We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this one unless you have booked directly with them.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this one unless you have booked directly with them.”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I booked this hotel via Late Rooms and upon arrival was told hotel was full and they had no knowledge of my reservation. They offered to find me alternative accommodation as they had absolutely no space at all. I was upset as I had made a special journey for a wedding and had only time to check in and get to the wedding rather than wait about for them to find me another hotel. I told themwould be contacting Late Rooms on Monday as well as Watchdog as I could not understand why this had happened and that I would need to drive home now. Suddenly a room became available and they miraculously found my reservation. I have put it to them that they held the room back as they were busy and would have got a much higher price than what I would have paid via Late Rooms. I certainly will not be going back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneMeagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGloucesterSth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you expereienced on arrival at the hotel which was caused by an administrative error. It is not our usual standard of service and I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future in order that we can restore your faith. Training has taken place to prevent this situation from arising in the future, and further steps are now part of our daily routine to double check all bookings received from third parties.

Kind regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    291
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
156
235
34
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

A fairly typical HIE but our room was above and beside an extractor fan that made a right racket most of the night. It would be ok in winter when you would have the window shut but it was awful in summer. Could not get a room change as the place was full. Also the toilet stank and the shower did not drain. When I reported this I was told there was nothing could be done at a weekend.
Compared to previous HIE stays the breakfast was poor quality. Very little cooked choice and rather nasty machine coffee. At a weekend everyone seems to come for breakfast at the same time and it is a right bun fight. Not a great way to start the day.
On the plus side, the shower was hot and plentiful, beds were comfy and clean and prices keen. There is nothing in the vicinity of this hotel but it is fairly easy to find off the M5. There is a minimum of fussing and form filling and the Polish chambermaids are very thorough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieKayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGloucesterSth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir/ Madam

Many thanks for writing a review on our hotel. We try to be excellent value for money with our rates including on-site parking, a hot buffet breakfast and VAT.

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced regarding outdoor noise and an odour in the bathroom, and your breakfast experience in the morning. This is not our usual standard and I do hope it will not deter you from staying at the hotel in the future.

Thank you also for your positive comments on your shower and sleeping experience and cleanliness of the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and my 2 kids (2 and 4)stayed here while travelling through the UK on holidays.We stayed for 1 night. the room was perfect for us, double bed, double pull out bed and travel cot all set up in advance. On arrival we were in a room on the third floor. We had a problem getting into the room, swipe card would not work! No matter what we did we could not get it to open the door. We had arrived lateish and were anxious to get the 2 yr old to sleep firts . the receptionist even had issues opening the room so we were concerned as this meant we could not leave the room to let the toddler go to sleep(we usually put her down and stay outside the room 10-15 mins beore she falls asleep.The receptionist was a very nice friendly lady, she moved us no issue to the 2nd floor where they had another room free.We put the toddler to sleep while we gathered our stuff together and by the time we were ready to move us and our gear into the new room my daughter was asleep. Happy days. Only complaint was the heat in the room on floor 3 was oppressive but the room on floor 2 was way cooler. The breakfast the following morning was perfect to fill up before getting on the road. I love the HI Express hotels for this reason.All in all it cant be faulted at the price

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGloucesterSth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on our property following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read of how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to deal with the key card issue for you promptly.

I hope that we will be seeing you again at the hotel in the future and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed for just one weekend night, and had a little trouble find it without sat nav, but is well located for motorways etc. We had booked a double but were allocated a twin, not ideal but ok for just the one night, the room looked rather tired however bathroom was fresh, TV reception awful though. I wasnt recognised as a Priority Club member which is dissapointing as I have been at other Express hotels. The receptionist pointed us in the direction of a pile of take-away menus when we enquired about food, so we went to the pub next door! - which I would actually recommend.
Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight so we skipped that!
Check out took a while as we had to wait for the receptionist to finish cleaning tables to notice us.
Overall a typical Holiday Inn Express really, - convenient, well priced budget hotel; and I would use it again if in the area and could get a good price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brikfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGloucesterSth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We do strive to be excellent value for money with room rates being inclusive of parking, a hot buffet breakfast (with the addition of hot offerings such as scrambled egg and sausages) and VAT.

The problems which you encountered during your stay with regards to television reception were as a result of a loose connection which has since been repaired. It did only affect a few rooms in the hotel, and unfortunately your room was one of these.

As you probably noticed the hotel was exceptionally busy during your stay so I would like to apologise if you felt that you were not given individual service and attention. It is not our usual standard and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed for one night, Saturday into Sunday. Bank holiday weekend. Paid £65 for b&b. Booked though laterooms.com and in the special requests section we took advice of other contributors and asked for a room on the quite side of the hotel. Upon arrival mentioned this to receptionist who quite clearly did not know about the special request. Not her fault. I would image the request had not been passed on. Having mentioned it she changed our room for one on the quite side. So I would suggest if booking a room through the same web site to ring the hotel to check they have the request. Room was adequate although missing any air conditioning. Had a meal in the pub next door, The Bumble Bee. Food was good although had to wait a long time time for our sweet. However without having to ask we were compensated for that. Quiet nights sleep.
Breakfast was very poor. We felt very sorry for the two girls who were doing there best. Quite clearly there was nowere near enough staff and people were waiting a long time for the basics such as plates, cups and crockery. Not their fault. Poorly managed. Going to send an email to the management.
Overall if you forget about the breakfast fiasco and the lack of air conditioning ok for a one night stay for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGloucesterSth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir/ Madam

Many thanks for writing a review on our hotel. We try to be excellent value for money, with our rates including on-site parking and a hot buffet breakfast and VAT.

Our rooms as standard do not include air conditioning, however for future reference we do provide fans upon request. With regard to breakfast I would like to apologise for any inconvenience you experienced and hope that this will not deter you from staying at the hotel in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed only for 1 night. Hotel is old but well kept. Hotel is in business area, 10 min. by car to the center. We stayed in a double room - bed was comfortable, room was clean and roomy for european standard. No mini bar, no AC. Plenty of free parking, breakfast was OK., hot/cold selection. In-room internet is available for a fee. There is nice pub next door, good food and drinks. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwild2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear Sir/ Madam

Many thanks for writing s review on our hotel. We try to be excellent value for money, with our rates including on-site parking, a hot and Continental breakfast and VAT; and I am glad to see that you appreciated this.

Our rooms as standard do not include air conditioning or mini bars. However for future reference we do provide fans upon request and you are more than welcome to take drinks from our bar back to your room.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Louise Armstrong
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Spent two nights at this hotel and were very impressed with the staff. They were friendly and helpful. Hotel was quiet so we had a good nights sleep. Next to the hotel was a great restaurant called 'Bumble Bee' which had excellent food. It was so good to stay at a Holiday Inn and be able to walk to a good restaurant

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, of which we are very proud.

The team are very hardworking, and it is very nice when people such as yourself take the time to recognise that. I have passed your comments on to them, for which they are thankful.

We hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing