We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed overnight after picking up a bargin £43 per night deal for 2 adults and a child sharing a room. This included breakfast for the 3 of us! The hotel is very well kept and presented and it was nice to have our daughters bed made up on the pull out sofa prior to our arrival. The rooms were well maintained and the bathroom was spotless. There was no bath but a very nice walk in shower with fully adjustable pressure and temperature. Hotel bar was open after midnight. Much better hotel than Travelodge or Premier Inn for comparable price as this also included breakfast! Recommended for overnight stays en route elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    287
    99
    33
    13
See reviews for
154
230
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now as a mid journey break, its a great location very clean and excellent value for money, the staff are very attentive, breakfast basic but adequate I will be staying here again and would encourage others to do so as well, great location next to the bumble bee pub

Room Tip: no difference in my two visits good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeatLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Arrived very late evening but arrived to a friendly face on reception who welcomed me to the HI. Check-in quick and simple and though travelling alone for an event on the Friday at the South West Snooker Academy across the road - I was given a huge and spacious room with a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast also very good. Hot and tasty.

One bit of advice: the HI Express is located in Quedgeley; a good four miles out of the centre of Gloucester and a taxi at night from the station costs £15. However there is a cheap P&R available just up the road during the day but finishes at 6pm.

I certainly would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ_Lowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Arrived late evening and checked in quickly. Room was fine - warm , hot water - no issues. Tv worked and when we got up in the morning - shower was hot, towel dried us and breakfast was fine.
No complaints - except my son said that I snored too much but he lies!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benthespaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with other travellers. Both the team and I are always delighted to hear when we've got it right.

I will be sure to share your comments with the both the guest facing team and housekeeping.

Regarding your sons snoring complaint......I can highly recommend holistic anti-snoring patches. Enjoy!!

We hope to welcome you back to Gloucester sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina Dowman-Silk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Dorset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

The express is located a long way south of Gloucester yet it is near to the park and ride and the police HQ for Gloucestershire. The car park was large and easy access yet a very little pavement from rear car park to front of hotel. The greeting was warm and friendly, I explained that needed to go south to Bristol to see some friends and asked how long it would take roughly they didn't know as the guy said he didn't drive. This seemed encompass the whole of the staff, a simple yes no question and they helped anything else I don't know. On the first morning I asked what had Gloucester to offer a tourist they girl thought for a moment and then said about an outlet shopping centre. A went into town and found Gloucester to be a great town with a cathedral and nice walks by the river and some great town centre shopping. When I returned to the hotel the room had not been made up I went to reception and they said that as I had not informed them a breakfast that I wanted the room made up they hadn't done it. When I checked out the following day I asked about this and they said it only applies if you hang the do not disturb sign on the door. The corridor outside the room was hoovered at around 8am.
The room was tired and need a good clean and replacement of some items it was poorly lit and a bulb had gone. The hotel claims to have a/c in all its room this is utter rubbish they have a radiator.
This hotel is also pet friendly this is downside to me being asthmatic, and I was not told about it when I checked in so I was surprised to see a dog coming towards me in a corridor. I queried this with reception and they seemed to extol the virtues of the wonderful thing they are doing for dog owners, perhaps they should make it bigger on their website as I would never have stayed here if I had known.
I asked if they offer anything for platinum members and they gave me a code for some free internet but I was told they don't do this normally. Would I go back to Gloucester yes this express NO!

Room Tip: dogs are allowed in some rooms ask to make you don't get one or alternatively use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootedsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and sharing your experience with other travellers.

Firstly, thank you for your comments. I always welcome feedback from guests as it presents us with the opportunity to improve the quality and service we provide in our hotels. Plus as a newly appointed General Manager, it gives me a priceless insight into the areas I should focus on first. I have looked further into your feedback, discussing your comments at length with the Housekeeper and Front Desk Guest Service Managers on duty during your stay.

I myself live in Bristol and commute to Gloucester daily. I was disappointed to read the team were unable to assist you with directions. Understandably not everyone drives, but we have discussed the use of such tools such as AA Route Finder for any future direction enquiries, likewise the Tourist Information or Whats on Gloucester for any tourist or attraction related enquiries.

I have met with the housekeeper specifically to talk through your comments. Our Housekeeping team do start at 8am. With bedrooms usually still occupied they have previously tended to proceed with their public area duties. This has now been pushed back following your feedback till a later time, certainly around those bedrooms which are occupied. I am interested to know more regarding the failure to service your bedroom. The only reason your room would not have been serviced is, as you were correctly advised, if a Do Not Disturb sign had been hung on your door.

After much consideration it was decided we would have an allocation of specific ‘dog friendly’ bedrooms due to the proximity of the Cotswolds and the surrounding beautiful countryside of Gloucestershire. However, I do agree that this message should be better communicated to potential guests. Something I have taken on board and will be discussing with our marketing team further regarding website content and such like.

With regards to your Platinum status, unlike Holiday Inns, it is not a standard for Holiday Inn Express to offer value added extras or upgrades for example to Gold/Platinum members. In fact, it is one of the differentials when choosing between the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express brands.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies, and should you wish to discuss the matter further I am available at the hotel direct on 01452 072 640 or alternatively gm@hiexpressgloucester.co.uk.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina Dowman-Silk
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

clean hotel friendly staff and overall good value for money if on business. I will point out that wifi use to be free now they charge GBP 15 per day of course that is ridiculous and will lead to business travelers looking else where as free wifi is a necessity. please reconsider this HI Express. Hats off to Steve Goodwin who takes customer service to another level which is refreshing. Overall good value and easy access to M5 J12.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as a stop over on our way north, but also as a chance to explore Gloucester. Very easy to find and seconds off the M5. It's right next to a park a ride and for £2 each you can be in the city centre in not much over 5 minutes.

The hotel itself is as you'd expect; clean, fairly compact, good basic facilities. For what seemed like a fairly new building the double glazed windows let through a fair amount of noise from the A38 but it did not disturb our nights sleep. The breakfast was nothing special but for the price you couldn't complain really - a resaonable selection to be fair, albeit basic.

The little pub next door, the bumblebee, is actually very good compared with some you get next to this sorts of hotel. Friendly staff and good food - I'd recommend it.

As for Gloucester itself we had a walk about - the town has some lovely buildings and potential to be quite a nice day out - however it lacks something at the moment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_J_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for contacting Trip advisor regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express Gloucester-South. We know you have many choices when it comes to accommodation and we certainly appreciate your including us in your travel plans. Even more uplifting to read when we’ve got it right!

I will share your positive review with the team at our next team meeting, next week. I’m certain they will be as thrilled as I am.

Once again, we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. We value you as our guest and hope you will come back to see us very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina Dowman-Silk
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing