We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what B&Bs are all about”
Review of The Mulberry House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mulberry House
Ranked #1 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“This is what B&Bs are all about”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a great little discovery in the wasteland that is Gloucester. Friendly, cheap, great breakfast, quiet, easy parking, free wifi, clean and comfortable rooms. I'll certainly be back. I keep a list of B&Bs that are OK, ones to never go back to, and those that I really like, and this is in the really like list!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
69
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at this bed and breakfast for one night only /on the way to Bristol airport/, but Keith and Jane, the owners, made us feel at home. The location is great, it is only 10min. walk to the centre but even with the windows open at night, it is quiet. The ensuite rooms are nice and clean and breakfast is excellent- full English plus cornflakes or fruits if you like. Not very expensive, definitely worth a longer stay.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room with a king size bed.Unfortunately there are not twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcela12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Really pleased to find this and to recommed it. Very good rates for an excellent B&B. Friendly hosts, decent breakfast, quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We only stayed one night on the way to Torquay but have would be happy to stay longer. It's a fairly short walk into Gloucester, run by a friendly couple and the breakfast was fine.
After reading up about Gloucester on the web we expected it to be a bit run down but did not think it was. It has a nice town centre and the Quays are enjoyable to walk around. Also the cathedral should not be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al_ghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you don't like superb and friendly hosts, spotless and spacious accommodation, fantastic food and a really convenient location then this is not for you. Recently had my third stay with Keith and Jean in just over 12 months and they are simply the best and really very helpful indeed. They care passionately about their guests and both of them go that extra mile to ensure that your stay is as good as you can get. Keith is a dab hand with the cooking and he has a superb sense of humour. Anything you want to know about Gloucester and the surrounding area be assured that Keith and Jean will have the answer, or will know where / how to find out. Will be back again in the autumn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Could not have been better! I stayed the evening before an interview - felt instantly welcome and at home walking into The Mulberry House. Beautiful clean room with ensuite bathroom. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast with homemade bread, jams and juice from a local farm (not to mention the great coffee and conversation). Just what I needed to put me at ease before the big day ahead.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

As a lone woman going somewhere unknown, i was quite worried - no need to be. Mulberry house was lovely. My room beautiful (which was the Cotswold room) it was exceptionally clean, had tea and coffee making facilities that were replenished daily. There was plenty of lovely fluffy towels in the ensuite bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable with fresh cotton sheets and a huge duvet. there was an information booklet in the room with lots of info for those who have time to spare. The room was nice and warm with central heating but a radiator was put into the room incase you feel chilly, very thoughtful.
The owners, Keith and Jean made me feel very welcome. Keith cooked a fantastic full english breakfast, delicious! there was a good variety of breakfasts to choose from including Keiths secret recipe bread!!
Mulberry house is in an ideal situation, its easy to find and is only a 5 minute walk from the railway, bus station and town.Its also ideally situated if you are attending the hospital which is a 2 minute walk away.
i would highly recommend Mulberry house, especially if like me you are travelling alone and want somewhere you feel safe, that is very welcoming and is easily accessible.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cotswold room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulberry House

Property: The Mulberry House
Address: 2A Heathville Road, Gloucester GL1 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mulberry House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Mulberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulberry House Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing