We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of Gloucester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Gloucester”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you want to visit Gloucester staying in the heart of town this place fits the bill. Service extremely good, rooms and bathroom very clean. We had a room facing the street with a very pleasant view of the historic church opposite the only downside is it was noisy during the night/morning. Breakfast buffet style was basic. We had an eveing meal in the restaurant which was pleasant but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel, you will forgo the nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    73
    94
    47
    76
See reviews for
46
123
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

a really nice hotel in the heart of Gloucester.Room was very good clean and comfortable only one problem couldnt turn of heated towel rail and it was a very hot night couldnt be bothered to tell the desk so my fault.Had wonderful service from all the staff especialy Jess Helen and Katey the bar maid

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saecson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Let me start with a good point - comfy bed but shame we didn't get much sleep in it, probably aprrox 3hrs. It is a Very Noisy Hotel, mainly with the Sea Gulls especailly at 4.30am which is not helped by the fact windows are old, single glazed and do not close. Do not get a room at the back of hotel because the kitchen staff just add to the noise with their music and banging at 6am. No Hair Dryers in rooms! TV didn't work! Water would not go down in sink! Now Breakfast where do I start ?!? We found Breakfast was very poor in fact it was that bad even my Hubby wasn't impressed and thats a first. We had to ask for nearly everything, spoons, plates, bowls , milk, glasses, juice, and that was just the basics, as for cooked breakfast goes they don't keep it topped up so always running out of things. It took us over an hour just to have a bit of Breakfast which really was not worth the wait and hassle. Don't plan on a relaxing drink in the bar especailly weekends as it's open to the public and it was standing room only. We went next door where it was very spacious, a lovely courtyard and friendly staff. This could be a good hotel but Management need to sort out the basics. I did complain, something that i have never had to do before and we did get a small refund on our room but we would rather have had a pleasant stay. We personally will not be back, i have never been in a hotel where i feel i had to do a review like this, but if you don't mind noise, poor breakfast, etc then this is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Asleep,I was woken by a fire alarm at 1.30 am and smelt smoke. Rushed down in my hastily grabbed clothes only to find that some had set the bins on fire.
Staff handled the event very professionally and the Fire Brigade were soon at the scene.
During my 2 day stay my only grips were polyester sheets (yuk!) and general cleanliness.
Location is great at it is in the middle of town along with a flock of very noisy seagulls.
Might come back if the sheets are cotton and cleanliness improves..(hint hint look at Costco for them).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madamelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

For someone who is normally quite content where I stay as long as the staff are friendly and the room is clean I am so disappointed by my stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly on arrival and our room was very large and clean but the noise is unbelievable. We are only in our 30's so we are not adverse to noise from a hotel bar on a Saturday night but full scale club night in the hotel completely thumping through the floor until 1am! We called the reception who were very nice but said it "should be over shortly"

I mean what hotel thinks its acceptable to have this level of noise when there are paying guests! Sound quietened after 1am then starts everybody coming in banging doors, shouting. Don't get me started on all the seagulls from 5am either. It takes a lot for me to write a review let alone a bad one but this place is such a let down. You will not sleep I assure you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

gloucester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A big thanks to Wayne and his team at The New County Hotel for making my daughter and her new husbands day perfect.
The attention to detail through out the day was second to none. A special thanks to Carley and Tom who were on hand all day even in to the small hours after all the guests had left.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED as a wedding venue including the civil ceremony. Parking for all the guests was easy for a city center location, hotel facilities were excellent, all the staff were very helpful and polite , the wedding breakfast and evening buffet could not have been better and excellent value.
If you are planning a wedding in Gloucester please check out this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have stayed at this Hotel several times. It is has been given a face lift but is still a old building Ideally located right in the middle of Gloucester near the Quays and straight across from a large shopping centre and near banks and other shops and eateries plus the Cathedral but with no parking of its own and it costs £3 a day if you get a voucher from the hotel reception to park in the NCP car park at the rear of the hotel The rooms are light and very comfortable with flat screen LG TV"s in each bed room Some rooms can be a bit noisy from the extractor fans from the kitchen which does not go off till about 23.00hrs (that"s if they remember to turn them off) The main restaurant evening food quality is excellent if a little short on choices The Reception staff , service staff in the restaurant and bar staff are polite and friendly On several occasions at the hotel I have had issues with room services such as when you stay more than one night you find that sometimes (not always) that drinks tray and shower gel and shampoo and towels are not replaced until you contact reception and also have found occasionally that cups on drinks tray are just rinsed out and put back also Wi -fi in many of the rooms is virtually non existent(may just send a e mail} until about midnight when others have logged off
I would use this hotel again as the good points well out shine the bad ones

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street at the front or car park at the rear as these are the most qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theregulator41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Property: The New County Hotel
Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing