We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOISE LEVELS ON TOP FLOOR” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ibis Gloucester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“NOISE LEVELS ON TOP FLOOR”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I use this hotel often on business. I will make certain I am never put on the top floor again. There is a constant drone and hum from the ventilation/airconditioning planton the roof. I would rather sleep in my car. I believe you are aware of the problem and have done nothing about it, which is very frustrating. There are 2 Premier Inns, a Travelodge and Holiday Inn Express close by. Often there is very little difference in price but you are the nearest to my office and your staff are very welcoming so have become my first choice but I will now book elsewhere if you cannot guarantee a room away from the noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jquilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Hotel Ibis Gloucester. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. You can aways request a special room at the time of booking by calling the hotel. I would recomend the third floor on the car park side personally but I guess it depends on your individual needs as we do have regular guests who actually ask for the fourth floor as in their words it is nice and quite. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    423
    141
    42
    30
See reviews for
156
446
94
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here one night for a vist to family in the area. Amazed to pay only £26.10 for a room in a brand new hotel on a Saturday night. Check in was smooth and staff friendly and polite. Agree with former comments that the dining/bar area is very plastic but we didnt use so it didnt spoil our enjoyment. Room was spotlessly clean and at the end of a carpeted corridor so no noise at all during the night. In fact had one of the best nights sleep ever in a hotel! Bathroom again was spotless, a little cramped but ok for an overnight stay. Good point is 12 oclock check in and out so no rushing around in the mornning. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliftonkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Gloucester. I look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Ibis Gloucester. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed last week as part of a coach party.
Location not great - nothing walkable of any interest
Rooms good - nice & clean ( seem pretty new) and everything you need for an overnight stay.
Bar area non-existent really - just plastic dining area and absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever - ended up taking drinks up to the room
Now then......evening meal...........absolutely shocking - I am pretty easily pleased but there was really little I can say than redeems this whatsover - Tomato 'soup' was out of a giant packet and hadn;t even been mixed properly ( several lumps still in it ) and completely tasteless ( I even wonder if they got this muddled up with the washing up water, it was that thin and........uuugghh, leaves me cold thinking about it ! )
Main course was choice of chilli or Roast chicken - I tried a bit of each - chilli & rice was OK but only lukewarm - there was a hot servery but there were simply inadequate staff - nothing was topped up on time, chicken was tepid and looked as if it had been microwaved and I'm afraid the lot that came out after ours had a rather strange smell to it - our neighbourly table guests left all of theirs. The mash was soooooo out of a packet, not great at all and again, not hot. Supposed to be a buffet but I saw someone go up after some more chilli & it had already gone - pretty meagre display, certainly wouldn;t have bene enough to go round if everyone had taken normal helpings ( they didn't as it just didn't 'grab the imagination' ! )
Dessert was bread & butter pudding or fruit salad - was brought round already in dishes. already with custard ( whether you liked it or not ), no cream or ice cream for the fruit salad ( 2 or 3 people asked) and it ( fruit salad) ran out pretty quickly too.
There was a veggie option ( veg curry if I recall ) - I watched the bar manager ( pretty sure that was his role), sweep something up off the floor behind the barwith a brush & dustpan then move straight to taking the veggie options out to them ( no handwash, no hat, no whites, just a t-shirt & jeans
Avoid.......avoid........avoid........avoid........avoid............evening meal - nuff said !
Breakfast though - rather pleasant surprise ( was dreading it ) with plenty of hot choices of sausages ( nice quality too), bacon, scrambled eggs, beans etc
Lovely bread selection, toast, cereals, juice, decent coffee, crossants, pastries, fruit, cheese - all in all, would've died for this the evening before - a decent 9/10 for brekkie, compared to 2/10 for eve meal
So - overall, I'd recommend this for a reasonably priced stopover for the family on route to somewhere else but go bed & breakfast only and don;t bother with the bar, take a monopoly set and spend your evening in your room !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmbcatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Hotel Ibis Gloucester. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about Dinner, which we are addressing. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed there as part of a coach tour. Nice enough, with good staff, but not really a base for exploring gloucester.
Food what you'd expect - ok without setting the world on fire. Breakfast good though.
Bar area a bit soul-less.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sir_travelled_a_lot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Hotel ibis Gloucester. I'm sorry to hear that the hotels location was not convient for your needs. It depends on why you are visiting the area as being on the main road into Gloucester from J11A we are very convient for transport links by car, bus and rail. Making travel convient and close for both are business and leisure guests but we are not right in the centere of Gloucester. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

At £29 a room I would say fair value for money. Due to racing event at Cheltenham I paid £130 a night, way over priced, room was ok, adequate for two blokes sharing, breakfast a massive No No!! Paid nearly £8, also went into Gloucester and had a fab breakfast for £3 wake up IBIS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Hotel Ibis Gloucester. Are rates are from £29 and vary depending on availability, events and how far inadvance you book. The cheltenham races is a very busy time for the hotel but at £130 the Hotel ibis Gloucester is still one of the best priced hotels in the area. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is new and thus in excellent condition. The rooms are very clean and although quite basic, we had everything we needed.
Our request (when booking) for a quiet room was observed and we were right at the end of a corridor so there wasn't much coming and going.
The bed was large, comfortable and clean, The shower room was compact but clean and freah.
We paid extra for the Full English breakfast £9 I think). This let it down terribly. The dining area has the feel of a McDonalds and wall-mounted television sets were far too loud and distracting. You couldn't talk above them.
The food was plentiful and the continental choices were added to by the "full English" choices. These were ghastly. The sausages were cooked on one side only, obviously to allow for longer under the heat lamps. They sat limply in trays of grease as had the bacon which had been cooked similarly. The scrambled eggs were passable.
Therefore I would suggest buying the Continental Breakfast if you stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaquelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Hotel ibis Gloucester. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about Breakfast, which we are addressing. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good for overnight stay when visiting Cheltenham Races......Could do with more than one medium sized towel and a couple of basic coat hangers. Staff were friendly. Food was fine. Overall, worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Racegoer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Hotel Ibis Gloucester. For next time you stay you can always ask at reception for more towles and hangers if you require them. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
1.0 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.6 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Gloucester

Property: Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Address: Corinium Ave Saw Mills End, Gloucester GL4 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Gloucester hotel is a budget hotel located just outside Gloucester City Centre.Book the hotel for easy access to the M5 motorway, Cheltenham, Barnwood and Barnett Way Business Area. The 127 modern guest rooms all have FREE WIFI, climate control, hairdryers,Broadband internet and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast or a meal at the Café restaurant, or a nightcap in the friendly bar. There is free car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ibis Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing