We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chef around for miles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed December 2, 2011

May i say that my partner and I dopped in ad hoc for lunch it was amazing cooked to perfection, we dine out quite a lot but this was the best experience by miles,. So guess what we have booked in again to celebrate my partners birthday and invited my sisters and spouses, Good luck to all who runs the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 394 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed at this hotel last week and was impressed with friendly and efficient staff, good food and well appointed rooms. Great value for money at £90 inc breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saints321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My partner and i had booked a weekend away but didnt want to travel far and pay too much. I had booked the hotel and then read some of the reviews which then made we worry but how wrong was i to worry. On our arrival we were meet by a nice young lady who was really helpful. Our room was great very clean and fresh. We had a meal there the first night and it was fab i made a few changes to my meal as i didnt like one thing and it was no trouble. The service was great but did have a little wait for our main meals but well worth the wait. We were given a room at the front of the hotel and found the noise not to be as bad as what other reviews had said. I over heard a couple taking about weddings and then asked a member of staff about this, they gave me a quick run down on how it works and even showed me around the hotel and i must say the function room is fab if i was getting married again i would look into having it here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loves2travel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

As the review above says get a room at the back if you want to sleep during your stay. It was like staying in downtown Manhatten on NYE.
Carly is extremely friendly and helpful, whereas others seem to just do the bare minimum to get by and don't seem blessed with a natural affinity towards guests requirements. Sam obviously has far too much on his mind to be able to do his reception job effectively.
Sunday morning breakfast in the room only cost an extra £2.50 which, considering there was a Grand Pix on, was a good deal. A shame the tea and coffee were forgotten and it took three calls to reception to get an answer to ask for the forgotten drinks.
The Sunday roast was very nice and enormous.
If you want something doing ask for Carly, the one with the purple hair, as she has a great attitude and is a serious asset to the hotel. A hotel is only as good as the staff in my opinion so allow Carly to run the staff training Mr. & Mrs. Hotel Manager.
Look out for Terry Taylor and beware!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this hotel for an evening wedding reception. We were initially impressed with how the hotel looked and with the helpfulness of the staff, although each time we visited the reception desk was never attended and we often waited over 5 minutes to find a member of staff. We'd discussed with the Hotel Manager our requirements and found her to be very helpful and she offered us a fabulous rate with a free double room included. Sadly not long after this a member of staff at the hotel informed us she had been sacked! Not very professional to divulge that much information to a customer! When we checked in on the day of our wedding reception there was no room booked for us! They had to relocate two other sets of guests to enable us to have the room we were promised. The room was very basic but was very clean and confortable although there wasn't a mirror other than the one in the bathroom and no chair for the dressing table. The only way to dry hair was to plug the hairdryer in outside the bathroom and then stand in the bathroom to see in the mirror! Not safe with an electrical appliance! The view from the window was terrible and you could see directly into neighbouring rooms - no net curtains or frosted glass for privacy. Rooms at the back of the hotel have an awful outlook and at the front it is very noisy as the windows are single glazed and the hotel is in the middle of town. We found dirty bedlinen piled high at the top of the stairs when we checked in and it was still there the following day! The corridors are very long, narrow and there is no lift and no offer of help from the staff with luggage or to show you to your room - it is a rabbit warren! There was no useful information in the room nor a telephone number for reception provided. If you wanted room service you had to go down to reception to order it! Although we throughly enjoyed our wedding reception we had rather alot of issues on the night. On the plus side Kelly was a pleasant young lady and Sam was very helpful in helping us set up a projector screen for our wedding photos. The food although lovely was put in the buffet room but we never saw a member of staff from then! Nobody came to check on the food to see what was left and if everything was ok. There were no dessert dishes or cutlery provided so a large fruit salad went completely uneaten. By the time we'd located a member of staff to request it a large amount of our guests had left for the night! My husband and I went in search of staff 4 times to ask for serviettes, dishes, cutlery and also to find out where our wedding cake and cake topper was! Reception was unmanned yet again with a note on it to tell you to go the bar for assistance. There was no knife provided for cutting our cake and when we asked for one we were told they couldn't leave a large sharp knife like that lying around and would not bring us one! We cut our cake rather awkwardly with a cake slice (!) and then had to again go in search of a member of staff to ask them to cut it up and distribute it to the guests. They cut it up and left it on a table near to the bar! No plates provided just paper serviettes. We did not and still do not feel we should have had to keep leaving our party and our guests to locate staff and ask for basic things to be done, which should be part of the service for a function of this type. We found the whole thing to be very stressful and unsatisfactory. We also had grave concerns about the two very young lads who were behind the bar - they struggled to operate the till and a number of our guests believe they were over charged. They were extremly slow to serve people resulting in long queues at the bar and were quite rude and abusive to one or two of our guests, including us! Clearly they were not fully trained and could not cope. We eventually managed to track down the duty manager who refused to listen to our complaints and threw accusations back at us in a very confrontational way. Her manner and lack of help left a very bad impression with us. In the morning we went down to breakfast and heard a couple sat near us send their breakfast back due to it being cold. There was a distinct lack of fruit juice and pastries from our reception the previous night were being served (still on the same tray!) Our cooked breakfast took 20 minutes to arrive and when it did we could not believe our eyes. It was the most pathetic offering ever, was barely warm and certainly was not value for money. We ordered toast but this never arrived. Other guests were experiencing the same issues. By this time we were so angry that we didn't even bother to complain as we were sure we would be met with confrontation and our complaint would be ignored. No apology has been offered and in fact the duty manager has tried to blame us for many of the problems that occurred on that night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter if there is no function on downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The location in the centre of town is very convenient for visiting the sights and for shopping, and the hotel has a deal with a car park just around the corner which was useful. Finding it is not easy, as it is situated on a pedestrianised zone with restricted access. The room was comfortable and clean, though I couldn't turn the shower on, and when I had a bath instead the plug could not be removed. The girl on reception came up immediately to look at the problems - the shower had been turned off too firmly so that was okay but the plug had to be removed with a knife! Also I wanted to open the windows but they seemed to be painted shut. The breakfast was good, though I had an evening meal and it was uninspiring. But my main problem was the street noise at night - drunken revelry until 3 in the morning made sleep impossible. It was a Saturday so maybe week nights aren't such a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy at night (at least at weekends) so ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornwallBracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We made a last minute booking on line and got a good rate. The location is good and the hotel has recently been refurbished. There is no lift, but as we were on the first floor it didn't matter too much - we would not have wanted to carry cases to the higher floors as the stairs and corridors are narrow. Also, there is no car park, but the hotel has an arrangement with a NCP car park 2 minutes walk away. Breakfast on the first morning was fine, but on the second morning it was a disaster. Scrambled egg was served complete with the burned scraping from the bottom of the pan. I sent it back but there was no apology. I was told they had a new chef - that is not a reason to serve inedible food. We had to wait 10 minutes for orange juice to be replenished and they had run out of croissants at 8.30am. We did not have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on that. The staff we encountered were friendly, but on more than one occasion we had to wait several minutes at reception before anyone appeared..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $39 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing