We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where shall we go to eat tonight?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed November 7, 2012

You could do far worse than have dinner for two at this hotel. We trawled through the places to eat within 2 mile radius of the city of Gloucester. After rejecting several that we KNOW to be less than satisfactory we remembered an opening of a new hotel in Matson. We thought we'd try it and we were pleasantly surprised. The welcome, service and overall ambience of the Brasserie was warm and of a high standard. The food was excellent, we had a seafood starter, soup and 2 pork schnitzels which came with roasted veg. As we waited for the starter, bread and olive oil dips arrived with fresh bread that tasted homemade. The ladies that served us were smiley and helpful and very polite. We will dine here again soon. Well done! £6 for a glass of Merlot though is a bit steep...did you charge me for a bottle I wonder?.. next time i'll drink water.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for coming and giving us a try for an evening, we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience. We do have cheaper options for wines by the glass and we often do special offers on the weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,519 - 1,525 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

The spa area is quite lovely with a nice pool. Felt the hotel however was fairly average, we booked for our anniversary and having stayed at better 4 star hotels in previous years for the same price we felt a bit disappointed. The rooms are clean and spacious but all in all it felt a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnislush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. The Hallmark Gloucester has recently complete a multi million pound improvment plan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had a great stop here with friends, plush rooms & bathrooms, Nice carpet !!! A very nice 4 star hotel, breakfast very nice. Very clean & staff were very friendly. Would defiantly stop again. Spa good, a little tired, but still nice,

Room Tip: corner suite 140 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cidercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for the generous review. It is great to learn you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of october, a nice weekend break for our 1st wedding anniversary.I had mentioned this to the staff when booking the hotel, and to our suprise when we had our evening meal we were given a nice glass of champagne on the house which was a very nice touch. the food was very good especially the evening meal we had and the menu had a good selection.
the room was good, a lovely comfy big bed and we both slept very well, I noticed that it was nice and quiet which helped too.
the staff were very helpful and friendly and do a very good job.
All in all a nice break and would recommend this hotel for someone wanting a quiet getaway for a few days

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockportStueey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your fantastic feedback. We hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked as a spa deal. Staff were polite and friendly and overall the hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. We had lunch in the bar, a three course dinner and breakfast. Overall the food was very good but we were a bit disappointed with the bar lunch, we felt for ten pounds for a sandwich it should have been a bit more special. Dinner and breakfast was lovely and service was efficient and polite. Wine seemed highly priced, 6.80 per large glass, but I imagine this is normal and I'm out of touch drinking in hotels! Our spa treatment was nice but basic. The spa is in the basement and has no reception area so when you arrive your not very sure where to go or who to tell you have arrived. I had the pedicure and it was a basic paint job, no massage or foot scrub which has been the norm on other spa packages I have had.

Our room was ok but the window was black with mould around the sealant and looked out over a horrid flat roof. It was an ok size and although the bathroom was small it was clean and had everything you needed. Bedding and towels were a bit worn and it would have been nice to have fluffier towels and a duvet on the bed. Bedding was sheets and a fleece blanket that had seen better days.

Overall it was good value for money but if I were to stay again I wouldn't bother with the spa offer, I would get a cheaper room deal and pay for the treatment separately, getting a longer and better treatment,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your balanced and constructive feedback. I do hope that you will return to the hotel and try some of our different offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just had three good days at this hotel. Welcome was ok. Rooms good. Food good(full board) Service good. When asked for assistance or requested something nothing was a problem.
People who comment on carpet patterns etc should get a life.

Found this a good quality stay.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank jedi1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for the great feedback, it was a pleasure looking after your group and I hope you will be back to see us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My family (6 adults, i child) stayed for one (Saturday) night on a DBB basis. Overall we all enjoyed ourselves and found the hotel suited all our needs. The staff are hard working and polite and were very accomodating. We were particularly touched that they heard it was my husband's birthday and brought us some complimentary bucks fizz with dinner! Food was very nice and there was a good menu choice.

The rooms are clean and we booked a suite so our 3 year old could sleep in a seperate area. We though it was excellent value for money as basically we had two rooms (one with a pull out bed) but I would not have been as happy if we had booked a suite thinking it was a more luxurious room for 2 adults. The one big niggle of our stay was the smell in the bathroom. I think it was the damp plastic shower curtain and was very off putting. We did not complain as everything else was good (toileteries, cleanliness, comfort of bed etc).

We used the leisure facilities and although there were people on spa days our 3 year old was allowed in the pools and thought they were great. Towels/locker keys are provided at the leisure reception.

Overall prior to travel I was slightly concerned reading some of the reviews but my worries were unfounded. Obviously the management have taken on board some of the complaints and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
910 reviews
1 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
411 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $84 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing