We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome on cold day”

National Waterways Museum Gloucester
Ranked #13 of 70 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Following our recent refit we're delighted to announce that we are open again. The museum celebrates the role Gloucester Docks and the local canal network had in transporting goods to the industrial Midlands. Our new bright and engaging galleries will showcase the uniqueness of the River Severn and Gloucester & Sharpness Canal. Daily Canal Cruises available. Queen Boadicea II will take you on a 45 minute trip along the Gloucester & Sharpness Canal with live commentary. Trips run every weekend and every day during the school holidays.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on cold day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

A good museum, well laid out in an interesting building. The volunteer on the desk was great, very entertaining. The dredger and narrow boat are an experience; let sleeping sailors lie! There was plenty to keep oldsters and youngsters entertained.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dickbobgoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosWaterways, Public Relations Manager at National Waterways Museum Gloucester, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to provide feedback on our museum and its exhibits. Glad you loved the steam dredger and our other floating exhibits. Like you have identified our museum really comes into its own on a cold winter's day as we have plenty of room for youngsters to run around and for adults to be unconcerned about that.

I will make sure that the volunteers on duty read your feedback - thanks for appreciating their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    93
    42
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“lovely museum with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

After visiting the waterways museum as a child on school trips I decided to take my daughter there for a day out today along with my mother and grandmother. We received a wonderful welcome at the front desk and were pleased to see that the admission prices are really reasonable. We spent several happy hours wandering around the museum and my 4 year old really enjoyed the interactive exhibits and the boats outside which you can hop aboard and have a good snoop around! The content of the museum is varied and well laid out but the crowning glory has to be the staff, particuarly the gentleman on the front desk who was incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will be back

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank monkeychops181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosWaterways, Public Relations Manager at National Waterways Museum Gloucester, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to provide feedback on our museum. It was good to hear that you had positive childhood memories of our attraction and that we did not disappoint you when you made a return visit with your own family.

We particularly appreciate your feedback on our volunteers - we are very lucky to have them and it is great when members of the public appreciate them as much as we do!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour or two!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Right by the Quays, this was a surprising gem! An excellent cup of tea and mince pie was enjoyed followed by a very interesting and informative walk around the museum. Loved the fact that it was house in an historic building and staff were in costume. Plenty of things to see and interact with for all ages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosWaterways, Public Relations Manager at National Waterways Museum Gloucester, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your review - we try to have people dressed in traditional waterways costume as often as we can. Glad you enjoyed a festive mince pie. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Santa trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Whastever the season spring, summer or christmas a great place to visit. good gift shop and museum. trips down the river and the Santa trip are worth going on. Santa trip needs to be booked in advance but other trips in the summer can be bought on the day, but ring first in case they are busy. Happy sailing.

Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosWaterways, Public Relations Manager at National Waterways Museum Gloucester, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback on our museum and in particular our Santa Cruises - you are correct in reminding people they need to book in advance. Places go like hot mince pies! Telephone 01242 318200 to find out about our current availability. We look forward to welcoming you aboard very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gloucester waterways museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very interesting museum set in a Grade II Victorian warehouse in the most inland port of the UK. You can feel the atmosphere in this building.It is set on three floors but had a good lift and toilets near lift on 3rd floor.The museum is well laid out and actually feels larger than it is ..there's something different around every corner.Including the odd gruesome touch to keep the older children interested.!It covers every aspect of canals & waterways history & ecology.We marveled at how the Navvies managed to dig the canal in the days with out modern machinery with just spades & trucks etc.Roses and castles gallery for those interested in the artwork.Dressing up in the clothes worn by the narrow boat families.Clanking Working engine on ground floor for the mechanically minded & outside there was a working steam crane blasting out its hooter noise every now & then .(It was being worked by a volunteer and often working in the holidays /special days/some weekends).The volunteer let my son pull the chain to set it off.I'm sure you could here it at the Cross in Gloucester.! As it was Halloween there was story telling and making witches hats /bats.Very helpful/friendly volunteers who all spoke to us .Great value .No problem having no cafe -there are plenty of places to eat in Docks .Caffe Corretto is a good one almost oppposite the entrance to the museum across the car park.Great Italian coffee.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Waterways Museum Gloucester also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to National Waterways Museum Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing