We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in centre of Gloucester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We made a last minute booking on line and got a good rate. The location is good and the hotel has recently been refurbished. There is no lift, but as we were on the first floor it didn't matter too much - we would not have wanted to carry cases to the higher floors as the stairs and corridors are narrow. Also, there is no car park, but the hotel has an arrangement with a NCP car park 2 minutes walk away. Breakfast on the first morning was fine, but on the second morning it was a disaster. Scrambled egg was served complete with the burned scraping from the bottom of the pan. I sent it back but there was no apology. I was told they had a new chef - that is not a reason to serve inedible food. We had to wait 10 minutes for orange juice to be replenished and they had run out of croissants at 8.30am. We did not have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on that. The staff we encountered were friendly, but on more than one occasion we had to wait several minutes at reception before anyone appeared..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for The New County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 374 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Great location, good breakfast and lovely staff. Rooms are clean, but only a 3 star standard. With no lift, it's hard to get lots of luggage up the stairs and along the long narrow corridors to the rooms.
We didn't book on land and negotiated a reasonable tariff at reception. Because the hotel is right in the middle of the action, the overall value is not too bad and we may stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Macncarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights . The staff was friendly and the room was very clean , the only problem was being at the back of the hotel was quiet until approx 11 o' clock and you could hear them putting all the empty bottles out . First morning was lovely breakfast and the staff was really on the ball , but second morning the staff couldn't keep up with the guests that come for breakfast I heard one lady said she waited 20 mins for her breakfast and it still hadn't come . When we got there , there wasnt any orange juice but a guest was already waiting for it so it didn't take to long to come . But it must have taken the waitress 10 mins to ask if we won't tea or coffee and in the morning everybody needs fluids . But all in all a nice hotel you can tell it's had a revamp

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanette3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Booked here for a couple of nights but ended up leaving for the travelodge down the road. Rude staff, especially management after i asked to speak with them direct. Room was not clean and over priced. Bad atmosphere in bar and not welcoming. Luckily the travelodge had rooms and made up for the sham of our terrible stay at the new county.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hainesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aileenmcd, Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

i would like this review to be removed from our listing, as is not a representaion of our hotel. as this was written by a discruntled ex employee who wishes to cause trouble to our company.
if you could get to me with your response please asap, as there is also an issue with some of the pictures that are on ourwebsite which shows the old old hotel. and is not a representation of the hotel now as we have undertaken a extensive remodel and would liek these pictures removed please

Many Thanks

Sam Devlin Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Recently stayed in a family room at the New County and we all enjoyed it. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was great. If I was in Gloucester again I would definately stay again. Please though sort the plumbing out as everything else is great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHJLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We booked this under a special offer. Our room was very basic supposedly newly refurbished the bath had seen better days - dated decorations.
Breakfast is a fiasco be warned to get up early and get down to breakfast for the start. On our first morning there were no pastries and there was only pineapple juice which ran out and we were mid session. Bear in mind this is a bar too and no one offered us fruit juice from the bar. Our order arrived and was not what we ordered.
On our second morning we were later - again no pastries and were told that they had all gone. Only orange juice that morning and as they were busy there was an extremely long wait to be served. When our order arrived it was wrong again and we over heard those arriving after us that they had run out of things.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jahdevon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July as a birthday treat. The location is excellent with all attractions within easy walking distance. There is a lovely historical pub next door where we had a drink one evening and lunch one day - lovely beer garden! The hotel has an arrangement with the nearby NCP meaning a good reduction on the daily parking rate. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a twin at the rear of the hotel. There is no lift but fortunately we were on the first floor - this may be more of an issue for some when struggling with luggage etc. Our room was large, light and airy. The beds were comfortable. The room offered the usual tea/coffee making facilities plus a very good hairdryer! However, there was no mirror in the room itself only in the bathroom and we only had one chair despite it being a twin room. The hotel offers guests free wi-fi. Towels etc fine but our shampoo / shower gel provisions weren't re-stocked for our second morning, I would therefore recommend taking your own which is a bit of a pain. The plumbing in our room was worse than dreadful. The toilet had such poor water pressure we failed to get it to flush adequately. We therefore had to fill the plastic waste bin with water in order to 'manually' flush the loo. We complained and were assured someone would look at it during the day but, alas, nothing was done. The basin in the bathroom was incredibly slow in emptying meaning we had to wait for ten minutes before we could each brush teeth etc. In hindsight we should have made more of a fuss as no-one should stay in a room under such conditions and be charged £90 a night for the priviledge! When we checked out we again expressed our unhappiness at the discomfort we had suffered and we were told that they had been aware of the problem and that someone was due to come and fix it - but the question remains - why on earth we were put in such a room in the first place?
Breakfast was OK although we had requested soya milk when booking but this hadn't been catered for on the first morning although they did provide it on the second morning. Breakfast staff seemed over worked and rather unfriendly, especially on the Sunday.
We stayed over a weekend and on the Saturday evening a live band were playing in the function room. We went out shortly after they began to play and returned just before they finished playing at midnight. This didn't affect us but anyone hoping for an early night would have found it impossible to sleep through the noise.
It's also worth noting that the hotel has a very early check-out time (10am) although the staff were very obliging and we were able tto leave our luggage in the reception area for later collection.
The hotel has clearly benefited from a recent refurbishment and public areas are pleasant. However, I find it beyond belief that in doing so they failed to address something so fundamental as the plumbing and a lack of a lift. Unfortunately the former affected our enjoyment so much that we shall not return. Neither would I reccommend this hotel.
This is a shame as this hotel could be a real winner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eurostarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $45 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing