We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A get-a-way break"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having read previous reviews and seen pics on this hotel I was very reluctant to go but, I'm very happy I went anyway because I was very pleased with the front and surroundings of the hotel. Staff were all very friendly and even offered to help with the luggage. Hotel was nice and clean and our room was of a good standard...very pleased. The only complaint I have are the pillows but, that was sorted as soon as I rang the front desk to ask for extra pillows. Even our 2 Bichon Frise fluffy boys were made comfortable. I must say their meals were superb so, get stuck into the Slow Cooked Lamb Shank when you're there...yum, yum! Don't let the negative comments stop you from going to this pleasant hotel...experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: We had the best room 205 (I think) quiet and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evremonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for the balanced and constructive feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking the time to give us directions on where you feel we could improve. We hope to see you back with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,349 - 1,355 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

4 Stars and a hotel worthy of them ,my wife son and i had a great few days in this hotel .
will return again.
sorry can you just change one very small thing ,the tea machine in the breakfast hall only
gives you warm tea ,a tea urn would be better.
great stay thanks for having us.

Room Tip: room 128 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review, we appreciate you posting such positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hallmark with my wife, and had a really relaxing stay and thought the facilities were great.
The staff were welcoming and helpful to our every needs.
If visiting to Gloucester again, we would probably stay at the hallmark for a second time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldBenKenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for the great review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hallmark Gloucester very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a very spacious suite for our anniversary. Got a great deal and enjoyed going to nearby Cheltenham. The lounge in the suite lacked character but was big and loved having breakfast in there.

Swimming pool is big and enjoyed having a dip. Changing rooms not linked to the pool though. Good gym as well.

Dinner in the restaurant was good and overall had a great stay and great value for what we paid. Not sure we'd come back but more to do with not liking Gloucester.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bungl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for the great review, we are sorry you did not find more to like in Gloucester, I hope you will still consider us as a base in the future to explore the Cotswolds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The main reason I booked the hotel was for it's gym facilities but after a tiring days work & more emails to send in the evening I opted for a exercise-free stay.

The hotel is opposite a dry ski slope (that has see better days) and the route I took from the M5 bought me through Matson which from what I saw was made up completely of hideous magnolia coloured council flats.

The professional photo's of the hotel are somewhat misleading. The main reception is lovely and modern but is flanked either side by dated accommodation blocks. The room itself was nice and spacious, clean and had all necessary electronics. The only gripe was the width of the bath tub, it was pretty narrow for a stand-up shower....you have to stand to attention in order to remain upright!

I generally sleep quite well in hotels but a couple of things made for a unsettled sleep:

1) The extractor fan from the room upstairs was incredibly loud and even through my ear plugs it woke me up a couple of times in the night!

2) The bed didn't have a duvet, just a sheet and blanket. Last time I checked Gloucestershire wasn't in the Med!

3) The pillows supplied were well used and had no life/spring in them. Pillows like pancakes!

There are two dining options for dining, a formal restaurant or the bar. After sitting down in the restaurant and perusing the options I decided to opt for a pint and something from the bar menu.

Overall, a pleasant enough hotel but I'll most probably seek something better next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit. I do wish you had let us know that you were not happy with your pillows so that we could have addressed this easily solved issue. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here two nights this week, staff very friendly, rooms decent sized, very clean, food ok. All in all decent stay.

TOP TIP...

When ordering food with Chips, if your hungry order extra otherwise your only getting 8 with your meal

Stayed: September 2013
Thank mikearkwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic feedback, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to leave us your positive comments.

We look forward to seeing you back with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed her before but still ended up at the wrong end of the road when following the sat nav! It's through a housing estate, at the foot of the ski slope, so head for that :-)
Having got there, it's a lovely place with beautiful rooms. I'm always impressed by the additional luxury provided by the Villeroy & Bosch china and quality toiletries. Beds are very comfortable but couldn't get a decent wifi signal in the room.
Comfortable bar. Good restaurant - which is lucky as there isn't anywhere else nearby.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs and fire door, so make sure you discuss your room location is this will be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBeresford2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to leave us your positive comments. We look forward t seeing you back with us again very soon.

I would also like to offer my thanks to you for tipping guests to head for the ski slopes, some sat nav's do send guests slightly off course, but following signs for the ski slopes will get you to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
910 reviews
1 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
411 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $84 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing