We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately average service and a couple of minor gripes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here as we were attending an event in Gloucester. We booked in advance so got a really good room rate. The room was nice with a HUGE tv (by hotel room standards anyway). Overall the hotel is nice and my wife and daughter used the leisure club which they enjoyed.

I have a few gripes which are relatively minor but lowered my overall rating. First was that the air-conditioning in the room can't be set to cool when the hotel hasn't deemed it warm enough. This meant that the room was uncomfortably warm for us. In fairness we asked reception for an electric fan which they managed to supply but with so many budget hotels now having air-con that you can control all year round it feels wrong that a "proper" hotel like this shouldn't have that.

We wanted to ask for some different pillows (a standard service that Holiday Inn provide) but unfortunately, it took 5 phone calls before I could get reception to answer the phone. Then the pillows didn't arrive and we had to chase reception later - at which point the pillows arrived very promptly.

Finally, the broadband in the room was something like £15 for a night. Again, in a lot of budget hotels these days, this price has dropped to £3 for 24 hours so this felt very expensive.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel although I have eaten breakfast in this hotel before and it was really nice - lots of choice and courteous staff.

Overall - a good hotel but the issues let it down and lowered my enjoyment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earltubthumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear earltubthumper,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. however I appreciate that you have provided us with valuable feedback so that we may improve. Best wishes for future travels.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 764 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

Have just returned from a coach trip with Highcliffe Coaches to the Cotswolds, staying at the above hotel.
We cannot praise it enough.
The rooms were spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The staff very polite and friendly and our dinner and breakfast was excellent. Would return anytime.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junedomNewForest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such excellent feedback!

I am really pleased you identified some great points and I have passed all your comments onto the relevant departments to make sure they keep up the good work!

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave such excellent feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Gloucester-Cheltenham in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I booked into this hotel an hour before our arrival at 22.00 hrs on Saturday 17th March, I was very impressed with the professionalism of the staff and the very swift check in. We ate in the bar from the bar menu and the food was of a high standard, I did find my glass of wine expensive but we are in England and nothing is cheap. Our room was very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom albeit with a limited selection of toiletries but enough for a one night stay, we could have requested other items from reception at an additional cost, I believe. This was an emergency visit so we had not equipped ourselves very well. As for the breakfast our was included in the room price but we had to paid £8.50 for our daughters, who is 17, and I felt this was very good value for what we received. The only downside I found was the mattress on our bed, too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such excellent feedback.

It was great to read that you found both the staff and the food in the bar and restaurant to be of a high standard and I have passed all your comments onto the relevant departments to make sure they keep up the good work that they are all doing.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We just arrived home from the holidayinn and Really enjoyed. My wife had some spa treatment which she loved. Staff were great and the swimming pool and sauna was very relaxing, this is our 5th stay here and we will be back, the guys on the front desk were also chatty which we like. Definatly recomend, there is a nice pub over the round about and the food in there is lovely, the only slight complaint i would have is the bathroom, very dated. We had a executive room and would have thought this should have been of a higher quality

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed in the executive room, which was fantastic and worth the extra money. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Spa is fab and definitely worth a visit. Only downside was the food in the restaurant which is very pricey, however there a lots of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlannerExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such excellent feedback.

I have passed all your comments on the relevant departments to make sure they keep up all the good work!

Once again many thanks for leaving such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the Holiday Inn Gloucester- Cheltenham in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here for a night during the Cheltenham Festival.

Room was fine and had a good atmosphere. Staff were attenive and everything seemed to work well conmsidering how busy the hotel was.

My only complaint was the price of breakfast - £13.95 for some bacon and eggs is just ridiculous!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I've been to this hotel a few times and I really like the location, it's so easy for getting out and about. The hotel's absolutely fine, there's nothing wrong with it. It's not been refurbed for a while, but you can't expect things to stay brand new for ever. Everything was nice and clean, the food was good, and most of the staff were friendly. One downside was that the mattress was obviously more tired than the rest of the place it was very soft and bouncy so we didn't sleep to well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear JezN,

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We really appreciate your patronage.
I'm sorry to hear you were not comfortable
with the bed. next time please let us know
and we will move you to a room with a more adequate bed.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
1,748 reviews
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,198 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham

Address: Crest Way, Gloucester GL4 3RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $77 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is conveniently located just off the M5 & only 2 miles from Gloucester's City Centre & 6 miles from Regency Cheltenham. An ideal location for families with our Kids Stay & Eat Free policy*. Visit the revitalized Docks area with its many shops including Gloucester Quays, restaurants & entertainment or the cloisters of Gloucester Cathedral, famous filming location for Harry Potter, or simply enjoy the cafe culture & shopping of Cheltenham. Take full advantage of your relaxing break away at the Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham by using the excellent facilities of our Spirit Health Club & Beauty Therapist. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with all the facilities you would expect from a Holiday Inn including High Speed Internet Access, interactive TV & pay movies. We also have a number of executive rooms for that added touch of luxury & family rooms suitable for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Academy conference & training suites are perfectly suited to your business needs. A total of 9 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of up to 130. The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies & is a great venue for a lavish celebration or an intimate affair. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Hotel Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing