery at the General Hospital, The Hotel is ideally situated less than a couple of minutes and virtually backs onto the hospital. That said ideally located for walking into the town along relatively level although busy road. Room very warm and cosy, adequately furnished and staff very helpful. All rooms have an 'Edward' name and the dining area encourages you to explore the picture theme around the room. Food very nice with help yourself and serviced tables.

Room Tip: Think of someone or something called 'Edward' for your choice of room.. Rooms to rear are aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastleBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My sister and I took our elderly wheelchair bound Mother to Gloucester, how lucky we were to have found the Edward hotel. The ground floor room was a boon, and we had a lovely visit. The room was clean and roomy, the sheets smelt lovely, the bed was comfy and the staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble. Car park was so convenient and the breakfast was scrummy. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynndlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were not expecting very much from this 2 star hotel but what a lovely surprise! The owners and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with large beds, armchairs, hospitality trays and television. The bathroom was more than adequate although the shower was a little on the small side. One major advantage that we have not found in bigger hotels is that there were grab rails in the bathroom - a boon to older clients or the less able. All rooms in the hotel were warm and cosy and the breakfast excellent. The layout of the hotel is a big higgledy piggledy but then it is an old house and it has character and charm. The big bonus to this hotel is that it in easy walking distance of the centre of Gloucester yet has a car park at the rear of the hotel. We enjoyed our few days here and will certainly be coming back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for a few days and sadly found the hotel very disappointing.Booked into a so called better room.
The bed was not comfortable with wafer thin pillows.Smell of damp was in the air, this seemed to come from the small mouldy shower attached to the room.The shower curtain and nets in the room looked like they needed a good clean and the furniture was thread bare.It really is a poor two star rating so do not expect anything else.On a busy road very noisy.Breakfast was hot but tasteless.With a winding maze of stairs bad signage and over crowded eating areas,I would not advise anyone I know to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Property: The Edward Hotel
Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing