We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable modern hotel on outskirts of Gloucester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Reception poor - had to wait 10 minutes for any staff to turn up to check in. Once checked in was sent to the wrong location for room. Rooms good size and clean. Hotel generally clean and staff helpful. Food good.

Room Tip: A few rooms are randomly located away from others with similar numbers which confuses staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

I am sorry that you experienced a delay upon checking in, I do hope that you will get in touch with myself so that I can investigate further as this is not acceptable to us. Thank you for your positive comments on the other aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,432 - 1,438 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently refurbished to a high standard, my room was very well furnished but I couldn't turn my radiator off. Informed reception and problem solved by the time I returned from my walk. Good quality food and a good selection and options available. Nothing much in the close vicinity with the exception of the dry ski slope situated right across the road. Happy to stay again and probably will.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked a suite and it was a lovely big suite, good size bedroom and good size siting room. We had booked with friends and it was very clear we were together when booking in, but they were on the first floor and we were on the ground floor, which made no sense to me whatsoever, especially given there was a suite opposite us.

The room and furniture was old, carpet dirty, when we moved a sofa over so that we could all sit together there was bits of rubbish underneath the sofa.

The bed was very comfy.

We had dinner on the first night......I had the noodles with cashew nuts that was all overcooked noodles with 6 cashew nuts. My friends fries were undercooked. The rest of the food was acceptable.

At breakfast next morning, we went at 9am and it was chaos, the fire alarm was going off but there were no staff to say, 'its ok, it is a false alarm' so some people were leaving the building. There was a very slow queue and frankly queuing in the corridor is not my thing. They clearly were not coping. On the second morning they had opened up a second room which made life a whole lot easier. We did not take a chance on dinner the second night.

In fairness when my friend complained about the lack of awareness of the need for more space and how poor the meal was etc.etc. they did take the price of the meal and our wine off the bill as a gesture of goodwill.

Would we go back? Probably not........For the price I guess we might just have an ordinary room if there was a next time.This time we thought having suites meant we did not have to sit in the bar all evening but share a glass of wine in our sitting room. Shame we were on separate floors which was no biggy but it did mean up and down two flights of stairs each time. there was no lift. Our room was on the ground floor but felt very basement like as it was four flights of stairs down from Reception and our room faced the dustbins which glass bottles were emptied into at thirty minutes past midnight on the Friday.

Room Tip: Not 40 or 140 as these face the dustbins at the moment. I would request away from the dustbins as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

What a shame that you left us unhappy, I do hope that you will contact me directly to discuss your issues, as you can see we do usually receive great feedback, although we sometimes make mistakes we are dedicated to ensuring our guests have a fantastic experience. We do point out that certain breakfast times are busy and to avoid these if you are looking forward to a leisurely experience, it is true that we will struggle with large amounts of people at the same time, especially if we have a fire alarm! So sorry that your enjoyment was affected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel close to the centre of Gloucester has been entirely refurbished. It is modern, light and airy and the rooms are extremely comfortable with all modern facilities including free wifi. We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent and the wine is priced moderately.
The only small niggle is that breakfast was entirely buffet style, and so much the same as many hotels. There is also a spa/ pool for guests to use.
Highly recommended and priced moderately - we booked and paid well in advance and room prices were around £70 for a double room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your great feedback, it is fantastic to learn you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you will consider us again if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Myself and my friends came to to the hotel for a spa day and afternoon tea. On arrival the hotel looks basic but to my surprise inside is fabulous, the hotel is immaculately decorated in a very modern style, staff were really friendly. We were led to the spa area and this did not dissapoint, staff were brilliant, there was an apparent lack of lockers but staff offered for us to put our bags in their office, however when we entered locker room friendly spa goers had finished and we used theres. We hired large fluffy robes, towels were included in price, the spa area was big and there are several jacuzzi areas to sit in which is great if going in a group, meant we had a jacuzzi to ourselves. Sauna and steam room were good size and there are windows in the pool area but still maintained privacy. There were relaxation loungers also in the pool area. We didn't want to leave. Shower facilites were good. A tip arrive at lunchtime as this appeared quieter, think they run swimming lessons earlier in day. We had our afternoon tea in the bar area this was again was beautifully decorated and staff very helpful. This afternoon tea was as good as when i have been to a four star hotel in London, beautifully presented and large amount. A fantastic day and fantastic price. Well done to hotel. Top marks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pampered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback, we sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife purchased us a 1 night stay with evening meal as a gift. We had a great say and hotel is well situated to explore the area if your down over the weekend. Swimming pool, sauna and steam room use were included in the cost and were great although a little crowded on the Saturday afternoon as no guests were using the facilities.Hotel is comfortable, well fitted out and dinner was very good considering cost.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExtraPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay, we hope you will be back to visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a getaway for 1 night.
We stayed in the hotel suite (highly reccomended) and this included a 3 course meal,breakfast,massage and full use of the facilities.the only downside to this hotel is the pool can be quite busy with kids,as its a leisure club not a spa..although we have a child so this didnt really bother us..the service was excellant!the dinner was fantastic and the breakfast we even better.we both thoroughly enjoyed the massage.you get taken to a small room,with lights dimmed and the sound of water falling.perfect setting!we will definately be returning here in the future.all for the price of £188 for both of us!would definately reccomend!thanks for a great night & stay.look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazza111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great feedback, we sincerely hope to see you back with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
910 reviews
1 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
412 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $86 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing