We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic weekend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We booked a meal for 11 to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and stayed the night. Despite having a huge function on at the same time the food was incredible and the staff couldn't do enough for us. As soon as they found out that it was our 25th anniversary they gave us a special deal on the room and gave us 2 bottles of champagne to accompany our meal. We had 3 chefs in our party and they were all very impressed with the food. The chef came out and had a chat with us too!! Every member of staff was fantastic and we can't give the hotel enough praise. Great breakfast sunday morning. The £5 parking is fab and makes access really easy. Our particular room didn't have a great view but it was huge and very comfortable. Thank you for a fabulous weekend!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aileenmcd, General Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Well firstly can i say what a great crowd you were and thank you for the great review. The food is great thanks to the team we have and breakfast is good, as to me its the last thing u see before you leave. Being a town centre hotel some rooms dont have the best views but once again thank you .

Wayne Canning
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for The New County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 374 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend and found the whole trip amazing. We arrived and the receptionist gave us a voucher so we could park for £5 in the multi story car park just round the corner.

We were given Room 21 and 22 at the back of the hotel. The rooms were clean and roomy and a problem with one room was resolved quickly and easily, we were even given a bottle of wine for our trouble (Tom and Wayne the hotel manager sorted this out- the restaurant staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us).

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday and the food was really tasty and reasonably priced (£17.95 for two courses plus you are given canapés and fresh baked bread at the table). The staff were very attentive again especially Wayne and our waitress who couldn't do enough for us even offering to walk to Tesco's and buy us some playing cards we asked for (tempting!)

The location is great- central and close to the designer outlet and harbour area.

Couldn't ask for more- thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyTallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aileenmcd, General Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Well what can one say but thank you very much, it means a lot when people take the time out to write such a lovely review. We do pride ourselves on going that extra mile and the distance the lady would of gone to get the cards would of been 2.6 miles so that little extra means so much hope to see you all again soon .

Wayne Canning
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the New County Hotel for a weekend in March - having read the reviews we were a little apprehensive plus we usually stay in country hotels and not the City. The Hotel doesnt have parking but has a really good deal with the Council multi storey a couple of minutes walk away - £5.00 per day - great value.
When we booked we did request a quiet room at the back of the hotel rather than the front as the Hotel is on the main drag of the town and lots of bars around. The room was basic but adequate and we subsituted the view for two very good nights sleep. Bed was very comfortable - king size and good size en-suite with shower and bath. Plenty of tea/coffee sachets in the room.
This is a great Hotel for exploring the City and within easy reach of the many shops and restaurants. A short walk to the Quays - which is must when you are in Gloucester - we had a lovely walk around and sat in one of the many coffee shops with outside seating - luckily the sky was blue and sun was shining and enjoyed the views. The Designer Outlet is in the Quays and we got some great deals on designer wear.
Another must is to visit the Cathedral - beautiful stained glass windows - we were lucky to have the choir singing whilst we walked around the Cathedral.
Yes the hotel does need updating and a little money spent on it but overall we were very pleased with our stay - breakfast on the Saturday morning was excellent with fresh baked bread - staff very attentive and double of everything on the full english breakfast - a little too much for me - you can have top ups for coffee and tea and toast. Breakfast on the Sunday was different - single of everything - which suited me but my husband could have done with a couple of rashers of bacon but again there was plenty of other items to supplement - fresh fruit/cereal/danish pastries/juice - no freshly basked break on Sunday
Just a couple of downers - public areas needed a better clean and attention - mattresses were stored at the top of landings and on one occasion we came back to our room to find a used toilet brush and tissues outside our door. However this was quickly rectified when we rang reception - but should never have been there in the first place.

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the back of the hotel - we stayed in Room 4 which was very comfortable however you...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aileenmcd, General Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Can I first say thank you for writing the review and the beds have now been moved they are infact z beds that we use when people need extra beds . I agree that they dont look nice and have now got a new home.Thank you for your kind words ref the breakfast and the breakfast is very good that is down to the great head chef and his team. I hope to see you in the near future.

Wayne Canning
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Room was adequate and clean the only complaint would have been the view from our bedroom window (which was of buildings and some extraction unit which I am guessing was from the hotel kitchens etc) Breakfast was lovely too, as it was the We ate at the hotel on the Saturday evening and the food was very good. All staff were friendly and courteous at all times - we did not have the pleasure of meeting the Manager though! I would recommend the hotel to friends and family and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aileenmcd, General Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Firstly I am so very sorry we didnt meet, next time you come let them know and I will ensure im around as do try and meet most guests when they are here something I pride myself on. I must agree the food is great here as my waist line will prove . Hope to see you very soon .

Wayne Canning
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from this hotel after a weekend break with friends using a KGB voucher and we had a great time. Firstly we had a great deal with the voucher with b&b for 2 nights and a bottle of wine. Having parked our car in the very reasonably priced multi storey car park as advertised on their website we easily found the hotel just around the corner where we checked in very quickly and went off to our rooms. The hotel does not have a lift as it is a listed building so not ideal for anyone with mobility problems. Our room was nice and big with a huge double bed and a good size en-suite with great power shower. It was clean and tidy throughout and we were very pleased. Our friends' room was even better and had a little sofa in it - which was handy for us as we congregated in that room and had drinks, etc. All the staff were friendly and helpful - especially Wayne the new manager, who was there every day and could easily be spotted throughout the day, and Tom who waited on us at dinner and breakfast. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and dined from their valentine's menu. The food was absolutely delicious and at £25 per head for a 3-course meal including a glass of fizz was great value for money. Wayne happily let one of our party have dessert from the normal menu at no extra cost which we felt was great customer service. Breakfast both mornings was lovely and the food was plentiful. A good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and juices was laid out and the cooked breakfast made to order was delicious, well cooked and set us up for the day. I think they said they have a new chef - he is very good! The hotel is well located in the middle of the shopping area, close to the Eastgate shopping centre and only a few minutes away from Gloucester Quays. Definitely a good hotel and we would go back without hesitation when visiting the area again.

Room Tip: King size rooms have huge beds and some rooms have little extras such as sofas so worth asking
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OfficerCharlieDibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aileenmcd, General Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

WOW well your on for a free bottle of wine if you ever come and stay again. What a great review it means so much when people take time out to write such wonderfull things, have to say it was a pleasure and i do remember you all so fondly as thought god this lot are going to be hard work lol. No truthfully was a pleasure having such nice people here for valentines and must agree the food was top class with the head chef I have here it is all the time. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel is ideally located in the city centre. The staff were very attentive and extremely friendly. We had the Valentine's menu and the food was amazing!
The rooms were comfortable and clean....then the breakfast was first class too!
A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would def recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aileenmcd, General Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

I can do but say sorry we were changing the menu that day and for some reason we didnt have the card to print on , this was a stupid mistake that should not of happend but I am glad that you loved the food all the same. with ref toi the beer the john smiths smooth flow is a chilled beer but we are looking to getting a real ale on board soon .

Wayne Canning
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Well located in the centre of town with a selection of lunch time menus displayed outside.
Arrived at about 12:30 am for lunch with 4 adults and 1 9mth old child. We were shown to a table well out of the way in an empty dining area. The wait to obtain a menu was over 45 mins, and then it was the wrong one as it was for the evening, 15 mins. later the correct one was re-printed. Food was ordered and duly arrived some 20 mins. later.
The quality and quantity was excellent and politely served. The beer is limited to John Smiths which is served too cold, but this is being reviewed as is the types of beer available.
The dinning area was well set up and very clean.

Room Tip: Don't arrive too early
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $41 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing