We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and centrally located”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lulworth Guest House
Ranked #15 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good value and centrally located”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Lulworth on numerous occasions over the last 18 months and find it just right for my needs. It's centrally located and within easy walking distance of the places I need to get to in the town. The property overlooks a very nice park (some rooms have this view) which can be walked through to reach the central part of Gloucester and the main shopping areas, if you so wish. Car parking is available at no extra cost to the rear of the property. The breakfast consists of the traditional full English with fruit or cereal. The breakfast room overlooks a very pretty garden (although not available for guest use). This property isn't in the league of the Travelodge or Premier Inn chain hotels but does offer a very good value, friendly, and traditional B&B service. I was very happy with my stay. I also noticed on this visit that I could pay for room only if I didn't want breakfast. I may do this on my next visit as although the cooked breakfast is very good I find I can't eat a lot first thing in the morning. It's nice to have the choice of course!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night to complete our nights in Gloucester for a family party as unable to secure days required with travelodge, but the experience was disastrous.
We checked into the family room from travelodge @ St Ann Way around 12:30pm. From mid-night till the check-out time the only staff left UNANNOUNCED leaving no contact except the intercoms with no one to pick it.
Thereby the security is ZERO. We were allocated second floor and because the ceiling sloped in the bathroom there was little room for a decent shower. Till the check out time (10:00am) the only staff was not present. THE HOSPITALITY IS ZERO.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at this guest house for 2 nights. Felt comfortable but the decor was old fashioned and tired. We were allocated the family room even though we only wanted a twin (it was the same price) Unfortuantely this was on the second floor and because the ceiling sloped in the bathroom there was little room for a decent shower. It was off the taps and the temperature was difficult to control. However the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just had a couple of nights at this B&B last week on a buisness trip , clean but very dated , friendly enough place but could do with little shake into the 21st century , parking to rear . within a five minute walk into City center , not the most desirable area of the city but within walking distance of most of attractions Gloucester has on offer ,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barto440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Very good accommodation for the price - very accommodating to meet your needs - rooms basic but with t.v and own en suite - stayed in the family room which was huge - one double bed and two single beds - breakfast cant fault and all for the price of £30 ! Fantastic valve and defiantly will be returning ! Just missing wi fi access !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sash54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Excellent friendly service, delicious breakfast, great value. Only downfall no Internet access.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Located just a few minutes walk from the city centre of Gloucester, Lulworth Guest House is a smart choice for you if you are looking for a budget B&B.

On the whole, the place portrays the decoration style of somewhat '60s from the furniture/materials used, to the layout of each part of the house. The room I stayed in was en suite and came with plenty of space to store my clothes and included an LCD TV.

Maria, the housekeeper is very friendly, warm, and helpful. She was the person who checked me in, cooked me a lovely breakfast, and most importantly looked after my raincoat which I accidentally left in my room the day I departed for work at the county court in town.

The only drawback of this guest house I found was its lack of internet access. But then I could not really complain as it only cost me £30 for the room, the hearty breakfast, and the excellent service.

Why should you think of Lulworth Guest House on your next visit to Gloucester? Because Lulworth is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jirawat_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lulworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lulworth Guest House

Property: Lulworth Guest House
Address: 12 Midland Road, Gloucester GL1 4UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guest House, close to City Centre with large free Car Park. 8 rooms, 7 en-suite with all facilities. Separate Lounge room to rest and Dining Room where we serve Full English breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing