We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How a restaurant should be hosted.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C & W's African Experience

C & W's African Experience
Ranked #1 of 321 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Serving freshly prepared authentic African food, with mostly Kenya and general East African influence, in a relaxed and friendly setting.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How a restaurant should be hosted.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

When the chef and his wife greet you as though they have known you for ages,you know you are in for the something special
Charlie and Wanja are such hosts at what can only be described as the hidden jewel of Gloucester.We phoned to book and found out that they were full however happy to offer us a table off the main area.Now whilst this sounds like you may end up in a room cut off from everyone else it does not matter as it gives you plenty of time to quiz Charlie about the food and how its cooked.
On the subject of the food whilst I have eaten most cuisines I have never eaten African and eating goat was always going to interesting.Good news brilliant and with additions like fried Plantains and gorgeous banana fritters later.Truly an African Experience not to forget.10 out of 10 with no reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    46
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome, fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A fantastic restaurant - owners are really friendly made us feel totally at ease, took the time to speak to us and find out what sort of food we liked and made suggestions that matched our preferances, a real personal service such a refreshing change. The food was fantastic, prepared and cooked freshly, the flavours are amazing and you can tell that the owners are fanatical about their food and restaurant, we really had a lovely evening definately will be returning and definately recommend that people try this restaurant. The personal touch and passion make this lovely little resaurant stand out. Brilliant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, exciting food. Great for veggies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My whole family love this restaurant, and we come here for every celebration we can think of. Charlie & Wanja offer a really warm welcome, and make you feel at home. You'll have the table for the whole night - so order the feast! I am a vegetarian, but always go with meat eaters - we are all so well fed, and there is always a new exciting dish to try. Really can't recommend highly enough, the best in Gloucester by far.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizireynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were greeted at the door by the owner and made us feel like we were guests in his home. We had not booked and there was no menu and we were asked what we would like to eat from a list of foods prepared for other diners. We paid £15 a head and were treated to some authentic freshly prepared food. The food was not highly spiced but we were given the option to add our own from a dish on the table. I heartliy recommend this restaurant if you are looking for something slighly different from the usual.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Surpassing all expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

They were fully booked when we dropped in for supper but the owners immediately offered to serve us the next day at lunch. They were extremely friendly and welcoming. The food we enjoyed was of high quality both in taste, temperature, presentation and quantity. Again the service was at the top of friendliness! Highly recommended, but remember that it works better if you can book ahead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C & W's African Experience also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to C & W's African Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing