We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I agree entirely with everything that Lucy B has said. On arrival we found in our rooms a box of biscuits and a half bottle of wine as well as a list of the local church services. The break started with afternoon tea and chocolate decorating. This was followed by a wonderful meal in the evening. There were loads of very cheerful staff on duty at all times and nothing was too much trouble. On return from midnight mass (church within walking distance) the chef made us mulled wine to go with our mince pices. A nice touch was nuts and satsumas being available in the bar at all times. There was Bucks Fizz at breakfast on Christmas Day and it was nice to able to choose what time to go into lunch. In the afternoon there were brand new board games and cards to play with in the lounge. In the evening there was a buffet and on Boxing Day brunch was served. A surprise in the afternoon was a reading of Charles Dickens' Christmas Carol by a local actor. The evening included a gala dinner in one of the function rooms with live entertainment. It was nice that they had only booked the number of bedrooms to match the number of tables in the restaurant, this meant that the hotel was not too busy. The jacuzzi, swimming pool (large enough to actually swim in) and sauna were great too - it would have been nice if the opening times had been slightly longer and if there could be a spindryer for swimming costumes in the changing rooms. The squash court and gym were well used whilst I was there. I really hope they will offer the same package again next year (with a few more coat hangars in the bedroom). Congratulations to Richard and his team for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There are stairs inside the the hotel and no lift so make sure you ask for a room suitable for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Thanks so much for your response and kind words, they mean a great deal to us all here. We are so glad you had a great Christmas here and that you want to return next year - my only issue is what new to put on to match this year! I am sure we will think of something..

All the very best to you for the New Yrear and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,655 - 1,661 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in! We booked a christmas package back in the summer, and from the moment we arrived we were looked after by the staff (it was nice & refreshing to see a manager actually meeting & greeting guests and finding the time to talk to them).

The food was lovely 5 star. The swimming pool, hot tub and sauna completed it for us.
Hopefully the hotel will offer the same package next christmas

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thanks for taking time to respond after your Christmas break, and I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the team put a lot of effort into making the package a memorable one, and responses such as your make it all worthwhile. We will be running a package next year, and look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. If we had not pre-booked the hotel for 3 nights we would have not stayed. When we were there, they were doing EXTENSIVE work on the hotel and we could not even find the entrance and had to ask a tradesman. I am sure once the work has been done the hotel will be a good stay. Once we were given our room number we could not believe what the room was like. all we could hear in the room were jack-hammers through the ceiling. We waited a while to see if the noise improved but it did not so we decided to go back to reception and ask for another room. The hint here is- not to ask for a family room '. They had our room request as a 'family room' which we did not need as there were only 2 of us in our '50's'... the staff were very helpful and changed our room to the new section and the room was beautiful and very comfortable..... better than you would expect..... The restaurant that is in the Hotel had a special deal to buy one meal get one free.... Meal was good but had to remind the staff to bring out vegetable. This hotel was in the stages of a 'take over' and once everything is done it will be a wonderful hotel . They do need to fine tune the staff in the restaurant as the staff were not good but I am sure they will improve with them. If you get plan to book a room ask for a new room, the pool and gym looked good but we did not get a chance to use them.

Room Tip: the hotel is not near town and it is a good 10-15 minute drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Thank you for your recent posting following your stay in June. I am sorry if the works then detracted from your stay, however I am please to announce that all work was completeley finished in September and the hotel is looking fabulous now. I do hope you get the chance to re vist us at some point and enjoy the new facilities.

Kind regards

Richard Platts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

we had a lovely stay here at the hallmark hotel, greeted by very friendly staff. Room was spacy and the whole hotel was very nicely decorated and modern.
We used the leisure facilities again very friendly staff on reception and one of the only many swimming pools that was lovely and warm, spa pools were good we liked how it was layed out.

Breakfast in the morning was self service with lovely food and again staff helpful and friendly!

Overall great stay would recommend!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxtownsendxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Thank you for your response and also choosing our hotel, I do hope we get the chance of welcoming you back in the future. It is particularly nice to read how welcoming the team were during your stay, I shall pass on your kind remarks.

kind regards

Richard Platts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Firstly this is a lovely, well decorated hotel and a nice selection of food and drink both high quality, the rooms at very comfortable with good size bed and bathroom, it's location is okay but not central to town. My only complaints are despite the rooms being refurished to a high quality the shower is somewhat out of date and bearly has any water pressure but temperature is fine so surviable for two days, my other complaint is that t leisure centre that is connected to t hotel is obviously not run or connected to t hotel management as it is very old and in need of a serious update and due to the recent update of t hotel it is a shame the swimming pool wasnt done aswell, the steam room is a must to be avoided as it smells of feet and a high abt of mould and damp - potential health hazard it would say!! Aside of the two complaints I have it is and was a nice pleasant weekend away

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laz16smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

I am glad that you had a pleasant weekend with us, that is always nice to hear. I am a little surprised about the shower pressure as we have recently fitted additional pumps to ensure that pressure is good regardless of demand. We will look in to this and ensure action is taken to rectify the issue. The leisure club is operated by the hotel , and much of the area did undergo refurbishment recently, gym, studio, changing rooms and reception. We are this coming month continuing with some internal works in the pool area which will hopefully address the comments you raise.

Thank you for your comments.

kind regards

Richard Platts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed at the Hallmark Hotel for 4 nights with my wife and son for a short holiday. The booking process was straightforward and we booked an Executive Room to have a little more space.
When we arrived we were checked in by a charming receptionist giving an excellent first-impression of the hotel. The second bonus was that we were assigned a suite, rather than the executive double which we had expected. This meant that our son had his own room - and, much to his considerable pleasure, his own flat-screen TV - giving us a lot more space than usual. The room was nicely furnished and had everything we needed, including a decent amount of storage for clothes, although a few more hangers would have been useful.
We used the swimming pool every day we were there and found it to be fine for a quick swim and a splash about with our son. It isn't huge, but perfectly adequate, as are the steam room and sauna. There is also a gym, but we didn't use it during our stay.
We used the restaurant every day. Breakfast was ok, although I have encountered better buffets elsewhere, and dinner was again ok without being great. However, as is the case with the rest of the hotel, service was friendly and attentive and the decor etc. was attractive.
All in all, we were very happy with our stay and in particular with the excellent room and friendliness of the staff. I thought the restaurant /could perhaps have been a bit better but maybe I was just unlucky and there are plenty of positive comments elsewhere in other reviews. In any case, on the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely use the hotel again if we are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JockMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments and observations. We are really glad that your family had a good stay and would use us again , we look forward to welcoming you back. I have noted your comments where we could improve and will be looking in to these areas.

kind regards

Richard Platts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Visited this hotel with my family for a 2 night break under a Travelzoo offer. The Hotel has recently been totally refurbished in a contemporary style and to a high standard. The rooms are well equipped with a large flat screen TV, Good quality bathroom products and tea/coffee making facilities. The beds were very comfortable with quality bedding. All the staff we met were friendly and the food in the restaurant was very good. On the first day we had the afternoon tea which was included in the offer and this was a feast in itself with lovely warm scones which went down well after a long journey. The hotel is situated directly opposite the Ski centre and as ideal for this purpose, There is also a leisure centre which we did not have time to visit on this occasion because the weather was so good we decided to visit the other local attractions. Very Good value for money under this offer.

Room Tip: We needed an accessable room for my daughter and this was available on the ground floor with access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave64Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you for your comments and indeed choosing to stay with us here. We are glad everyting was to your liking and you had a good stay.

I hope that you will be able to make a return journey to us at some point next year, and perhaps find time to make use of our leisure facilities.

Kind regards

Richard Platts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
910 reviews
1 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
411 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $84 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing