We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Hotel, hit and miss service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We make several trips a year with my cousin and her husband booked through various "deal" websites. So far we have been very fortunate and have had good rooms and service. Unfortunately the New County Hotel was probably one of those nearer the bottom end of the list. We were told on arrival that both couples had king rooms which was appreciated although both were not equal as one was the honeymoon suite. My cousin and her husband took this whilst my husband and I had the smaller king room which, whilst it had a king size bed was not particularly impressive and overlooked a wall, about six foot away from the window with no view whatsoever which made the room dark. The honeymoon suite turned out to be much better but had not been made up since the last visitors (we arrived around 4-4.30 in the afternoon!). They were moved to another room which was again much larger than ours. It looked OK on first inspection but there was a used shower gel tube on the bath which suggested it had not been cleaned and the toilet roll had not been replenished. I would suggest when booking two or more couples in together it would be good to give them equal rooms. We booked for the restaurant on the first night, no need really we were the only people eating there. The food was good but service not particularly so. The first morning breakfast was good with a good selection of fruit, about 5 items and a bowl of yoghurt plus cooked items and cereals andervice was good. The following morning there were only two items of fruit on offer, no hash browns with the breakfast and service was poor. Location was good but would have expected more from a hotel that has a Trip Advisor certificate in it's lobby with an excellent award! Despite it's location I probably wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel booked at a reduced rate for a Northern Soul Alldayer, which was brilliant, but not so for the room. This hotel has recently been refurbished and it looks great, unfortunately the staffs 'couldn't give a toss' attitude and room servicing skills let it down. On arrival our room looked ok, but on closer inspection the bathroom was grubby with no sink plug, no cold water and someone elses pubic hair waving at me from the tub. Nice! The windows wouldn't shut and they had bird poo all over them, there wasn't any milks for the tea and coffee and no information at all about hotel policy, breakfast times, how to contact reception or information about Gloucester. If hotel management are reading this I think its a shame that such a lovely old hotel in such a central location should be let down by 'people skills'. Have a word with your staff!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephmurphy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel’s single room for one night as the price was right. The room was small but serviceable and clean, though the shower was quite small and would not take a large or tall person. There was a lovely view from the window and it was a pleasant enough stay. The housekeeping staff I ran into when I needed an extra towel was very friendly but unfortunately the front desk staff member made it clear he didn’t really care about anything/anyone/life itself..... My one complaint would be that the bed is in need of replacement (sagging) and even by the poor standard of UK hotel beds it is uncomfortable (a bit like laying directly on the wire mattress structure without any padding in between). Also be aware there is no in-room safe - not necessarily a issue but if you cannot find front counter staff you cannot use the hotel’s main safe. Photos on the hotel website of the rooms are representative. Be aware the street in front of the hotel is busy in the evening and mornng and you may experience street or other noise in the rooms – as a noise sensitive sleeper I have taken to travelling with a white noise app on my tablet computer to deal with noise in hotels and with the app running I heard nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here in march 2012. The place had only recently been modernised by the look of things. The food I mst say was excellent! The price of the stay in midweek in mark I thought was very expensive for what it was. The hotel was not busy at all at this time but they chose to put us up in a far wing of the building over looking a load of vents and generators!!
Drives you mad really. If you want to attract people into booking again and the hotels not busy give those that are there better rooms!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you want to visit Gloucester staying in the heart of town this place fits the bill. Service extremely good, rooms and bathroom very clean. We had a room facing the street with a very pleasant view of the historic church opposite the only downside is it was noisy during the night/morning. Breakfast buffet style was basic. We had an eveing meal in the restaurant which was pleasant but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel, you will forgo the nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

a really nice hotel in the heart of Gloucester.Room was very good clean and comfortable only one problem couldnt turn of heated towel rail and it was a very hot night couldnt be bothered to tell the desk so my fault.Had wonderful service from all the staff especialy Jess Helen and Katey the bar maid

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saecson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Let me start with a good point - comfy bed but shame we didn't get much sleep in it, probably aprrox 3hrs. It is a Very Noisy Hotel, mainly with the Sea Gulls especailly at 4.30am which is not helped by the fact windows are old, single glazed and do not close. Do not get a room at the back of hotel because the kitchen staff just add to the noise with their music and banging at 6am. No Hair Dryers in rooms! TV didn't work! Water would not go down in sink! Now Breakfast where do I start ?!? We found Breakfast was very poor in fact it was that bad even my Hubby wasn't impressed and thats a first. We had to ask for nearly everything, spoons, plates, bowls , milk, glasses, juice, and that was just the basics, as for cooked breakfast goes they don't keep it topped up so always running out of things. It took us over an hour just to have a bit of Breakfast which really was not worth the wait and hassle. Don't plan on a relaxing drink in the bar especailly weekends as it's open to the public and it was standing room only. We went next door where it was very spacious, a lovely courtyard and friendly staff. This could be a good hotel but Management need to sort out the basics. I did complain, something that i have never had to do before and we did get a small refund on our room but we would rather have had a pleasant stay. We personally will not be back, i have never been in a hotel where i feel i had to do a review like this, but if you don't mind noise, poor breakfast, etc then this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
216 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $37 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing