We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Wheatstone Inn

Wheatstone Inn
Ranked #38 of 321 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We offer a contemporary, gastropub mixture of cuisine. From a full English breakfast served 7am-9am daily, to a 3 course evening menu meal, including duck, venison, chicken makani tiffin and game pie. We also cater for those leisurely and quick business lunches offering burrito's, sandwiches, soups and light bites.
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Premier Inn next door and therefore had all our 4 breakfasts at the Wheatstone plus one evening meal. The breakfast options are £8.25 for the full cooked English plus everything from the buffet, or £5.25 for buffet options only. The choice is excellent.

Suggestions: For the cooked breakfast I think you should have bigger plates as everything was kind of piled on top of each other - or maybe I just need to order less! The hash browns were consistently soft each morning, otherwise very tasty. The toaster is a nightmare. It smells of burnt toast each day as the setting is so low that people put their bread through twice and it burns. The dial needs to be put to the correct setting to properly toast and then fixed in place by some tape!! Otherwise very happy with everything on offer.

The evening meals our group of 4 had were all tasty and good portion sizes. We had the wild boar burger, the huge beef pie, and the 2 chicken dishes.

One member of staff deserves recognition as she was there during almost all our visits and was fantastic, really friendly, helpful and efficient. I don't know her name but she is the tall German lady.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BWN0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    164
    58
    51
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We went here last week and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The food was normal pub food but done to an excellent standard. I had a steak burger which was brilliant and the chips and onions rings that came with it were cooked perfectly. We didn't order one but a couple of people on other tables had pies which were enormous and looked great. Would deffinetly go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Myself and two colleagues decided to visit here from the nearby Ibis, and a smart choice it was too. The menu is extensive and contains many imaginative dishes. The bubble and squeak starter was brilliant and my steak perfectly cooked.
The staff were friendly and the bill didn't make us fall over!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SamOfTheDockyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruardean Woodside
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Engagement celebration”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went on the 1/2/14 for my son's engagement meal, there were 14 of us the service was quick, the staff were polite food arrived hot and it was very nice,the majority of us had 3 courses and not one bad meal! we all enjoyed our meals, the only downside was the bar was a little pricey.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely food, excellent service”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went in there for a meal to celebrate my birthday and had a rump steak which was well cooked. The chocolate fudge cake went down well for dessert and the service was really good. My parents enjoyed their meals there as well. This pub has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to go out for a meal with work colleagues, family and friends. May even suggest coming there with my work colleagues next Christmas.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sightseercumrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatstone Inn also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Wheatstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing