We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another Good Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I do like these hotels as they include the breakfast in the rate and even on the week-end the breakfast is available from a relatively early hour. Also the breakfast does include 3 hot items namely sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans.

The hotel was easy to find (I don't have a satnav) and the check-in took no time at all. My room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is close to a main road so if you need to have the window open this could present a problem. On this occasion it was not necessary. I do like my room on the cool side but the air-conditioning had already cooled it to my satisfaction. I could hear the traffic but it didn't affect my sleep.

Price very competitive. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Probably the quietest rooms are on the right hand side of the hotel main entrance as you enter the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanorienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Urbanorienteer

Thank you for writing a great and positive review of our hotel following your recent stay. It's nice that we are able to meet you expectations in our hotels you choose to visit. We pride ourselves in the service we provide to the guest so it's nice to read that you recieved a great first impression from check in.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    291
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
156
235
34
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, with my adult son and grandson 2 yrs.
Clean rooms, public areas and staff very friendly and helpful.
Noisy if you have window open especially overlooking main road.

easy access to gloucester and cheltenham

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Kingswinford

Thank you for leaving your feedbak following your recent stay. I'm glad you found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly which I have passed onto the team.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very impressed, Lovely spacious room, Lovely soft bedding very clean, was greeted by a lovely member of staff, young lady with short hair with highlites of pink? very polite and instantly made us feel important and gave us all the information. Nice breakfast great check out time will recommend, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammiemmylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sammiemmylou

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of the hotel. We pride ourselves in the service we provide to our guests so it's great to read that the member of staff that served you met your expectations.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

All the usual standards that apply to Holiday Inn Express Hotels, however my room seemed significantly larger than the regular room size. Nice hot shower and plenty of space to work at the desk and relax around the room.
Hot breakfast option included in the room rate.
Hotel is located a few miles South of Gloucester, on a small business park, however it is next to a Park and Ride which, for a small fare will take you by bus into the historic city.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philstreet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear PhilandPhylUk

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay to the hotel. It's great to read lovely comments which I have shared with the team.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welocoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very similar to all holiday inn express. simple hotel but adequate for a short stay. The room was so clean and had everything you want. Comfortable bed, tea and coffee facility, good bathroom,a small desk, hair dryer and flat screen TV. Again, the lounge and bar were simple but very comfortable. Good variety breakfast within comfortable environment. We found this hotel is a good value for money for a quick stay. The food in the near by bar was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Villa57

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of the hotel. We pride ourselves in the service we provide to our guests and it's great to read that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have used this hotel numerous times for both business and pleasure and it meets most of my needs
Very professional check-in and we had the added bonus of free wi-fi in the rooms which does add value to a hotel booking
I would recommend rooms nearer to reception as a number of rooms at the far end of the hotel do suffer from road noise
Every time I have stayed it's always chaotic at breakfast as you have to wait for food to be replenished and tables to be cleaned, I don't know why they can't get this right as this would certainly enhance their Trip Advisor reviews
The pub at the end of the car park is really lovely and we have enjoyed numerous meals here, a good tip if you plan on using the pub is to visit their website and join their rewards programme which gets you 20% discount off food

Room Tip: Get a room near to reception preferably facing out from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan-monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear tan-monster

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at the hotel. We welcome all the feedback we receive as this helps us to improve the service we deliver to our guests. Breakfast at times can be very busy although items should be replenished at all times throughout the service of breakfast and this shall be addressed.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and meeting all your expectations.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed 2 night as a part of a group. Our room was very tiny with a small double bed. I have had bigger single beds many times. No free internet, no fridge and no safe. This hotel lays outside Gloucester and it's not much to do than to stay in the room or in the bar.
We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel and I am very impressed with the food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_F631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Bjorn_F631

Thank you for writing a guest review of our hotel following your stay. We welcome all feedback that we receive to help us improve the service that we deliver to our guests and would like to advise that Wifi is free for all guests.
We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing