We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling is an understatement”

Robert Raikes House
Ranked #130 of 321 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling is an understatement”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very rude bar staff and owner. Food took over half an hour to come out. There are no children's meals on the menu. I ordered my 2 year old scampi and chips i told them to cut it up and explained why. When it came out it was not cut and scolding hot. To which my daughter burnt her mouth and screamed i had steak which was like eating a welly! After all this the arrogant owner refused us a refund!!!! I will not be going back. Owner/landlord disgusting attitude

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jessica123846890042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    49
    24
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Lots of rooms for you to relax in, in winter the fires are going, making it a nice and cosy place for a drink. Only real drinks served here, none of your manufactured ciders like strongbow etc etc

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KimandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne And Wear
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely pub in the centre of Gloucester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved the variety of little rooms with comfy cahirs and delightful paintings on the walls. The outside courtyard was lovely especially given the high temperatures when we were there. Lovely beers, range of wines was a bit limited. We went back twice

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank georgeTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Robert Raikes Inn gives you a fascinating alternative to all the usual chain pubs. Its recent historically-accurate redevelopment allows you to imagine you were drinking in an inn as it would have been hundreds of years ago. Worth visiting for the architecture alone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigdom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This pub was totally refurbished and solid oak beams were used in the the rebuild. The pub does good value food and sells Sam Smiths ales

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Raikes House also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Robert Raikes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing